We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ulu Ulu National Park Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ulu Temburong National Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Apek Utama Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Brunei Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
KHS Resthouse(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
Jubilee Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capital Residence Suites(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Princess(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
Abdul Razak Apartments(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
LeGallery Suites Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
76
32
4
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
32
4
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanopy walkulu uluthe rivernight walkfish spalong boatyour feetboat rideday tripair conditioningour tour guidelittle bitan adventurea lot of funamazing experiencesun risingfear of heights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 117 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Excellent place for connecting with the nature. Resort is comfortable but probably needs some maintenance. Boat Travel from Batang Duri to Ulu Ulu is wonderful experience. There is a Suspension Bridge to connect the resort with the jungle with Canopy Walks. Bridge was broken and will probably take 2-3 months to repair. Currently, you need to take boat to cross the river and access the canopy walks.

Room Tip: In rainy conditions, you cant access the canopy walks or any night walks into the jungle. So its a matter of luck. Ask the guide to take you early morning (~4:30) for canopy walks. Thats the best time when it is not crowded. Tubing in the river is another exciting activity.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imran338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Ulu Ulu resort is in the middle of the rainforest, abutting Ulu Temburong National Park. Half the adventure is getting there. Firstly, a water taxi ride of 20 or so minutes, then a car drive, then (the best bit) long boat up the river to the resort. When we were there the river level was quite low, so the boats struggled in very shallow water, and I was left gasping in admiration at the skill of the boatmen in getting up the river.

Take very little with you: you have to carry it in the long boat, and there is not a great deal of space. At Ulu Ulu you really don't need much. Towels were supplied, all food is supplied, you just need your sense of adventure.

We stayed in the dorm accommodation - very comfortable in the air conditioned dorms, but there are some bunks in an area only serviced by fans and it seemed fairly warm in that part. The resort has several levels of accommodation ranging from our basic dorms to (I gather) luxurious resort style.

There is a night walk: like all of these things what you see depends on the luck of the night. Some nights lots, some nights little.

In the morning, (4 am!) you are woken and walk up to the canopy walk. Even in the relative cool of the morning getting up the steps was sweaty work, but the view from the canopy walk as the sun rises over the hills is just magical. You can hear all the animals calling, all the birds in their dawn chorus.

We did the 2D/1N, but if you have the time I would recommend the 3D/2N so you can savour the place a little. Be prepared to relax and go with the flow: no shops, nothing apart from the resort, no TV. We were amazingly lucky: apart from the staff, we were the only 5 people in the place - bliss!

If you are on limited time in Brunei, this is the one trip I would say that you just have to do.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUNYIP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Ulu Ulu National Park Resort is a privately run facility located fairly deep in Brunei's rich rainforest, the Ulu Temburong National Park. Briefly, the resort offers all-inclusive stays offering modern-day comfort deep in pristine jungle. It's a unique concept and over the 4 years since the resort opened in 2008, visitation numbers have been growing largely thanks to positive word-of-mouth.

The Ulu Ulu Resort is remote though and it has enough rooms to accommodate around 50 guests at any one time. So expect a fairly long (but memorable) journey there and of course, not many people. It's a sense of tranquility that's increasingly harder to find these days. So although the rooms are air-conditioned and hot water runs from the taps, there isn't a television in the rooms, no WiFi access, no shops (except a small gift shop), and cell reception is spotty at parts and out of range in others. Be prepared to be disconnected (it can be unnerving).

I was there and back within a day so it was quite a packed schedule. Basically, my Ulu Ulu experience consisted of:

10 minute van ride from the hotel to the pier
45 minute high speed boat ride to a small town
20 minute van ride to a river outpost
45 minute motor powered open top long boat ride to the resort
60 minutes of exploring the resort facilities
90 minutes of river tubing and a short trek
60 minutes for lunch
then 120 minutes for the return journey, same way we came

Pictures will paint a better story so check out my blog at http://www.danjumbuck.com/2012/07/hotelattraction-review-ulu-ulu-national.html

Generally, the resort has a good range of facilities from diverse room arrangements to large communal spaces. Everything is done in minimalist timber-rich themes with fits the space well.
Some parts of the resort are open to the public and there are signs to show the way. It's quite an expansive place covering fairly hilly terrain.

I was really impressed with the rooms (I was expecting more 'basic' accommodations). I did not spend the night but I did check out the accommodations on offer. There are various types of rooms from fully decked out couple rooms, to larger family rooms, and some dormitories. Most rooms are air-conditioned though (which is good to know as it can get sweltering and humid) and hot water is available in all bathrooms.

After touring the facilities, it was proposed that we try tubing. I have to say I was very hesitant. It was after all a fairly wide river, with strong currents, and numerous inhabitants (although I was assured that there aren't crocodiles and leeches). Since everyone was doing it though I caved in. Overall, it was an interesting experience - water was cold and fast moving in some parts. I got stuck in a couple of eddies and took me awhile to break free from a current to get to shore. Definitely a memorable experience.

After tubing, we had a short trek through a stream to come to a waterfall. In the pool there are little fishes who are more than happy to nibble on your feet. The fishes are not as plentiful as those you find in the 'fish spa' places but if you sit still, they'll come. The challenge though was walking on these pebbles - mostly smooth, some sharp, some slippery - barefooted. We did not bring sandals and did not want to get our shoes wet so it was quite painful walking on the rocks. Reaching the waterfall and soaking your feet was such a relief.

Just as we finished the trek, it started to rain. A quick hot shower and a big lunch later, and we were all set to go. The rain lightened up but did not totally let up. So it was a wet journey back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danjumbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We decided to splurge and do the 2 day 1 night park tour and wished we had stayed longer. They will pick you up in Bandar via van, then you drive to the water taxi for a beautiful 45 minute trip. There is then another short van ride to the river for a longboat ride up to the resort. The trip was over 2 hours long bit it was wonderful and actually part of the experience. The canopy walkway was closed for repairs but the staff kept us busy and entertained with a night walk to find frogs and bugs, swimming in the river, hiking to a waterfall, tubing, relaxing and eating. The food the staff prepared was amazing for each meal. The staff was very knowledgeable about Brunei and the rainforest and all it's critters. Well worth the journey and the cost.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melindasr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

You should not leave Brunei without visiting the local rainforest and the Ulu Ulu Resort is the best alternative you will find. Hotel - bus - speedboat - bus - longboat and you are in this lovely resort located in the middle of the national park. High standard accomodation, friendly and helpful staff and great food to start with, and spectacular tours with a big fun factor made our 2 D / 1 N a memorable experience. If you never saw the sun rising from the top of a canopy walk, if you like tubing down a fresh and clean river, if you want to experience a night walk through a rain forest - the Ulu Ulu resort is the place to explore all that and more!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustrianinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews