We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa de Los Suenos
Nearby Hotels
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Kundalini(Montanita)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tsafiki Hosteria(Las Tunas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dharma Beach(Montanita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olympus Hotel(Montanita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Selina Montanita(Montanita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Montanita(Montanita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
165
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsde loshot tubeggschocolate labpastriesfruitpuerto lopezwonderful hostsmake suremy wife and iother gueststhe penthouseat homeinfinity poolevery morningbeautiful propertyget away
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 169 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Villa de Los Suenos was an amazing vacation. Our rooms were overlooking the ocean and we could watch the wales breaching from our balcony. Everyday was in interesting walk on the beach often accompanied by the owner's labrador Chocolate. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy bathrobes were included for our use. This was our first trip to Ecuador and the owners Shell and Marsha were very gracious and outstanding hosts. They gave us directions and guidance for all our side trips. They also arranged for my daughter and I to have messages in our rooms for only $20. The breakfasts were delicious with fresh local fruit, eggs and fresh baked rolls from a bakery each day. Of course the best part was having breakfast, or cocktails later in the day, on the terrace with Shell, Marsha, Chocolate and the other guests. All the staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this small four room bed and breakfast right on the coast of Ecuador.

Room Tip: All the rooms are high up on a hill overlooking the ocean. But I liked the two rooms on the top floor the best. Beautiful views. Love no TV.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have travled the world from New York to China. Marsha and Shell where the warmest, most gracious people I ever met.(one time in a small village on an island in the Gulf Islands in Canada the people where as warm) Besides being overly gracious,inviting us in there home for my birthday dinner. They are bright,intellegent,happy couple as I have found in forty years of travel.The local staff where smiling all day as well.
With only 4 suites the place is like a home, warm and friendly.Everything brand new and spotless clean. I would return here in a New York second. Location was great close to the rocking surf town of Montanita, where the food was excellent and cheap. Most we paid for dinner was 15 dollars. The jumbo shrimp like minnie lobsters. The best calamari I ever had, and I am Italian.
The only drawback to some would be no t v. But with the ocean lapping at your door, a t v would be disturbing
These folks Marsha and Shell make you feel like best friends. The weather was supurb sea breezes all day and night. One of the best places world wide. Come and enjoy it you will not be dissapointed. You will be very very happy. Sincerely Matt Badalamenti. (I will retun some day)

Room Tip: Top floor although they are all great views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the Villa de los Suenos and couldn't be happier. I'm actually hesitant to post this review because I'd rather keep the place a secret.

It is a small hotel run by a friendly North American couple. There are 4 spacious suites with kitchenettes and large balconies with gorgeous views, hammocks, and tables.

There is a pool with a slide & hot tub, a cabana, and sandy area for lounging, and the beach is right below you. There are no noisy neighbors and the roar of the surf will lull you to sleep. A sea breeze keeps it cool enough that we didn't even need the AC.

Villa de los Suenos is in La Entrada, Ecuador, 10 minutes taxi or bus ride north of Montañita, a small fishing village away from tourist crowds. The sleepy town has friendly children and every morning at dawn I would take our two kids down to the beach to watch the young men lead their open fishing boats out through the surf, and then we'd play in the waves and build sand castles until breakfast.

Shell and Marsha are the epitome of hospitality. They prepared a wonderful breakfast every morning and on our first and last night offered us dinner. The even installed a child-proof gate on our balcony so our kids wouldn't fall down the spiral staircase. The were patient and friendly with the children who loved them and plied them with questions.

"Let's go see my friend Marsha" was my daughters second most common request, after "Let's go to the beach." The children loved playing with our hosts' dog Chocolate, but he was sometimes a little bit too enthusiastic for them.

They have reliable high speed wi-fi internet and I was able to work remotely while there. Taking a dip in the pool or a walk on the beach was almost as much of a productivity boost and the view of the waves were a distraction.

There is a decent small wave breaking in La Entrada, and while I didn't go out, the locals put on a good show in the water. There were no tourist surfers that I saw. I spent one day surfing at Montañita, and I think it breaks better at La Entrada though there are some low rocks. Watching the locals will help you avoid them, and there are no crowds.

Our last day, I did get to take my son out on a boogie-board that Shell loaned us. At 3 years old, he was afraid to go out in the waves (up to my waist), and he clutched tightly around my shoulders, but squealed with delight as each wave bore us back in to shore.

It is a great place to get away and would be ideal for a small group (like a wedding or anniversary) or couple just wanting privacy & relaxation.

Kelsey E

Room Tip: Open your windows and let the sea breeze cool you off at night. The sound of the surf is louder than the AC but much more pleasant.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fijiaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I originally found this place on vrbo while looking for something on the coast that wasn't in the center of the party town Montanita. I saw the pictures and I was sold. We originally booked for 3 nights but upon arrival knew we needed to add 3 more, so we did. This place is amazing. It is right on the beach, has a beautiful infinity pool with slide and shallow area for relaxing or kids, a hot tub, and it's own private beach as well. The rooms are cute and well-stocked with water and fluffy towels. Perhaps even better than the amazing place itself was Marsha and Shell, the owners. The treated us like old friends, and made our stay beyond great. We brought our 2 & 3 year old kids, and they were always finding ways to make things perfect for them as well (putting in a gate on the balcony for us, making pancakes, etc.) They also gave us great recommendations where to eat in town, where to find the things we needed, and were all around super helpful. The rest of the staff was also very friendly and helpful. And breakfast! Super delicious. If you are looking for somewhere peaceful, beautiful, and perfect... this is the place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews