We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobby has strong smoke smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 West Plains
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Plains
Greenbrier
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lobby has strong smoke smell”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a budget motel and that is what you get. The beds were ok. The room was clean. They need to redecorate. Old bedspreads and pictures on walls. The doors to the room are loud and we heard slamming all night. The ice machine is downstairs and there is no elevator. The internet is slow. The towels are thin. The breakfast is a typical but the juice machine was out of order and I do not drink coffee so I was told to "get water out of the sink." There is no fresh fruit but waffles. The staff is not the friendliest. If you are hot natured do not stay here. I turned the air on high and 60 degrees and it kept cutting off and it was not 60 in the room. If I had not had a fan, it would have been bad. The lights above the night stand did not work and we were going to see if they were plugged in but the bed is heavy and in the way. So no reading in bed. There are 4 plugins by the desk. That is the only ones. If you are looking for a budget motel then this is your place. It is run by Americans as far as I could see. Next time I will be staying somewhere else and pay a little more.

Room Tip: Stay downstairs if you need an elevator. Take a fan if you like it cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preach7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperGM3537, General Manager at Super 8 West Plains, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear preach7,
I am very sorry to hear of the problems you encountered on your stay. I have addressed the issues with the staff because we do want to be guest helpful here. I do want you to know that we are constantly upgrading our rooms with new bedding and amenities. The room you specifically had, was not yet done, but now has new spreads. We have also added fruit to our breakfast as part of Super 8's new breakfast program. I want you to know that any item brought to our attention is always corrected if we are notified. The AC could have beed corrected and the lights plugged in. I again appoligize for the issues you encountered and invite you to return and see how great we can be.

Lawrence Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    86
    66
    18
    12
See reviews for
78
44
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cavalier, North Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night while traveling through. Hotel is right off the highway with plenty of places to eat near by. Room was comfy and had plenty of amenities; mini fridge, lots of cable channels and free breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful pointing out surrounding attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammer02af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Super 8 West Plains, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear hammer02af,

All of us at the West plains Super 8, thank you for your comments. We try very hard to make everyones stay as pleasent as possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to spend some time in our city while enjoying the local attractions. Please come and see us again soon.

Lawrence Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a very old hotel. At first, when I checked in and walked through the hall to my room, the air smelled old and musty. However, when I went into the room, the smell was better and it WAS clean and nice. No fridge in the rooms, and you have to ask for the WiFi password upon checkout. I would stay here again, however, I would not bring my wife to stay here because she has such bad allergies, and I am afraid the smell would affect people with allergies.

Room Tip: You can get good prices on these rooms at expedia. Its about $5-$10 cheaper a night from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wadeharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperGM3537, Manager at Super 8 West Plains, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Wadeharman,

Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate knowing how we can improve our guest experience. I am surprised to hear about the musty smell, as we have newer carpet and have it cleaned regularly, but I am glad you brought it to my attention. I will be happy to have housekeeping address the odor concern.

As for the internet issue, a password should be automatically loaded when you access the the free Wi-Fi, but different security settings, you have, may not allow this. If you ever have any problems accessing the internet, do not hesitate to ask our front desk personnel for assistance. I am glad you enjoyed your room and look forward to your next visit.

Lawrence thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsborg, Kansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Well, I should give this hotel rave reviews simply because it saved my weekend getaway. I had booked and paid for a room on Hotwire and was ripped off, because after I paid, the hotel was revealed to be the Ridge Crest Plaza in West Plains. After looking at reviews of Ridge Crest (shudder), I knew I was just going to take the loss on the Hotwire booking (and never use Hotwire again) and look for something else. Luckily, Super 8 had a room available at a great rate that didn't break my bank since I had already lost money on a hotel room. Very friendly staff and very clean room at Super 8. We had a queen room, smaller room with an easy chair. My complaints are these: We stayed in room 212 which was directly at the top of the stairs. Opening our door and looking down the stairs, the small lobby was in plain sight. We were kept awake for quite a long time by fellow guests visiting loudly in the lobby. At 1 a.m., they were still going strong. I finally turned on the bathroom fan to block some of the noise and was able to fall asleep. Now, we were in town for a concert and I know some of the other guests were there for that reason as well, so I am sure the lobby isn't noisy every night, but this was pretty annoying. The other weird thing was that there were two kind of wing-back like chairs at the top of the stairs very close to our room and there were two guys just sitting in them half the night talking as well. Our room, 212, was right next to a storage closet and my husband said that in the night, someone entered the closet and shuffled around and slammed that door several times. I was disappointed that the front desk clerk did not try to manage the noise level in the hotel and my sleep did suffer. Overall clean rooms, simple breakfast, nice people. I would try this hotel again if I were in the area and hope it would offer a more quiet night.

Room Tip: Avoid room 212 during busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiekansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperGM3537, Manager at Super 8 West Plains, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear pixiekansas,

I am glad you chose our hotel. I am sorry for the inconvience the additional noise caused. I see you were aware that this was an unusual situation. We did have a group in house that provided their own security and I am also sorry he added to your noise issue.

I would like to thank you for all your possitve comments and hope you will return in the future to prove we can be peacefull as well as friendly, clean and a value. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance.

We hope to see you again soon!

Reguards,

Lawrence thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Point, WI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Very clean rooms and well managed property. Comfortable beds will provide you with a great night's sleep. Plenty of restaurants close by. This is a great value for the cost conscious traveler.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was an unexpected surprise, this is the nicest " cheap" motel I've been at on my trip. Mints on the pillow flat screens and so on.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkneg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Pros: Good value for the price. Adequate amenities. Free wifi is a plus. USA Today in the lobby. Continental breakfast standard items, bagels, donuts, cold cereal, toast, orange juice and apple juice.
Cons: Watch out for tacked on safe deposit charges. Newspaper comes past 8:30

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Plains
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Plains Southwest
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Willow Springs
Comfort Inn Willow Springs
#1 of 1 in Willow Springs
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in West Plains
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
West Plains Motel
West Plains Motel
#4 of 6 in West Plains
29 reviews
24.8 mi away
Mammoth Spring Lodge Motel
20.8 mi away
Honeysuckle Inn
Honeysuckle Inn
#2 of 2 in Mountain View
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 West Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 West Plains

Property: Super 8 West Plains
Address: 1210 Porter Wagoner Boulevard, West Plains, MO 65775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > West Plains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 West Plains 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well kept 49 room hotel in the heart of the Ozarks. Close to restaurants, shopping, downtown and the MSU campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 West Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight West Plains
West Plains Super 8
West Plains Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing