We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greasy and average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skillets Family Cafe

Skillets Family Cafe
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in West Plains
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: used to be the old Shoneys
Thayer
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greasy and average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just not worth the money in my opinion, I found the breakfast food very greasy and not seasoned at all. My pancakes were flat, and tasted blah, I won't go back

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    27
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bad American Dining”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you're going to be known as an American Diner then you better have great American Diner food. Sadly Ziggies does not. Try real mashed potatoes. Try real gravy, not instant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just your average small town restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is pretty decent. I have only eaten here during breakfast. I usually get a steak skillet. The food is good and so is the service. Its nothing special but if your looking for a good clean breakfast then this is your place.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thayer, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love those breakfast deals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

My mother and I eat there very frequently. They have a $2.99 breakfast plate that is wonderful. Overeasy eggs cooked to perfection and the service is out of this world...Good group of guys and gals and always interesting diners to share the morning news with!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My sister and I had a chef salad when there. I expected a really great salad and was greatly disappointed. It was just swimming in dressing. My sister nor I could eat them. Since I like to have salads at lunch, I just haven't been back after that experience. Too many other good places to eat.

Helpful?
Thank lkysmyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skillets Family Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Skillets Family Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing