We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Menu Changes are Disappointing”

John G's Tap Room and Augusta Brewing Company
Ranked #36 of 82 Restaurants in Washington
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Menu Changes are Disappointing”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Recently went back for my husbands favorite burger and was disappointed that it had been taken off the menu. They still claim all burgers are hand made but the burger that came to the table looked an awful lot like a pre-made patty. Thin and small, compared to before and up in cost - $11.00 for burger and fries.
I had the fish and chips for $11.00. Probably the best fish I've had at a restaurant and the portions were large, I couldn't even eat the fries that came with it. A ramekin that held about 1/4 cup of slaw was also served.
Would go back for the fish, but sad to say.........not so much the burgers we bragged about to friends!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Owner at John G's Tap Room and Augusta Brewing Company, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Teri,
I am sorry we took your favorite burger off the menu; we change out menus so folks have variety to choose from. I am glad you enjoyed the fish and chips. Yes, our burgers are all hand padded to 1/2 pound each, not a single beef burger is processed at John G's. Thanks for your feedback, we strive to make everyone's visit enjoyable.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“John G's- sit outside if possible!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have gone here many nights after a movie or after dinner. We have eaten inside before, the menu has expanded over the last year, and the food always has just that little extra twist. They have tons of microbrews on tap if you like those, and the cocktails are reasonably priced. I personally prefer to sit at their lower "beer deck", which overlooks the Missouri River. Even in the fall, they have little fireplaces and blankets out there. It's very cozy. Sometimes on the weekends, there will be a live band outside. I enjoy this little place, and think they are a great secret.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluemooniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wanted to try Augusta Brewery (in Augusta, MO) but it was closed for the season. So we went to their full tap room in nearby Washington and we were quite satisfied. Excellent micro brews (suggest the 'Kick [--]' Double IPA) and equally good pub food. We will be back! Why not 5 stars? 5 Stars is saved for a place which changes your life and memories. I don't think I've given a 5 star yet. But this place is a full 4 star.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stop for lunch when in Washington. Mo.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The outside dining overlooks the river but is closed during the week in the Fall. Bummer because the bratwurst is the best. Tried the portabellum wrap. Picture above. Very good, and probably healthy too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MotoScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
282 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Love their Sunday Fried Chicken!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second visit to John G's for a Sunday Chicken dinner - it is delish! We travel about 45 minutes to get there so you know it's good! I also highly recommend their desserts which are made in house. The chocolate cake is devine accompanied by an Imperial Stout (I think they should serve the two together to be honest) and their cheese cake which is a different flavor each week was blood orange and MAN was it incredible! The service is always stellar and the atmosphere is fun. Plenty of TVs if the big game is on. They also have a little outside bar out back that overlooks the river. This is a favorite day trip for our family for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Januarybride01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John G's Tap Room and Augusta Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to John G's Tap Room and Augusta Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing