We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Delicious”
Review of The Blue Duck

The Blue Duck
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
367 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Always Delicious”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Blue Duck is one of my five favorite lunch venues in the metro St. Louis area. It's a great stop on the way to the wineries or just out for a drive. Most recently I had the pulled pork sandwich with freshly made potato salad and a pistachio macaroon for dessert. Some sandwiches available as halves (alone or with soup or salad). We went in a group of four; the others enjoyed the brisket, bourbon chicken special, and the ham/apple sandwich on brioche. The new location is much larger, includes a bar, and is open some days for dinner. Closed Sundays. The seating has little division and the floor is concrete, so noise is somewhat of a factor, but not enough to knock it out of my top five.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    32
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Creative dining on Front Street!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Blue Duck is moving to Front Street, Washington, MO. With a wonderful view of the Missouri River from their patio or from inside the recently completed new "historic" building, those seeking creative dining have come to the right place! Part of a recently developed urban oasis facing the River, The Blue Duck has moved from High Street to the heart of our historic downtown. Wonderful distinctive soups, original sandwiches and wraps and (wait for it) GLORIOUS homemade desserts!!!! They have expanded to include a new dinner menu (previously open for breakfast and lunch). Make The Blue Duck a must on a visit to Washington! Also does catering!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful BLT's on homemade bread. Good potato salad. Sweet waitress...a bit hard to find in a strip mall..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shinerjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“gourmet!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Blue Duck does not have a special location. The very special thing about the Blue Duck is the excellent food quality. The owners are absolutely committed to their restaurant and serious about everything they provide on your table. I'm very impressed with such great food. Blue Duck is opens for lunch lunch only what makes us go to other places sometimes :-( when we would be happy to go there. Thumbs up chef! Congratulations.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CampodeFiori2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn, Missouri
Level Contributor
379 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great experience....”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by this unique little cafe for lunch last weekend and were impressed with what we saw. Our lunches were unique fair that isn't easily found at most restaurants in this area.
Only downfalls were that the restroom was horribly dirty during our visit. And I was surprised at the lack of selection in baked goods. I would have thought as a bakery they would have had more to choose from.
We defintely will stop by here again though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Duck also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing