We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find”
Review of Old Dutch Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Dutch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Washington
Quincy, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Find”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this for an overnight stay in wine country. The room size was small (12'x12') but was very nice and had all the ammenities we needed for the limited time we would be in the room. The price of the room was very reasonable. The service at the hotel was extremely welcoming. The only complaint that I had was regarding the light on the AC unit. It added too much light to the room for sleeping, although not a problem for my wife. I reported the problem in the morning and the concierge said that they were working on a solution. We will definitely be staying here again when we visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellisville, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We live in St. Louis and visit Washington at least once a month and have a lunch at the Old Dutch. Last month we decided to spend a night and were so happy we did, it truly is a one of a kind, quaint, clean, friendly hotel. We spent a Thursday evening so we could enjoy music on the riverfront. There is a warmth to this town, historical influence and small town feel which is so welcoming.
The staff and service at both the hotel and restaurant are top notch. The rooms were nice size, clean, comfortable and a nice continental breakfast. We had appetizers when we arrived and dinner later that evening in the restaurant, our stay exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halandstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Old Dutch Hotel in Washington, MO. This historic building provided the charm of the early 19th century, but once you walk in the door, you realize that this hotel has both old world charm, but with very a modern day comfort. From the time you walk in, you are greeted with some of the friendliest people I have met. The front desk personnel were friendly and suggested things we could do to make our stay in Washington enjoyable. When we got to our room, we noticed that attention to detail made you think you had stepped back in time, but everything is up to date, comfortable and charming. I give very high marks to the beds and bedding. The beds provided a wonderful night's sleep and the bedding was top notch. The TV is also large and is great as was the WiFi.

The shower was done in subway tiles and quite large. Plenty of hot water and soft towels. The rest of the bathroom facilities were equally as nice.

The breakfast offered was adequate. I would have liked to see more local fare included in the breakfast-local doughnuts, bagels, etc

Overall, you cannot go wrong by staying in this hotel. It is a small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Washington, MO and the historic downtown is just steps from your door. Great Downtown with art galleries, small shops. Also, the Amtrak station is just down the street.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Loved my stay at the Old Dutch Hotel. Rooms are updated, may be smaller than your average room, but certainly the hotel makes up for this in character and location. Quick walk to all the shopping and dining downtown Washington offers. Continental breakfast was a plus. Would recommend this hotel over any of the chains near the highway. Hoping next time to try the restaurant. It was sadly closed when I was there for a private party.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Small but super clean rooms. Recent remodel is very well done. Pretty noisy if you're on the 2nd floor & there's a band playing in the Tavern downstairs. This can be overlooked because I had possibly the best Rib eye ever there earlier in the night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattwkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Paid $120 for one Saturday night stay, which is solid just about anywhere not next to a freeway and a strip club these days. As an added bonus, the downtown location is second-to-none.

Rooms are modern, very clean and feature comfy beds, large flat-screen TVs, spacious bathrooms and huge showers with equally huge shower heads. As another reviewer noted, the lack of a closet could be an issue if I were staying more than one night.

Staff is fast and friendly, free street parking is right outside, and you've got an on-site bar/restaurant open late. Good stuff.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor, which is probably a good idea since the first floor has a bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights on a work trip, and I thought it was a very cute hotel! The hotel is totally updated in the actual rooms, with marble finishes, nice bedding, flat screen TVs, etc. The only thing the room does not have is a closet. They offer a little rack of hangers on the wall, but no actual closet. It worked fine for me, but if you had a lot of clothes to hang up, you'd be left with some in your suitcase. This hotel is above a bar/restaurant, and for 2 of my 3 nights the noise level was almost not noticeable. On the one night it was noisey, I found that they had a staff birthday party, and it was done by 10:30pm. So, I assume this was a non-traditional night. Overall, very cute hotel, with extremely nice staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd (highest) floor if you can, to eliminate noise from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Affable_Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Washington Hotel
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Washington
Super 8 Washington
#2 of 3 in Washington
294 reviews
13.4 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Super 8 Union
Super 8 Union
#1 of 1 in Union
223 reviews
14.0 mi away
Budget Lodging
Budget Lodging
#1 of 2 in Saint Clair
275 reviews
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Six Flags St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Dutch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Dutch Hotel

Property: Old Dutch Hotel
Address: 227 Elm Street, Washington, MO 63090
Location: United States > Missouri > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Washington
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 room renovated hotel in downtown Washington Missouri. Restaurant/bar on site, restaurants, shopping and Amtrak station within walking distance. Private bath in each room. King, queen and double queen rooms available as well as adjoining rooms for families. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing