We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can I keep this place a secret?”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of ROW FARM COTTAGE

wasdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wasdale
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
40 reviews
wasdale
Kitchen
Sitting area
Twin bedroom
Main bedroom
Outside seating area in garden
Barbque seating next to cottage
Garden
La Ratty miniature railway
Muncaster Castle
Scarfell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waberthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Skypar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can I keep this place a secret?”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Well, I almost don’t want to write the review as I want to keep this place as my own personal secret. However, I feel it’s only fair that I share my family's wonderful stay at Row Farm Cottage.

There were 3 of us in our party, myself, my wife and our 5 year old daughter. We are used to doing static Caravan holidays where everything is on site, so this was something a little different, and as such we had no idea what to expect. We need not have worried though!

Firstly the driveway down to the cottage, it can appear at first to be a little steep, but after a few days of driving around the area, and once you have done Hardknott Pass you will soon realise it’s a total breeze. Any normal wheel based car will be able to get up and down it without any problems. We certainly never had any, even on the days it rained.

The cottage itself is set on 2 acres of land on a working farm with Sheep, Chickens and working sheep dogs including Molly, the puppy. My daughter absolutely loved staying here and we loved the freedom that we could give her, as it is totally set away from the main road. In the mornings we could just open the door and off she went to play with and talk to the chickens and the dogs. Pretty early on in our trip Ava developed a fondness for Molly the puppy. On the Wednesday morning Ava came running back in to the cottage with a fresh chicken egg that Stephen, the farmer, had taken her to find and had given her. She was so delighted and wanted me to cook the egg straight away so she could try it. She said it was great. I will have to take her word for that, as she was not for sharing!

The cottage itself is laid out perfectly with a twin room off the main bedroom upstairs. Downstairs, the Kitchen has everything you could need to cook, and the living room is more than adequate for 3 \4 people to stay in.

We met Jonny (Stephen's son), and also later on in the first day met with Stephen himself. Both are very friendly and easy to talk to. Even though Stephen is very busy working on the farm and attending to his some 700 lambs and 200 sheep, he still made time to talk to us at length about his times on the farm. He was also able to recommend some good places for us to visit and pointed us to the guide books, brochures and leaflets left in the cottage. We found these to be really helpful indeed, and in fact even took the Brochure with us on our daily outings.

As others have mentioned the mobile signal on the farm is not great, but it’s not much better anywhere, due to the hills. There is Wireless available, but unfortunately a BT fault meant that we lost our access halfway through our stay. Not really a huge issue to be honest, as your there to get away from the rest of the world anyway.

I would recommend going up and sitting on the rocks on the hill, and looking out towards the bay \ railway viaduct and watching the sun set. Take a glass of wine or a beer!

There is so much to do in the surrounding areas. We really enjoyed the Steam boat on Lake Windermere, a visit to the Aquarium, and the Steam railway from Ravenglass. We also had a fantastic day at the Safari zoo. A Zoo unlike most as you are actually in with the animals most of the time. We fed the Giraffes, and also watched the Tigers climbing 20 foot poles to get their food. I would highly recommend these outings. We also had a day in Windermere, walking around all the little shops, a day in Kendal, an evening in Whitehaven for fresh Fish and Chips, and a day in Barrow in Furness - complete with Sand Castle building on the beach.

There are plenty of places nearby to eat out too. We tried the Brown Cow, just along the road and the Ratty Arms in Ravensglass. There is a local shop in the nearby village of Bootle and a small Tesco in Millom that easily provided you with just about anything you could need during your stay. There is also a great take away place in Millom called Caspian where we had fantastic pizzas from! Oh an be sure to try the Ice cream, its amazing!

We enjoyed our stay so much, and found that we did not have time to do all thing things we wanted to do, so I am sure we will be back to the Lakes, and will be staying at Row Farm cottage again.

We can't recommend this place enough. Go try it for yourself, you will not be disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family safe farm environment - great for kids. The views and Scenery
Liked least: Can't really think of anything we did not like!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Thank you very much,
Regards Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry A
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful two nights at this delightful cottage. We arrived late - midnight- but Stephen the owner was on hand to help us find the cottage. If you are visiting it will be very useful to get directions direct from the owner as at night we struggled and had limited reception so even struggled to call. It is a home from home with everything we needed. Our sat nav took us to within 300 yards of the cottage but it is not visible from the main road. We found the entrance to Row Farm but did not venture past the 5 bar gate. You do go through the gate and at the bototm of the unmade road you will find the cottage tucked away in total seclusion. Downstairs you have a open plan kitchen and lounge which is a nice size and a downstairs shower room with two bedrooms upstairs. You need to go through the double bedroom to the twin bedroom. Beds nice a comfy and all very clean with lots of old world charm. We woke up to lovely views with sheep everywhere and the lovely dogs with young pup. We visited to climb Scafell Pike and that was a half hour drive. Local pubs withing 10 min drive and same for Petrol station. We had a great stay and hope to return which is the best recommendation I can give.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaGil-Mar...
1 review
“Peaceful minibreak in the Lakes”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our journey took considerably longer than anticipated but Stephen was a great host and made us feel very welcome. The location is great for the West Lakes and the people in Waberthwaite made us feel at home.
Great little cottage (although disappointed that
we couldn't get the tv to work)...lots of room and privacy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
christine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Travelled as a family with two teenage children and dog. The annexe was comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing stay. The destination is perfect for visiting the beach or lakes. The owners are friendly and leave you to get on with your holiday.
Would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezou103
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A clean, nice cottage in middle of nature with a lovely owner”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is very clean. Sheets smell soap. It is in middle of a farm. Car needs to drive 100-200 m in a stone road to reach the place. I drive a Skoda and it was not a problem. The owner is a very lovely guy. He gave us farm fresh eggs. We ate dinner in brown cow which is a pub nearby. Food was nice. Pork belly cost 12-13 pounds. One day we visited Moncaster castle and birds fly show + we took steam train which was cool. Moncaster castle garden is impressive. The second day we drove to Windermere lake (1h drive). There we took green cruise trip. If you do that I suggest you spend time in Brockhole park. There are lots of adventures activities to do there. If you drive, better to come back to cottage before it is dark. Roads are hilly and narrow in that area.
Sea is very close to cottage. Few miles driving to a beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner - smell of sheets - nature around
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
761DavidW...
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Farm cottage near the Western Fells”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely little cottage, perfect for the Western Fells. Off the A road, just chickens for company, and friendly farmer and his wife next door.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing