We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of ROW FARM COTTAGE

wasdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wasdale
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
40 reviews
wasdale
Kitchen
Sitting area
Twin bedroom
Main bedroom
Outside seating area in garden
Barbque seating next to cottage
Garden
La Ratty miniature railway
Muncaster Castle
Scarfell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waberthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
christine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Travelled as a family with two teenage children and dog. The annexe was comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing stay. The destination is perfect for visiting the beach or lakes. The owners are friendly and leave you to get on with your holiday.
Would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezou103
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A clean, nice cottage in middle of nature with a lovely owner”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is very clean. Sheets smell soap. It is in middle of a farm. Car needs to drive 100-200 m in a stone road to reach the place. I drive a Skoda and it was not a problem. The owner is a very lovely guy. He gave us farm fresh eggs. We ate dinner in brown cow which is a pub nearby. Food was nice. Pork belly cost 12-13 pounds. One day we visited Moncaster castle and birds fly show + we took steam train which was cool. Moncaster castle garden is impressive. The second day we drove to Windermere lake (1h drive). There we took green cruise trip. If you do that I suggest you spend time in Brockhole park. There are lots of adventures activities to do there. If you drive, better to come back to cottage before it is dark. Roads are hilly and narrow in that area.
Sea is very close to cottage. Few miles driving to a beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner - smell of sheets - nature around
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
761DavidW...
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Farm cottage near the Western Fells”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely little cottage, perfect for the Western Fells. Off the A road, just chickens for company, and friendly farmer and his wife next door.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalrobb...
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice time”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our two nights in the area. The steam train and some remote driving excursions were very satisfying. Both nights we ate dinner at the Brown Cow pub and enjoyed the lasagna and pints.
The road entering the property was no issue for us and would disagree with other comments about it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony T
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“idealic & quiet”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Quiet secluded cottage on working farm. Comfortable & clean, good hosts. TV reception could do with updating, but free Wi-Fi advantageous'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness
Liked least: Bad TV reception except BBC
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atikur R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay, totally out of nose and pollution”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have just stayed there for two nights with my wife, one year old baby girl, Friend and his wife. We have been welcomed by the owner named Stephen. He was such a nice person. We had a bit of difficulties to find the place as there wasn't clear signpost on the way and cottage was situated at the bottom of the hill. this is totally a remote area, no mobile coverage (we had O2 and Vodafone)..but wifi was available in the cottage , so we were not totally detached from the world. following morning stephen approached to us with some fresh eggs from his hens and he gave us some idea where to go and what to see. We have been to Muncaster Castle, Revenglass , Roman Bath House and also Wast Water. we really enjoyed staying there and grateful to stephen for landing us his map.

Advices for the people: Make sure your car's has good brakes if you are taking it and you are good driver.
have viber or whatsapp in your phone to keep connected while in the cottage, keep a local map to navigate as gps might not be working all the time, keep a torch light too. and also warm cloth for night out.

Don't forget to see the places i mentioned. if you love natural beauty..you must go see wast water.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2015
Thank you for review, please note the drive is suitable for cars my wife drives up and down daily in a ford fiesta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely location, friendly and helpful owners and family but not intrusive.”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we would definitely stay again.Loved the place, very central to so many places, towns and remote spots alike, excellent accomadation, clean and all you need. lovely people and animals. veiws and peace and quiet. recomend the brown cow for food, and service. also try Eskdale.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing