We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bear Creek Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Walnut Shade B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Not very friendly, no cleaning supplies in the cabins, ants all over the kitchen, no extra sheet or blankets, breakfast not very good, parking is very bad you cannot take a big truck down to the cabins. The one thing that I can say is the surroundings were very nice and the cabins were neat looking, the owner has good decorating ability.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTLL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 102 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I got married at Bear Creek in June of 2006. The place was gorgeous then and it has only gotten better since. We have returned to Bear Creek several times since our wedding and have loved every stay. The owners continue to add wonderful things to the place, and we especially recommend this venue for brides and grooms looking for the perfect wedding. The rooms are all lovely and clean, and the breakfast in the mornings is amazing. Best Bed and Breakfast we've ever visited!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy_B1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I and 2 teenagers just returned from a 5 night stay in the Treehouse cabin. The cabin and location are wonderful! It's really a beautiful property and very close to Branson.
I found there to be little communication prior to and during our trip. I changed our dates (they were accomodating in this aspect.) But I did not receive an email to say they would or would not make the change. I also emailed to confirm our arrival and received no response. Check in was easy but no one ever introduced themselves the entire time and we sort of felt like we were intruding at times.
The breakfast is in the main lodge and was pretty good most days. There is a one hour window for breakfast but there are kitchens in the cabins.
There is also a list of things you are required to do when you leave or be charged a $75 cleaning fee. And that is not a problem but be aware that the people before you washed the dishes and you might want to rewash before you use them. We had a used coffee filter in the coffee pot.
Again, this is a beautiful property and we would stay again. Just don't expect a warm welcome and it will be fine...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindagiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Only bad thing to say was we only got to stay 2 nights because they were booked Friday and Saturday night before we called! We stayed Wed/Thurs (May16-17) nights. The place is so beautiful, peaceful and relaxing just what we needed! Needless to say great place for a romantic get away! We enjoyed our small talk with Rebecca and Amanda getting to know them and learning more about how the lodge came to be. And I can see why they say most of their clients are repeats....WE will be booking way in advance next time!! We stayed in the 'tree house' cabin but toured them all and also liked the 'cowboy' room if you have more people.

Rebecca and Amanda gave us some recommendations that we took and we LOVED them all! From the canoe floats, Reeds Spring Pizza Company, Copper Run Distillery to breakfast at Billy Gail's on Indian point (at our other place of stay).

We enjoyed the wine tasting event along with the great food served to us by Amanda! The breakfasts were served in beautiful setting of the main lodge were to die for! YUMMY! The private hot tubs were a joy as well!

We will if have not told all of our friends about your great place! Thanks again!

Room Tip: Have pictures will share if you want to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krismccarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a very lovely wedding at Bear Creek Lodge September 10, 2011. We were never told who the people were that checked us in, the owner we found out later, were a little cold and unfriendly at first, but warmed up later. Our creek side cabin was wonderful and the breakfasts were delicious. My flowers for the wedding were provided by the lodge were beautiful, exactly what I wanted. Our ceremony was less than perfect, but ok. The pictures they took of us were wonderful as well. Overall it was a lovely setting and exactly what we had hoped for as far as location. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Bear Creek Lodge is by far the best place we have ever stayed. Dennis and Rebecca were attentive and made very good conversation. The breakfast's were absolutely amazing and the views were breathtaking. We have stayed at many B&B's but none compare to this one! Thanks Dennis and Rebecca! We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The Treehouse Cabin in incredible! Private deck and hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasmine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This hotel offers a very intimate place to have a wedding, with both indoor and outdoor venues. The chapel is very picturesque with lots of windows for natural light, and the ceremony was very intimate. The reception hall was beautifully decorated, and the food was fantastic! My bridal bouquet and the cake and photographer was included in the modest price, and everything was planned down to the last detail for us.

We stayed in the small, cozy Creekside Cabin, which was wonderful! It had a private hottub off the deck, that afforded us a very romantic evening sipping wine and looking at the stars, before heading inside to warm up in front of the fireplace. The bed was extremely comfortable!

Breakfast at the lodge was something else, the first morning we had wonderfully prepared French Toast with pecans, and brisket, the second morning we had Cream Cheese and blueberry pancakes. They were wonderful, the food at this place is amazing, I only wish they also had lunch and dinner available, but the whole bed and breakfast experience there is very relaxing, just perfect for a honeymoon!

I will definitely be back! They offer a wine tasting and food pairing evening for a modest fee, and I plan to come back for sure for that. (I hopefully will make it for a weekend, and stay there again!)

My parents stayed the first night in the lodge, I don't recall the name of the room, but it was at the top of the stairs inside the lodge, and had a separate living room, with a balcony off both the bedroom and the living room. If you ever wish to feel like a grand lodge owner, that's the room to stay in, it really was perfect! The attention to detail with regard to decorating and landscaping at this place truly makes it one of the more unique and charming places I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: If you want cozy, choose the Creekside Cabin, you'll feel like it's your own home in the woo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greenfireflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Shade
11.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#19 of 133 in Branson
864 reviews
12.5 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
12.6 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#34 of 133 in Branson
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
11.1 mi away
Grand Country Resort
Grand Country Resort
#46 of 133 in Branson
528 reviews
13.7 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 1320 Keithley Rd, Walnut Shade, Branson, MO 65771-8126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson > Walnut Shade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Walnut Shade
Price Range: $157 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear Creek Bed and Breakfast Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Creek Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a locally owned and family operated 8 acre property that features 5 cabins and 3 suites; a small chapel in the woods with a walking trail; a wine cellar with complimentary tasting daily and an event facility with beautiful gardens. It is located 10 miles north of Branson Mo., Near Bear Creek Trail Rides and Copper Run Distillery. We offer cozy cabins and suites and serve a complimentary breakfast each morning. All of our cabins have private hot tubs and beautiful views of the Ozarks. Visit our Hideaway wine cellar; pull up a stool and taste our Missouri wines. Enjoy a glass of wine on one of our many decks and experience the true Ozarks at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bear Creek Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Bed And Breakfast Lodge Branson, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing