We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exposure to the eagles, owls and other birds is a wonderful free experience.”

World Bird Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St.Louis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exposure to the eagles, owls and other birds is a wonderful free experience.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The World Bird Sanctuary is a free exhibit and open to the public. The Sanctuary has several live bird species and demonstrations. Children and Adults will enjoy the experience and the memory of seeing Bald Eagles and Owls will last a lifetime.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gdcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    39
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“"Beautiful site"”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stopped here with a little less than an hour to spare before closing time, on a beautiful fall evening. The birds were getting ready to be fed, so they were very active (and in the case of the raven who knows a few words, interactive). Yes, you can get through the whole thing in that amount of time, but if you can give it closer to 1.5-2 hours I definitely recommend that, so you can stroll around a little slower (got my speedwalking in for the day!). More time will allow for taking in some of the shows, as well.

They have quite a variety of birds from all over, and a large number of bald eagles. The birds are all very beautiful, and clearly well cared for. Only the two owls in the visitor's center (who have signs next to them clearly marked "I am shy") are shy, all the other birds seem very much at ease with humans. Be sure not to miss the gift shop, as there are also birds and snakes in that building. There is no charge for the sanctuary, but they do accept donations. DEFINITELY worth the trip (and repeat trips).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HCampbellKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Birds on display”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had visited World Bird Sanctuary when I was in Missouri several years ago. I enjoyed it then so I decided to go back on my recent trip to the area. The sanctuary has dozens of birds in their care. Their mission is "to preserve the earth’s biological diversity and to secure the future of threatened bird species in their natural environments." It’s located on 300 acres of land so it has a woodsy, isolated feel. It’s a popular place - there were lots of families along the paths. There is great signage with information about the birds on display.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mew521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“View Birds Up Close”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Hidden in Lone Elk Park, this place offers and up close at birds all around the world. They have birds that are in rehabilitation and allow the visitors to see them.

Helpful?
Thank Brendan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited here while in Valley Park. Admission is free and the grounds are really pretty. They are handicap accessible and staff is very friendly and there to answer questions. Nice way to spend a free afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to World Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing