We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the locals eat here”

Junie Moon Market Cafe
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Union
Cuisines: American
Description: 300 U.S. 50 Union, MO 63084-1934 (636) 584-0180
Restaurant details
Description: 300 U.S. 50 Union, MO 63084-1934 (636) 584-0180
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All the locals eat here”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

While traveling thru Mo. we stopped at Junie Moon Cafe in Union. Seeing all the cars in the small parking lot, we figured it must be a good place to eat. We were right. All the locals seem to be eating here. We got right in. The waitress was quick and nice and brought our orders out quickly. It was lunch time, so we only ordered their specialty salads. They have tons of items on their menu. They are really good and fresh. We enjoyed eating and looking at the pictures on the wall. They one by our table was a collage of famous actors done by someone in charcoal. We tried to guess who they were while we were eating. I would love to go back and eat dinner there. The food really looked good and homemade. Definitely stop by if your in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mommumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointed in the new location”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We've been fans of Junie Moon's for years, & recently went to the new location for the first time. The place is larger, but the decor has lost some of the charm of the old place. Get rid of the fake flowers, the draped white sheers, and the tacky (literally) plastic table cloths! The food was not as good as the former place either. I LOVE the pretzels, & always order them, but this time they came to the table shriveled & chewy - as if warmed up in a microwave, & not the short fat delicious pretzels they used to be. The white cheese dipping sauce didn't taste as good either. I had the fried chicken wrap, & it was just OK, but more wrap than chicken. I was really disappointed. We'll probably give it another try or two, but if the food doesn't go back to the quality they had in the past, we'll have to give up what used to be one of our favorite places to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jnsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochem, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best salads in miles”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have eaten at Junie Moon many times, and have ordered take-out salads. The establishment looks a little run-down but don't let that put you off. I have never eaten their hot meals, but their salads are creative and to die for!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MoTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CRAZY GOOD!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The new location is so much nicer! The food is SUPREME. They put their heart and soul into their food. No matter what I've oredered here it has always been primo!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrJ3556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“The Best Salads”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Had a great lunch here and ordered the Junie Moon salad, not only was the salad uber fresh the staff was incredible! Very clean. They make homemade croutons daily and they are YUM!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junie Moon Market Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Junie Moon Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing