We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little get away park”

Cuivre River State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Troy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cuivre River State Park is a bit of the Ozarks outside of the Ozarks – a nature lovers paradise just a short drive from St. Louis that is vibrant with colors three seasons of the year. The park’s renowned trails take visitors through prairies and forests of oaks and hickories. The park’s three natural areas feature sinkhole ponds and woodlands that would be more at home in southern Missouri. The park has hiking and equestrian trails, modern campsites, group camps, picnic areas and a lake so everyone can enjoy one of Missouri’s most rugged and beautiful jewels.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great little get away park”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

There's several play grounds for the kids. Hiking and mountain biking trails. Wildlife throughout the park - we saw some deer, including a buck and some friends saw a fox.
There's a creek or river and some places to play in the water. I think there's a couple of historic buildings too. A few pavilions and camp sites.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MDD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wood River, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice park for a picnic , hiking, or swimming (if you enjoy swimming in a lake--which I used to as a youngster). Also available for camping. A nice natural area where you can get away for a day or a week.

Helpful?
1 Thank PhilC36904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawk Point, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cuivre River State Park”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

One thing this is the best state park i have been to. They have bathrooms at most of the places there is a beach and lake,a boat ramp,and also a information statue of all the animals you might see there and a model of the whole park.There is a beautiful view of the land from a bluff at the beginning of the state park.the beach is proberly the most popular place of the whole park you can bring children they have a bathroom and changing room they also have a big beach so it is not too hard to get a spot. They have a huge campsite that has a picnic table and a fire pit a huge bathroom with showers,clean toilets,and very clean sinks.as far as i know i don't think they have tent rentals.They also have trails that are very scenic the trails are spaced out so they are great for hikes.There are Picnic tables for family lunches and a playground nearby the campgrounds. By the way they have stairs but no elevators

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters
Level Contributor
411 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Walk around the lake”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This park feels more woodsy and natural than all the over state parks. I like it, but you have to be in the right mood and clothes to enjoy it. The walk around the lake is over 3 miles and not easily accessible. That is great when you are ready for it. The hikes through the trees and prairies are also fantastic, but rustic.

This is more of a rugged and outdoorsman park. I don't think it is good for young children.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank barkus1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Florence, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“boring place”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

peolpe very rude,and that area is just boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank crystal t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuivre River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cuivre River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing