We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to hike”

Grand Gulf State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Thayer
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Some people call Grand Gulf State Park the “Little Grand Canyon.” Some just call it “breathtaking.” The park is one of the natural wonders of the Ozarks, presenting the most spectacular collapsed cave system in the Ozarks. The "Grand Gulf" stretches for more than a mile between 130 foot high walls. Visitors can view the gulf from trails on top or from the floor where they can walk under the natural bridge, which spans 250 feet with a 75-foot high opening. There is no official trail leading to the bottom so visitors should use extreme caution when attempting to access the bottom. Interpretive trails detail the formation of the gulf.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
270 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great place to hike”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

No water to see; nice shaded picnic areas; nice walking trails. It was too hot when we were there to do a lot of hiking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri Ozarks
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Few places like this place!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very near the Arkansas state line, but in Missouri, is Grand Gulf State Park. Be prepared to do some walking! With stairs and many steps. But there are even some trails for handicapped persons. You will learn much geological information and see native trees, flowers, and grasses. Take a picnic lunch, and just chill! We visited on a hot day, but in the lower gulch, the air was cool and fresh.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle America,AR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wild and primitive”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After visiting Mammoth Springs State Park we visited this small park in Missouri. This place is a huge contrast to the heavily visited and sunny and open Mammoth Springs. Grand Gulf indeed has an isolated and primitive feel to it. The road to it has more of a roller coaster feel to it than many a road we have traveled. The park was deserted and quiet when we arrived. It is a small, compact place and at first underwhelming. There are two or three trails available. To get the true feel of the place you must descend the 70 or so feet and hundred or so stairs to the bottom. Once you get there the atmosphere of the park is almost prehistoric. I commented to my wife that this reminded me of the scenery from the old Land of the Lost series. Very much worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank goofylittlecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, AR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A beautiful adventure. It is not far from Thayer, but has a remote feel. Lots of great scenery, beautiful walkways. Great caves, but I did not go in them, I am told they are very primitive and very narrow.... no thanks... I want to know and see where I am going! I did very much enjoy the walking trails and such.

Helpful?
1 Thank Becci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Spring, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great attraction hidden in the Missouri Foothills”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a gem. Its not well publicized, but definitely worth a visit. They call it "Missouri's Little Grand Canyon." Its definitely on a much, much smaller scale, but there are lots of hiking areas, a natural land bridge, a cave, numerous overlooks and wildlife. If you arent into hiking, you can enjoy the gulf from above. If you are more adventurous, you can hike the chasm below (which is where the real fun is). Dont wear flip flops though, it isnt an easy hike. There are some areas where you have to climb and will probably get dirty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Gulf State Park also viewed

 
Arkansas, United States
 

Been to Grand Gulf State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing