We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of All Worlds”
Review of Franky & Louie's

Franky & Louie's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Granger, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best of All Worlds”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great beach, good service and tasty bar food. We came here by boat around lunch on a weekday. This place has a wonderful beach for the kids. Our server was very attentive. The food was really good for bar-type food. I mean nothing to write home about, just good solid food. We were impressed with this place and would recommend bringing your family here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    50
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fun family weekend”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My first time @ Franky & Louie's was so much fun.
The bartenders and servers are extremely friendly, courteous and attentive. They make a great cocktail, not watered down @ all.
They have the BEST Cheeseburgers! (I wish they served fresh fruit as an option, but they do offer salad)
Live music every night, beach volleyball,paddle board rentals...
Great family friendly place on the lake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“If you're going to drink and lie on their tiny beach, go for it.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nasty food, very inadequate service, not even an apology for not being able to eat 3/4 of the food we ordered. Our waiter said that he'd tell the kitchen, but didn't offer any cures. Their [flour, not corn] tortilla chips are god-awful, the chicken in the quesadilla was spoiled, the coleslaw at Wal-Mart is significantly better and fresher than what Franky Louie'd into my bowl. We could not see any reason why our hotel told us to go there other than yes, it is on the water. But we went there to eat. Our mistake.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stump_fiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food & drinks with beach setting”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Went during the week 2 days in a row since the friends we were with and their kids wanted to go back. Kids had a blast playing in the sand, paddle boated and even paddle boarded. Great blackened chicken wrap and fries, pulled pork sandwich and $1 tacos & $5 margaritas tuesday. Drinks were good too

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Count your change! Every item sent back!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went to this place to let the kids swim, what a mistake to Ty and eat there. Have been coming to the lake for 20 years and never had such terrible food or service. Appetizer wings came out after food. Each item we ordered was sent back.

The shoestring fries were cold and hard. The BBQ pork sandwich was nothing but fat and gristle. We sent it back and were told that we got the bottom of the bucket for the day. The nachos were beyond terrible! Bad white cheese and the chips weren't even tortillas. Just fried cut up flour tortillas.

The service was terrible. Slow and forgetful. Then we paid with a $100 bill for a $70 bill and we sat for a long time before we had to ask for change. They waited was going to keep it all and was surprised we asked for change. Then he brought the change back $10 short.

Bathrooms were disgusting. Mold growing on the stalls, dirt and cobwebs everywhere.

Will never go again, especially since ther lenient another dry nice beachy kid friendly pace a short 20 min boat ride away

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmusselman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franky & Louie's also viewed

Sunrise Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Sunrise Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Franky & Louie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing