We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shootout weekend”

Captain Ron's Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Shootout weekend”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I bet this place would be pretty cool on a normal weekend. We went for the shootout on Saturday and of course it was overcrowded, you couldn't get a seat in the restaurant and the only other thing they offered were horrible hamburgers and chips in the parking lot. Hurt my knee trying to walk down that really steep hill since you weren't allowed to park or drop off down by the actual restaurant. All in all, great place to look at the boats, thats about it. Won't waste our time coming here next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    71
    42
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wentzville, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not very clean eating area and bathroom filthy”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a lakeside restaurant and I do mean lakeside. Went there on a Sunday night in August. We are part time lake residents so we often go to lakeside restaurants and I would rank this one as probably the least favorite we have ever been to. The outside area is rather chaotic with a small beach area, sand volleyball, etc. all sort of jammed up to the outside restaurant area. We ate outside on the main patio and it just never seemed like anything felt very clean. Table sort of sticky if you get my point. Could hardly eat due to flies, had to swat the whole meal. Our food was not bad at all but setting not very nice. I ordered a vodka tonic. The drink was totally flat. We told our waiter we needed fresh tonic that still had some fizz and he brought back another drink that tasted the same way. It was the worst drink I have ever been served at the lake and that is saying something as we always order cocktails. The waiter just said he could do nothing about it since the tonic came out of a machine. Last but not least was a trip to the restroom inside with another female in our group. We both decided it was pretty sad to say the least. We will not be returning to this restaurant, ever. If you really want a nice lakeside restaurant try Coconuts or the Jolly Roger or H Toads.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great If You Don't Expect Service”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place has the best, most fun atmosphere. The food is great. Drinks are strong. Just don't expect to be waited on. We ate outside (tent) and there was one server. We waited at least 20 minutes before he even talked to us. It was really frustrating. We should've ordered at the bar. The kids meals come in a bucket that you can use to build sandcastles later. Very cute! However the burger is tiny (like a chicken little), so may need to order something bigger if you have big eaters/older kids. My husband had the BLT - bacon lobster tomato. He said it was best sandwich he's ever had! It's such a fun place for the kids to play while parents relax. A little pricey but everything down there is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, food so so”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a fun place to go for sure. The beach area and bouncy house is great for kids. The food seemed a little pricey, maybe not with all the fun outdoor stuff to do. All of the food at the table was just ok, except for the BLT, it was disappointing. The BLT is $15. It was two very small pieces of lobster, a tomato slice and some bacon. I had to wonder if it might have been better served on the roll that was described on the menu rather than the rock hard seared bread mine was served on. Shouldn't let one thing like that disappoint but for the price of that sandwich, it sure did. I will definately go back for drinks and the atmosphere but probably not for dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandma118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best B-day Bash”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

They entertained you at your table when they knew it was your B-day We had so much fun and were able to take home great memories for our friends from Gloucester, Ma.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guinness69128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Ron's Bar & Grill also viewed

Sunrise Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Sunrise Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Sunrise Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Sunrise Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Captain Ron's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing