We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for everyone!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Ron's Bar & Grill

Captain Ron's Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Stilwell, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fun place to go at Lake of The Ozarks. Good food, nice sandy beach & beach volleyball.
Playground & inflatable jump house for kids. Excursion boat called The Gypsy Rose that is a pirate ship that goes out on the lake. Great night life with good live music!
Lots of great events sponsored by this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KatB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    70
    34
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Pirate Ship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We took our pirate loving son on their Pirate Ship excursion followed by a treasure hunt. My son is still talking about it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Party at the Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This year's Shootout is ready to start, so we went to Captain Ron's for a bite and to enjoy the pre celebration atmosphere. We ended up sitting inside, aswaiting for a table outside was remarkably longer. The band was setting up for the night, but had not started yet. Inside recorded music played, tables were full and every wait person was full speed ahead. We both had the special of the night, Prime Rib. The meat was done perfectly, the baked potato was well cooked, but the salad made me think it had been sitting around for a while. We got our salad, started to eat it, and voila here comes the main course. Not good timing, but it worked for us. The beer was cold, the pina colada was made well, both in plastic cups (probably the best choice with the sandy beach adjacent to the complex. Tim, our waiter, was working tables on the main level as well as upstairs. He definitely was covering too much ground. Tim is probably the most energetic, joyful waiter I have met in a very long time. He did an outstanding job of making sure our meal was perfect, and didn't leave us sitting waiting around to leave. There are multiple bars at Captain Ron's, inside and outside, volleyball, of course the beach, and plenty of people of all ages to mingle with if you so desire. When at Lake of the Ozarks this is a must visit location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Island feel in Missouri!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

What fun! Sand valleyball, sand beaches, beach chairs, island feel and WONDERFUL food & music! Through out the area there are wood carvings of island themes. They have a pirate ship that is so cool. I had chicken wings, my husband had fish tacos. We have had fish tacos in several caribbean locations, these were the best! Not a bad place to people watch either:-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brynnlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shady Waitress”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arrived at Captain Ron's which was busy, and we were prepared for a wait. (no big deal) Had a female waitress help us on the outside patio and she was less than friendly. Everyone in our party just ordered one round of drinks and our waitress came and closed out our ticket so we all paid. Soon afterward another waitress came and said our ticket had been closed, did we need anything else. We indicated we didn't because we were waiting on a patio table. Later on after we left we realized our waitress never brought any of our change back. If you go here, make sure you tell them to come back with your change or they won't. Glad to see all the other new restaurants opening up at the lake...we will go there instead.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterpklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Ron's Bar & Grill also viewed

Sunrise Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Sunrise Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Sunrise Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Captain Ron's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing