We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome camping!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meramec State Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sullivan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meramec State Park Campground
Save
You added Meramec State Park Campground to your Saves list
115 Meramec Park Dr, Sullivan, MO 63080-4271   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome camping!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I will definitely go camping here again! Great campground! Stone fire pits! Great employees! Cheap firewood and clean showers! Canoeing down the meramec river was awesome and I cant wait to do it again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rekart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Camping is more pricey than other places. I made sure to have coupons ready in case we did the cave tour, boat tour or zipline.

The scene: We arrived on Memorial Day. 2 days after the water receded from the campgrounds.(The mosquitoes were out in force) There were lots of people there when we arrived but by then end of the day there were only a few tents left.
It was my husband, me & our 4yr old. The campgrounds were pretty messy from the holiday campers but otherwise maintained. There was a playground (in good shape) and our son was thrilled. The ladies in the small store were very nice. We bought our wood there and I'm glad we had everything else we needed because like every other place we've been with a camp store, foods and equipment were priced pretty high. We spoke with two of the security rangers during our trip and they were both nice as well.
I enjoy camping but I prefer to have a shower nearby. The ladies showers & restrooms were very well kept and the water was nice & hot. My husband said he & my son encountered a large amount of mosquitoes on the mens side though.
We walked over to the cave entrance and took advantage of the restaurant for lunch one day and took the cave tour. Our tour guide, Justin, was nice. Could tell he was scripted but he seemed to enjoy what he was doing for the most part. He was able to answer the questions our tour group (21 people total) was asking. We also took a boat ride. Our captain(Joe, I think)was extremely knowledgeable and very good with our son.

We will keep this campground on our list of maybes when we go again.

Helpful?
5 Thank Hi_2_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

If you want to go someplace where everyone is being loud all night, this is your place. If you want to enjoy the outdoors, stay away. From teenagers cruising the camp loops blaring rap music and hanging out the windows to PA systems with DJs across the river running until 1am. A line forms to get into this place on weekends, and people were partying up until 3-4am. Of course, the normal campers then get up at 5:30-6am, so you get about 2 hours of quiet sleep. We regular so many Missouri state parks, and while it is a BEAUTIFUL camp area and park, the other "campers" really ruin what could be a gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jlcarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Hi, Just to let you all know we hold our family reunions at Meramec State Park, we mostly use the cabins and they have been wonderful..We have done this for many years. Some of us camp but mostly we use the cabins as a lot of us live outside of MO. Some from Washington State, Texas and Colorado and of course MO... We have never had any problems, the staff is always friendly and of course there are alot of us so we put them to the test. This year we are going back since our mother passed away. There are 8 of us kids plus our Dad and then our uncles and aunts and cousins come down on Saturday to visit with us. Some of them stay in the hotel or drive back. The cabins are great always clean and always everything working.. I just want to say "THANK YOU" to all the staff there and the programs that they do have for us to do. If you get a chance stop by and visit Fisher Cave too, Bring a jacket... Sue from Texas

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank srau458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We went to Missouri to visit our son in St Louis, but could not resist the chance to camp a few nights in one of our favorite states. This was our first visit to Meramec and it was wonderful.

The campsites are spacious, green, shaded, and clean. The showers were not the cleanest, but they weren't horrible either. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon and had no problem finding a very nice electric site from the many that were available even though it was late June.

The gnats were pretty bad the first night, but hey we're from Texas and we were just happy not to be inundated with mosquitos!

Camp hosts were very friendly and helpful.

The first night we were there, we went to one of the night time nature programs about the bats of the area. Missouri State parks do an excellent job of offering these educational and fun activities during the summer. Thursday, we hiked a few trails and really enjoyed the ruggedness of them. (My kids hate mowed trails with sidewalks!) At first we were a little disappointed with the Meramec river, because the beach area that we first went down to was pretty gross and not very welcoming, but we learned that the area had recently experienced a terrible flood that had "rearranged" all the beaches in the area. We later walked down a ways and found a beautiful little beach area and did some tubing.

The campground is just about 3 miles away from the small town of Sullivan, so if you need to make a quick trip to Walmart or for a dinner out, you don't have far to venture, but while at the camp, you are not interrupted by the sounds of the city.

The campground is only about an hour west of St Louis and about 8 miles from Meramec Caverns.

Helpful?
8 Thank sroberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sullivan hotels
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Sullivan
Super 8 Sullivan
#3 of 6 in Sullivan
3.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meramec State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meramec State Park Campground

Property: Meramec State Park Campground
Address: 115 Meramec Park Dr, Sullivan, MO 63080-4271
Location: United States > Missouri > Sullivan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sullivan
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Meramec State Park Campground Hotel Sullivan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing