We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cabin!”
other travelers have booked this property
Ellen's log cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ellen's log cabin
seating on the covered front porch Seating on covered front porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Ellen's log cabin
seating on the covered front porch
Seating on covered front porch
Window wall in living room
Electric fireplace
reclining sofa and rocker for your viewing pleasure-log staircase leading to the Master Suite
47' TV with satellite, DVD and a selection of DVD's
Master Suite with queen size bed and on-suite bathroom
Master Suite
Master Bath
eat in kitchen-table seats 8 people-full fridge with ice maker-electric stove-microwave-dishwasher
upper deck off of the kitchen-literally in the trees
Gas grill on upper deck for your grilling ease
Queen size bed in lower level bedroom
Queen size bed in lower level bedroom
Family room with futon for additional sleeping
Hot tub on back deck
Lower level bathroom with shower
lower deck with seating
fire pit with fire wood off the hot tub deck surrounded by trees
Meramec River near the cabin
butterfly garden in front of Ellen's
Snow falling on Ellen's log cabin
Holiday decorations
Winter view of the back decks
View from the front porch
Holiday Decorations
Looking down from the master suite in the loft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Steelville, Missouri

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bill M
Republic, MO
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent cabin!”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here looking for a nice place to relax, and this place was great. The cabin itself is really nice, with a comfortable layout. Full kitchen so you can bring all your food, a propane grill for cooking outside, a fire pit, Dish TV, DVD player, Wifi and a nice Hot Tub!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Ellen's cabin- great getaway!”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Great place to stay. As advertised. Very clean and comfortable. Would recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful setting at a reasonable price

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy S
2 reviews
“Excellent Place To Stay!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Everything was perfect for our 5 day stay. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We plan to stay every year here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoisy
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the log cabin. It had nice amenities and was very clean. Cindy the owner was pleasant and easy to work with. Best of all it is close to several of the nicest rivers in that part of the state. We plan to make this our regular overnight spot.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
1 review
“So comfy and relaxing. Nice quiet location, very enjoyable.”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay. We stayed three days with our two kids and grandson. The fire pit was enjoyed in the evening by the glow of the tiki lights off the porch. The hot tub with mineral water made our bones feel so good. The kitchen was stocked with utensils, plates, glasses, pots and pans, coffee maker and coffee.

We enjoyed a float trip near the cabin, a tour of a nearby cave, and the old mill tour, while our kids also enjoyed the fair that happened to be taking place that week.

The people around in that area are fantastic, the food at the restaurants was delicious. I would highly recommend this hidden gem. This cabin was just what we needed to recharge our batteries.

And we appreciate all the lengths the owner went to to make our stay enjoyable.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
autumncam...
Granite City, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I were looking for a getaway to celebrate our anniversary. Ellen's Log Cabin was the perfect retreat. We spend most of our time on that fantastic front porch, and the rest of the time in the calming mineral water hotel tub. The cabin is close to the river (it was a bit too cold for any water activities this weekend), close to Cuba which is a great small town with a lot to see, and close to Peaceful Bend Winery...who doesn't like a day at a winery with live music for your wedding anniversary. What a great, renewing weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed at Ellen's log cabin for our 8 year anniversary and I just booked our return visit for our 9th anniversary. This cabin is very nice, very clean, and offers things no other rental has offered in our past experiences. Not only is there a burn pit with firewood, a hot tub that is very nice and clean, but inside there is a fully furnished kitchen, television, some movies, and board games. They truly have thought of everything. I am the first to admit that I have high expectations when it comes to staying away from home. This cabin exceeded my expectations. I can't wait to return this June 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Even though this is just minutes from town, it feels like you are secluded and private.
Liked least: At night there are dive bombing, flying cockroach looking bugs. I hate bugs.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing