We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless you like your showers with tempmental water temperature.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meramac Caverns Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We planned a trip for Meramac Caverns and pick the motel which is less than 1/8 of a mile from the Caverns. I visited the motel in my youth and loved it. Now it's gone somewhat down hill. First off, the tubs are half of the normal size of a tub. Second the water temperature fluctuated DRASTICALLY from hot to ice cold then stayed cold for long periods of time. Making showers impossible. Third, during a storm when the power went out we had NO running water or the ability to flush the toilets. And management was nowhere to be seen. We had no idea if or when the power and water would be back on. I will NOT be recommending this motel to anyone. Stay in the town of Stanton or elsewhere . There are lots of nice clean hotels available.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTaylorNaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Meramac Caverns Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed in a "deluxe" room which was described as more updated and wasn't much more than the standard room in price. It was nicely updated and very clean. Right across from the campground and river. I did not get cell phone service in the room but very close by I had service. The staff was very friendly and it is just a few miles from our destination, the Riverside Wildlife Center.. The Caverns and Riverside are MUST SEE if you are in the area. The Caverns now has a zipline which looks fun. Bill and Lynne at Riverside are spectacular and it is a wonderful place to go to especially if you have children. Anyone who loves animals or is curious about them would love this place. Be sure to take a camera and be brave and hold an alligator!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I stayed at the Meramec Caverns Motel two years in a row - May 2008 and May 2009 while traveling portions of Route 66. Both times I booked a "deluxe" room, which was explained to me as being somewhat newer, and no pets had ever been allowed in those rooms. I believe the price difference at those times was $10 between the deluxe and regular rooms.

Obviously, I was pleased with the accomodations, otherwise I would not have come back for a second stay. The colors in the rooms (carpet, bedding) were a bit dated, but I have seen much, much worse for a lot more money. Definitely nothing to complain about, just making note of it. The rooms I stayed in were immaculate, as were the bathrooms. Linens were clean and fresh, and basic toiletries were provided.

There is a small tv in the rooms which only carried local stations that didn't come in very well - probably due to the fact that you are out in the woods. There is no WiFi, and there are no phones in the rooms, but there is a payphone by the office for your use. Both years I stayed there, I actually had to walk out into the parking lot to be able to get cell phone reception. Please note, I'm not complaining, just simply making note for others who may find the lack of modern conveniences to be a problem.

One more thing to note - the office closes at 10 (I believe), so if you are going to be arriving late at night, be sure to call ahead of time to let them know. The motel is in the park itself and the gates close so the motel office will need to give your room key to park security.

The location is excellent, especially if you are going to start or end your day with a tour of the caves. The motel is close enough that you can leave your car there and walk over to Meramec Caverns if you wish. The office staff was very friendly on both visits, and I look forward to our next journey down Route 66 so we can stop there again.

Please feel free to message me with any questions, and hopefully I will be able to help you out!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 66wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
South Holland Province, The Netherlands
192
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanton
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
8.9 mi away
Budget Lodging
Budget Lodging
#1 of 2 in Saint Clair
283 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Super 8 Union
Super 8 Union
#1 of 1 in Union
236 reviews
9.2 mi away
Super 8 St. Clair MO
Super 8 St. Clair MO
#2 of 2 in Saint Clair
219 reviews
23.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Six Flags St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meramac Caverns Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meramac Caverns Motel

Address: 44 Highway W, Stanton, MO 63080
Location: United States > Missouri > Stanton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Meramac Caverns Hotel Stanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing