We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, very accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We had a loved one in the hospital across the street and it was good to know that we could find nice, affordable accomodations nearby.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, and a nice break from hospital food. The room was comfortable and roomy.

If and when we need to return to the area, this is where we will stay. We are even considering making the offer to put my sister up in a room at Crystal Suites as she goes back and forth to Springfield for cancer treatments (the cancer center is directly across the street).

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank NellAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donna336, Manager at Arbor Suites Medical Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

I would like to say thank you for your good review, We are working hard to exceed everyones expectations of us. Our new owner and new managment have work hard and long to make sure our guests feel like home. and it makes us very proud when we see that our guests are happy. Please come back and check out our new renovated property, you will be pleasantly pleased. let us make you feel like your at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 189 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2007

Although I usually use Hotels.com or Expedia to make my hotel reservations, my family had a medical emergency in Springfield, MO and we took the chance of finding a hotel on our own that was close to the hospital. Hence, we found Crystal Suites to be conveniently located by the hospital. Upon arrival, we requested a "non-smoking" room. The manager had me sign a form saying that there would be a $200.00 charge if they determined that smoking took place. I signed, neither myself or my wife have ever smoked. We paid for 3 nights via credit card when we checked in that afternoon. Upon awakening after the first night, we went directly to the hospital. We returned to Crystal Suites at apx. 7:00 p.m. and about an hour later there was a knock on the door. It was the manager who proceeded to tell us that we needed to pack our things and vacate the premises immediatly. According to him, the housekeeper had "smelled cigarette smoke" when she cleaned our discustingly dirty room earlier that day. When we told him that there was no way, we have never smoked, he became very rude and irate. He told us that our credit card would be charged an additional $200.00 and that we would not be refunded any money for the additional time we had reserved. If we did not leave within the hour, the police would be called. Long story short, we packed our things and left. I am not done with this, I am currently talking to my lawyer and my credit card company to find out my options. I will say to all travelers that are considering staying at this hotel, BEWARE. Although our room was designated as "non-smoking", it was so dirty and the smell was already so bad that there was no way to determine the smell of cigarette smoke even if it did occur. My wife and I were embarrassed, humiliated and out of a lot of money. In my opinion, this was a scam. The owner was rude and would not even listen to us. Thanks for letting me vent, Rick

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank manofmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrystalSuites, General Managers at Arbor Suites Medical Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2007

As I looked at this review I am a bit confused as we have taken over management of the Crystal Suites on the 1st of December and there has been no incident that even comes close to the one listed here. We have not had any one smoke in a non smoking room and no one has been asked to leave and no one has had their card charged for smoking in a non smoking room. So I do not know what to say other then maybe they have us confused with some other place. As far as the rooms being dirty or smelling all I can say is we now have the best housekeeper in town and the rooms are getting better everyday. Come and inspect the room before you rent it and see for your self........ Thank you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

I never write reviews but this stay deserves one. It was one of the worst places I have ever stayed at (and this is coming from a veteran who have slept in hotels in foreign countries.) Where do I start? We booked a king suite w/ jetted tub through Expedia and when we got into our room there was no jetted tub. I mentioned this to management and they said it was a misprint and if we wanted the suite with the jetted tub we would have to pay an extra $40 a night. I argued the fact that my reservation was for a suite and they told me that all of their rooms were suites. After almost an hour of complaining they finally decided to give me a night free (I should have taken the money and gone somewhere else.)
So...after this I get back to the room and couldn't get over the mildew smell in the room. After looking around I noticed behind the baseboards that the room had recently had water damage and the walls were moist and the floor was damp in areas. I could literally put on a pair of socks, walk across the room, take them off and they would be black and covered in filth.
Now to the beds...our bed was leaning to one side and the comforter had cigarette burns in it (non-smoking room I might add.) The sheets also had holes in it.
The bathrooms were not any better. They only had 2 small towels for you after a shower. Now do the math; 2 people, 1 male and 1 female = 3 towels (one for the male, one for the female, and one for her hair.) When I went to the front desk to ask for more towels they told me they didn't have any clean and I would have to get some from housekeeping in the morning. So, in the morning I went to housekeeping and asked and they still didn't have any clean. I finally got some from the front desk that night, more than 24 hours after originally asking. Also, when asked if I could get a pool towel since they were bigger I was told that they were actually smaller. I also might add that over my 4-night stay I probably killed 6 or 7 bugs in the bathroom.
Overall, this place was terrible. Please, take this to heart when reserving a place in Springfield, MO. I payed more expecting better and got worst. We usually stay at the Super 8 in Nixa, MO and have never had problems with them. I would highly recommend that place instead or if you don't want to stay that far away from Springfield to stay somewhere other than Crystal Suites.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank justn96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

What a way to start off a vacation! Our first night on the road we had made reservations online at this hotel. Reviews looked good but they didn't tell the truth. The carpets were filthy, turned our socks black. Sheets had not been changed, crumbs. Shower was dirty, had rust stains, and the original shower curtain rod was coming loose out of the wall, they put up another one but left the original hanging loose. Fridge in the room was unplugged, had water standing in the freezer and it smelled musty. Pool was ok, but hot tub next to it didn't work and the water was nasty. We should have packed up and left, but didn't think it could get any worse. Then we went to breakfast the next morning. They were out of OJ, Milk and gravey, for the bisquits and gravey. We had to go to McDonalds. When we brought our problems to management, they said they couldn't do anything for us because we booked through Hotels.com and we would have to call them, which I did. The only thing they said they could do was a $20 voucher to use the next time we booked through them. I doubt that will happen, and I will never recommend anyone staying at the Crystal Inn in Springfield MO.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
213
Reviewed August 15, 2004

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights, Aug. 9-10, 2004. Booked hotel online because it was closest to Cox South hospital. The room itself was very spacious, nice kitchen area. The manager told us the carpet was being shampooed when we arrived earlier than check-in time so we had to wait. We should have gone to another hotel immediately. Maybe it was because Springfield has had a lot of rain during the previous 2 months but the carpet smelled very moldy! We needed to be in Springfield for a 3rd night but the manager told us we'd have to move to another room if we stayed. Since we were going to have to pack anyway we moved to the Residence Inn and had a WONDERFUL experience there. I would NOT go back to this hotel again.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank tomaticopartio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffiany G, General Manager at Arbor Suites Medical Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lluís L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffiany G, General Manager at Arbor Suites Medical Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.1 mi away
Arbor Suites At The Mall
Arbor Suites At The Mall
#36 of 51 in Springfield
120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 51 in Springfield
482 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#19 of 51 in Springfield
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield South
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Springfield - South
2.8 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
#41 of 51 in Springfield
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor Suites Medical Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Suites Medical Mile

Address: 1260 E Independence St, Springfield, MO 65804-4284 (Formerly Howard Johnson Springfield/Medical District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $68 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbor Suites Medical Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Arbor Suites Medical Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbor Suites Medical Mile Hotel Springfield
Crystal Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing