We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely updated but had lady bugs flying in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nicely updated but had lady bugs flying in room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I like the design and decorations of the Double Tree. I stayed here several times when it was a Four Points Sheraton. The rooms were nice and comfortable with some cool decor. It was nice having Houlihans connected to the hotel for some good food and drink. The food at breakfast was fair but it wasn't bad.

The only issue was the flying lady bugs in the room. There were only a few but still not something I want in my room when in a hotel. I killed them so the problem was solved. The same thing happened once when i stayed here when it was the Four Points. Not sure if they have some window leaks or where the bugs are coming from. I told the front desk girl about the situation but she did not seemed to concerned and said the she had not heard of that before. I thought she might offer some extra points or something but said sorry to hear that and we will look into. I know they were only lady bugs but just knowing there are a couple means there are more and I just don't like sleeping with bugs potenially in my room.

The Hampton Suites across the street seemed to be a little nicer and might have to start staying there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snj1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    246
    70
    29
    8
See reviews for
276
230
49
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Very spacious and clean hotel. We stayed 2 nights and found nothing to complain about. Restaurant on site with great "happy hour" drink/food specials. Can walk to many other restaurants. Close to Wal-Mart for personal needs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We booked this stay with a complimentary breakfast for two adults and two children. We only had 1 "child" with us and this particular booking saved us probably $35-40 total. It was SUCH a nice hotel and we were treated well from the moment we walked in and the "bellman" welcomed us. Of course, we received the complimentary warm chocolate chip cookies upon checking in. At first they didn't recognize that we had booked at the special rate, but once we brought it to their attention they quickly made out our passes and we were on the way to our room.

The rooms weren't hard to find at all. Just hit the elevator and follow the signs--easy! Our room was IMMACULATE...everything was clean and tidy in our room. The beds were of Hilton quality--simply heavenly. In fact, we laid there a little longer in the morning just to enjoy those wonderful, comfy (running out of adjectives) beds. We left wanting to take them home with us. They had large flat screen TVs and a cool alarm clock/radio that I may buy for my daughter (for Christmas) at the hotel website where you can purchase their room products. http://www.doubletreeathome.com/index.aspx Man, if I could afford that bed, I'd buy one!

The breakfast down at Gracie's just off the lobby the next morning was awesome. There was every breakfast food imaginable there, along with a gentleman that would make pancakes, omelets and eggs to order.

Everyone working there was gracious and made our stay SO enjoyable. If we weren't going to leave for home that day, we would've stayed another night. You can't go wrong at ALL if you stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

My wife and I booked a room at the Doubletree over the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. This hotel is a classy place with very nice accommodations. Everything was comfortable, clean, and decorated very nicely.

When we checked in, the staff gave us free cookies and was very friendly, wishing us a happy anniversary and ensuring that all our needs were met.

The restaurant Houlihan's was very nice and had quality food at great prices.

Definitely would recommend to anyone, either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZcAlbrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Doubletree in Springfield during a trip with his family. We booked the hotel on Hotwire, not sure what hotel we were getting, and we were very pleased with the result. And we got a good deal on the rooms! The hotel is very impressive. The lobby is large and very nice. Upon arrival, we were given some famous Doubletree cookies - make sure you get some of these, they were good! The rooms are quite spacious - both the bedroom and the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable - easy to get a good night's sleep! Everything was very clean and well-maintained. Free wireless Internet in the rooms was also a plus.

There's a restaurant at the hotel, which seemed to be pretty popular, though we didn't eat there. There are also a number of restaurants located very close to the hotel, including Applebees, Cracker Barrel, Bob Evans, McDonalds, etc. There's a Walmart just across the street too. Just about anything you'd want is available within a couple of miles. Conveniently located in Springfield!

We had a very nice stay at the Doubletree, and we would definitely stay here again on another trip to Springfield. The hotel met or exceeded all our expectations!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarebearky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

If it weren't for the perpetual mismanagement of the Doubletree, it would be a fine value. The rooms are nice and updated, the beds comfortable, good food, etc. HOWEVER....

My colleagues and have stayed at the Doubletree many times (our client gets a corporate discount there), ALWAYS reserving our rooms in advance; however, upon arriving, we have found our rooms occupied on more than one occasion. A couple of my coworkers had to share a bed once. On other occasions, we had to find another hotel altogether. I'd estimate we've received our reserved rooms about 50% of the time.

Corporate rate or not, we no longer patronize the Doubletree.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSpringfield, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Rodick-
I would like to apologize for your not being able to check in when you had your confirmed reservations. We sincerely try our best to keep this from happening at all times and we were not able to keep this from happening to you. I know how frustrating that can be after a long day to find out that your room is not available. We as a staff have discussed this and put new procedures in place to ensure that we avoid this situation in the future. I am glad that you like the property and if you would give us another chance I will personally see to it that you are taken care of from the time you arrive until you check out. Again, I apologize for these situations and I hope we can see you here at the Doubletree again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

I will undoubtedly never stay at the Doubletree again. We were in town from Thursday June 3rd until Sunday June 6th. Let me say that I understand the policy that check in is at 3pm. That being said, I don't appreciate being treated like scum when I ask for an early check in at 2pm. We were in town from St. Louis and we had to meet with our realtor, I called the day before and was told it was possible to get an early check in. Thinking this issue was taken care of, I get to the hotel and was told that I couldn't check in, they didn't even offer to watch our luggage while we were out!
My next issue was on Sunday morning at about 8 am there is a pounding on my door and the maid is wondering why were are still in the room. Does no one come to the hotel to relax?
When I went to voice my complaint at the front desk I was told by a gentleman, who claimed he was a manager, that there wasn't anything he could do and didn't even try to make things right with us.
If the doubletree in Springfield has hopes of being the premium hotel in the area it had better learn that an empty building only exists as a hotel when PEOPLE COME TO IT.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GM1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSpringfield, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We are always trying to improve our service and it sure sounds like you were not satisfied with your stay. I would like to point out that while we try to honor all early check ins, that is not always possible based on room type and the business from the previous day. Also, I am not sure who would have been knocking on your door on Sunday morning at 8 am as we do not schedule anyone from our housekeeping department until 9:30 am. We also encourage our guests to use the do not disturb signs we have in every room if they do not want to be disturbed prior to their checking out. Thank you again for your comments and like I stated we are always looking to improve. I do hope you will give us another try when you are in Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
4.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#2 of 49 in Springfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield, MO
2.5 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
#13 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Address: 2431 North Glenstone Ave., Springfield, MO 65803 (Formerly Hawthorn Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Springfield
#3 Green Hotel in Springfield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#12 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, well-appointed guest rooms surrounding a lush, 10-story atrium feature incredibly restful and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds, flat panel televisions, generous work surfaces, and complimentary high-speed internet access. Dine in-room, or enjoy freshly prepared American cuisine at our stylishly casual Houlihan's restaurant, serving lunch and dinner daily. In the Atrium, start your day right with a Doubletree Breakfast, and end it by unwinding with friends or colleagues over cocktails at the Lounge. Visit our 24-hour Pantry for your favorite late-night snack. Relax by our sparkling indoor-outdoor heated pool and indoor whirlpool. In addition, we have electric Vehicle (EV) charging stations for all types of electric vehicles with a universal charger from GE and a Tesla charger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing