We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn(Springfield)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vandivort(Springfield)
$149
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven(Springfield)(Great Value!)
$76
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greenstay Hotel & Suites(Springfield)(Great Value!)
$92
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveler rating
564
274
154
77
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
564
274
154
77
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetembassy suitesmissouri statespringfield cardinalsclose to downtownoutdoor poolyogurthot tubsausagestaff was friendlybed was comfortablespringfield areaheidilobbyatriummsubanquet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for business and found the hotel far exceeded my expectations for a non-chain/ name-brand hotel. My room was clean, comfortable, and large enough to include a sofa and work desk. The hotel offered free WiFi and a free breakfast. The breakfast buffet had plenty of options for even the most picky traveler. I would definitely stay here again on a trip to Springfield.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location that offers our guests a variety of entertainment options while they are here on business or leisure travel.

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to become your hotel of choice when you stay in downtown Springfield! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice atmosphere, family friendly, comfortable rooms, and affordable options. You can also bring your pet for an additional $20 deposit. The hotel staff were very gracious & efficient. Amelia at the front desk, and Kevin at bar & grill made this Springfield hotel a place we'd return to!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foleyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for all your kind remarks about our team and our hotel! Our team works hard to create a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and it's great to hear Amelia and Kevin made your experience great!

Hopefully you'll be back to visit our beautiful city soon!
Thank you, again, for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My first stay Springfield, MO due to a employer interview was at this hotel. I believe that the hotel need to have a complete renovation ( rooms, paint, pool etc..) Even I asked one of the staff about the city and he say " I live here but I dont know much about it" Come on!! I was really dissapointed.

Room Tip: Try other hotels in the area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivano764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers.

The hotel started a complete renovation at the end of 2013 and has started back up for the Spring. I noticed that your stay was in September so I am sure you missed the beginning of this but look forward to your return so you can see the improvements.

Thank you for sharing your story with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times now when we come to visit family. All our experiences have been wonderful. We used a Groupon which included not only the regular free hot breakfast but also an appetizer/drinks credit at the restaurant/bar. The room with king-size bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately, my husband got sick (from family) and spent the last evening in bed. The next morning he called to see if he could get a late checkout and was granted a 1:00pm time. That was perfect for him to get a little extra rest. We were so pleased about that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcooper1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our basketball team has stayed at the University Plaza for the past two years for our national tournament. It's possible that my previous review was TOO enthusiastic; there were many more teams at the hotel this year. Thankfully, the staff maintaining the breakfast bar, including Kathy and Heidi, just to name a few, did a great job keeping up with fresh, hot food and quick table clean-up. It can't have been easy, but they did a good job. Thank you.

Room Tip: The suites on the end of the building don't have as many rooms around them; less noise, but then, we always bring our sound conditioner to block out extra noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

It makes us very pleased to hear that you were very happy with your stay. All of the features that you mentioned — including the staff and breakfast — are why many people choose to stay with us and we are glad that these made the difference in your experience here.

We do hope that you find the time to return again to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews