We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with fantastic breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with fantastic breakfast.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for business and found the hotel far exceeded my expectations for a non-chain/ name-brand hotel. My room was clean, comfortable, and large enough to include a sofa and work desk. The hotel offered free WiFi and a free breakfast. The breakfast buffet had plenty of options for even the most picky traveler. I would definitely stay here again on a trip to Springfield.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location that offers our guests a variety of entertainment options while they are here on business or leisure travel.

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to become your hotel of choice when you stay in downtown Springfield! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    243
    128
    68
    51
See reviews for
254
135
38
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, MO
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice atmosphere, family friendly, comfortable rooms, and affordable options. You can also bring your pet for an additional $20 deposit. The hotel staff were very gracious & efficient. Amelia at the front desk, and Kevin at bar & grill made this Springfield hotel a place we'd return to!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foleyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for all your kind remarks about our team and our hotel! Our team works hard to create a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and it's great to hear Amelia and Kevin made your experience great!

Hopefully you'll be back to visit our beautiful city soon!
Thank you, again, for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My first stay Springfield, MO due to a employer interview was at this hotel. I believe that the hotel need to have a complete renovation ( rooms, paint, pool etc..) Even I asked one of the staff about the city and he say " I live here but I dont know much about it" Come on!! I was really dissapointed.

Room Tip: Try other hotels in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivano764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers.

The hotel started a complete renovation at the end of 2013 and has started back up for the Spring. I noticed that your stay was in September so I am sure you missed the beginning of this but look forward to your return so you can see the improvements.

Thank you for sharing your story with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times now when we come to visit family. All our experiences have been wonderful. We used a Groupon which included not only the regular free hot breakfast but also an appetizer/drinks credit at the restaurant/bar. The room with king-size bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately, my husband got sick (from family) and spent the last evening in bed. The next morning he called to see if he could get a late checkout and was granted a 1:00pm time. That was perfect for him to get a little extra rest. We were so pleased about that.

Green Features: I appreciate the towel reuse practices. I also love that they use some organic/locally produced food in the restaurant.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcooper1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our basketball team has stayed at the University Plaza for the past two years for our national tournament. It's possible that my previous review was TOO enthusiastic; there were many more teams at the hotel this year. Thankfully, the staff maintaining the breakfast bar, including Kathy and Heidi, just to name a few, did a great job keeping up with fresh, hot food and quick table clean-up. It can't have been easy, but they did a good job. Thank you.

Room Tip: The suites on the end of the building don't have as many rooms around them; less noise, but then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
It makes us very pleased to hear that you were very happy with your stay. All of the features that you mentioned — including the staff and breakfast — are why many people choose to stay with us and we are glad that these made the difference in your experience here.

We do hope that you find the time to return again to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

when searching for a hotel I requested one that was family friendly, University Plaza is not really good for family. The lounge area is in the center courtyard with rooms on each floor opening to the courtyard. Adults were up drinking in the lounge until 3 am and were very loud, their voices echoed up even to the top floors. Staff was very pleasant. Room was clean and spacious. There is coffee, internet and hair dryer in room, but, no mini fridge or microwave in the room like most places I've stayed. The breakfast buffet was average. Bed was hard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaBear9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced during your recent stay. We strive every day to make sure our guest enjoy their time with us and have a pleasant night's sleep. Unfortunately this did not happen in your case, and we can offer no excuses. Your comments have been shared with all of our staff with the hopes of improving our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Dan p and daniel paine both served me. With wine and advice for the meal. So friendly and so right about what to order! The steak dinner was fab!! Seriously! The chefs Aaron and Bryan are a hidden treasure. I recommend staying and dining here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happybecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us! We are very fortunate to have a wonderful staff and we will be sure to share your feedback with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 49 in Springfield
699 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
942 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing