We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room that was very close to the college hockey games”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alton, Il
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room that was very close to the college hockey games”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had never stayed in Springfield, Missouri before, but had driven through it countless times. I planned to go see my Godson play hockey and picked the closest hotel to the rink. I lucked out and pick a great hotel. I had room 603 and it was clean, roomy and had a great mattress. The breakfast was really good too. It was even better than Drury Inn's breakfast. I just left my vehicle and just walked the two blocks to the rink. Lots of free parking and the employees were very professional and pleasant. Give it a try when you are in Sprinfield, Missouri. I will go back next year when my Godson plays against Missouri State University.

Room Tip: Room 603 was on the East Side of the hotel. It was quite and the hotel was packed with a basketball...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Many thanks for your warm words regarding your experience. We take pride in providing service unlike any other which we feel sets us apart from other hotels in Springfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Springfield and the University Plaza very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    243
    128
    68
    51
See reviews for
254
135
38
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fayette, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend of our denomination's youth conference. We found the decor lovely, our room neat and clean, and the amenities wonderful. The UP housed many of the participants from the conference, which was located conveniently just across the street from the Expo Center. So, we had an easy walk to our hotel room and to meals and didn't have to move our vehicle for meals unless we decided to eat elsewhere. The staff was friendly and professional, especially at the main desk area and in the lounge cafe area.

Room Tip: We found our bed uncomfortable for us because it was too soft. You might ask about the bed quality...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were not aware of the environmentally-friendly practices of the hotel. I think the hotel could do a better job of educating its guests about this.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center in the heart of downtown Springfield, MO.

We are in a perfect location as you mentioned, whether your trip brings you to Springfield for business or pleasure.

We will be sure to pass the kind words about our staff on to them. Again we are glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks for taking the time post your experience on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is my fifth time to stay at the University Plaza hotel. It is a gorgeous hotel close to EVERYTHING in Springfield. Love the friendly staff, wonderful rooms, comfy beds and delicious breakfast buffet.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonfullerton180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Springfield and the University Plaza. Best wishes for continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is our second time staying at this hotel. My husband and I travel all the time and have stayed in Many 3.5-4 star hotels. This should not be considered a 3.5 star hotel at all. I am currently sitting in the room at 2:35 am writing this review because I cant sleep. Why???.... the room is 90 plus degrees. So hot that my four week old baby is in a diaper only sweating. The temperature outside currently is only 17 degrees! Called front desk and "there is nothing they can do. They don't allow guests to have air on in the winter." There advice was for me to turn off the thermostat completely so I did this and nothing has changed. Last time we stayed here (less than 6 months ago) our room had a horrible odor and the hot tub didnt work.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franklin2084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers.

Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed here on Friday January 10, 2014 for the Meeting of the Route 66 Association of Missouri meeting. Normally, I would have stay out by the interstate. However, the hotel set up a special rate for members of the association coming in for the meeting so I chose here. The room was excellent. They gave us a good breakfast and prepared a good lunch. If you are planning a business meeting in Springfield, everything you need is here. For those that insist on luxury, there is a spa available on the premises. They have not one but two pools; one indoors and one outdoors. I was surprised that they had the outdoor pool open since I was there in January. However, those inclined to be 'polar bears" may choose to use the outdoor pool. If you are looking for economy lodging, stay out by the interstate. If you want the best in luxury a Springfield, Missouri Hotel has to offer, stay here.

Room Tip: Any room here should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbill59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We are so happy that your selection of our hotel resulted in such an incredibly positive guest experience for you! Many guests do select our property because of its location to Downtown Springfield and we do our best to ensure that they have a wonderful time while they are here with us.

Our staff works hard to provide personalized attention to each and every guest unlike other hotels in the area and we are thrilled that your you enjoyed yourself so much and loved the attention that was given to you.

Thank you so much for the accolades and we are glad that you had such a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our organization booked a conference at this hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful during the whole process with arranging the details of booking meeting rooms, arranging for the meals for the participants, and the AV needs for the presentations. The hotel is beautiful with the rooms arranged around a common atrium courtyard, and their restaurant- Terrace Grill- serves a full breakfast buffet-price included in the room costs. Their lunch and dinners were wonderful and they make a point of serving fresh tasty foods purchased from local farmers. The hotel is within walking distance to all the downtown restaurant and club areas, giving the attendees easy access to the local food and entertainment scene. With an on-site gym, pools, and a great spa, this hotel is definitely one of the best for booking conventions and conferences.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have not been rented as pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bairdfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center. We are so humbled by your feedback and we truly value your loyalty!

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day to exceed our guests’ expectations always striving for Excellence as the only true conference hotel in Springfield. We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you when your travels next bring you back to Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Pros: clean hotel, friendly, accommodating staff, nice setting w. the rooms all opening up to the atrium/courtyard. Wonderful restaurant/bar - Terrace Grill (soup & salad bar at lunch is terrific); enjoyed the gym facility; the indoor and outdoor pools looked inviting; added bonus of a spa w. great massage and great price.

Cons: decor is a little dated, awkward set-up w. bathroom layout, altho adequate space for toiletries, etc. Bed and pillows not great, but isn't that subjective???

Would definitely stay here again; very much enjoyed my stay. Had it been warmer weather, I would have enjoyed walking to the downtown area w. shops, etc.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a king w. sitting area; corner suite;
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaBeach2524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very fortunate to have Grove Spa on site offering amazing spa treatments.

We are currently under renovations with the guest rooms and lobby area starting in May 2014, hopefully you will notice a huge improvement when you return.

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to become your hotel of choice when you stay in downtown Springfield! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 49 in Springfield
699 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
942 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing