We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel. Rooms need a little TLC.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Older hotel. Rooms need a little TLC.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay here. No major complaints. Poor signage to find the vending machines. The rooms are also in need of some updating. The bathroom door was looking pretty rough. Back to the good stuff. All the employees that we encountered were friendly and courteous. Restaraunt and bar in the hotel atrium looked nice and busy. Would likely stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Exceptional guest service is the ultimate goal and top priority of all of us here at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Thank you so very much for acknowledging the efforts of our staff!

We’re glad you had a great stay during your recent trip and hope that by the time you return you will notice the renovations that kicked off about a month ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    243
    128
    68
    51
See reviews for
254
135
38
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Travis at guest services was fantastic and was so very professional and kind. Also, Shelby from the sales department has been very helpful in planning our sci go convention that will be held there. The suite was spacious with two large flat screen televisions. Wonderful complimentary buffet, actually the best I have ever had. Thanks for a wonderful stay.
One last thing the indoor/outdoor pools were also lovely. This is a fantastically beautiful upscale hotel, with that small town atmosphere of friendliness and courtesy. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the King Suite. It feels like a small apartment, and the price is not what you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center while you were in Springfield. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback about the hotel and Shelby, he is awesome. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfild, Mo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went to the Grill inside the hotel for lunch on Wednesday, which is cashew chicken day on the buffet (Springfield Style of course) and it was fantastic. The salad bar was huge and everything was fresh. Our server Andria was friendly and always kept our glasses filled. We will eat here again for sure. Heidi and Cathy we also very helpful and made our visit a pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive rating about Terrace Grille @ University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center! It was our pleasure to host you and we are thrilled to hear that everything was excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We found 3 hairs on the sheets so requested new ones which were brought up by maintance & handed to us to change ourselves. Once we went to change them realized it was 2 flat sheets so requested a fitted , when received it put it on just to find it was too small. 3rd call to front desk- if all that wasn't enough (as we were ready for bed ) the lady at front explained that they have over 200 rooms & only 2 people working & that she wasn't sure how long it would take for the sheet since they were busy trying to find a fan for a man who says he can't sleep without one. I explained that sheets to sleep on are a little more important than a fan and they needed to adjust priorities. Side note: people partying in pool at midnight outside our window not cool

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Please accept my apologies for your unsatisfactory experience at the University Plaza Hotel. We hold our standards for luxury service in high regard and I deeply regret that your experience fell below that standard. I assure you that I will personally address our lapse in service you received during your stay with my team.

I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A few things made this stay less than it could have been. First, little children constantly in the Hot tub, so we couldn't even get in (honestly we didn't want too ;-( . We stayed in an executive suite #832 it smelled musty/rank. The window ledge on the inside of the window was full of bugs, (might want to run a vacuum over that occasionally). We were very surprised that an executive suite had a bar area with NO glass drinking glasses. The "buffet" breakfast was adequate but we had to fight the flies for a place to sit, there were no juice glasses and no coffee mugs at the same time. We came to Springfield to evaluate as a potential retirement home. Beautiful city, merely an adequate hotel. I wouldn't recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 832, executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAK-N-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers.

Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Thank you for sharing your story with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved the bar in the lobby and an somewhat upscale for Missouri! Family lives there and we stayed while visiting. They also have room service and overall good food and service. Nice area in Springfield and we have stayed their on 2 prior occasions.

Daughter also having her wedding reception here, so feel I will give it 4-5 stars!

Room Tip: If staying in Springfield this is the best place to stay and centrally located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregor190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi there! Thanks for the kind review of the hotel and staff. We like to think of the University Plaza as your home-away-from-home, and it sounds like we may indeed be just that. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, we wanted to make sure we had everything today’s traveler needs and wants.

We look forward to hosting your daughters wedding reception!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would like to commend Daniel Paine. He was a very charming young bartender. He was very personable and friendly and helped me navigate my decisions on what to order. I have been coming here for many years and have yet to find someone so helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdcatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your experience at our lounge at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center and especially the service Daniel provided. We are so humbled by your feedback and we truly value your loyalty!

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day to exceed our guests’ expectations always striving for Excellence.

We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you and your family when your travels next bring you to Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 49 in Springfield
699 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
942 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing