We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bridal Expo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bridal Expo”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We hold an event at the Springfield Expo each year and truly appreciate Paul for all he does to make sure all of our needs are anticipated, understood and fulfilled. The Expo is run like a well oiled machine. It is SO amazing to come back to an event center and know the staff that you have built a relationship with. We have no complaints about our experience holding large events in the Expo center. In fact it is like we have another person on our staff when Paul is around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MegRallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your event, and the service that our staff provided, specifically Paul. Your comments will be expressed to him.

Thank you very much for holding your event with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    257
    137
    72
    51
See reviews for
268
141
39
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great time at the bar! Daniel Paine was great, entertaining bartender! Will return here because of the bartenders. Also, Kevin the bartender was awesome as well. Nice pool area. Breakfast needs improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ScottinTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Exceptional guest service is the ultimate goal and top priority of all of us here at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Thank you so very much for acknowledging the efforts of our staff especially Daniel and Kevin!

We’re glad you had a great stay during your recent business trip and hope that whether it’s for business or leisure; you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are in Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I booked a one night stay through Priceline for $57. The stay was well-worth the rate. Had I paid the normal rate of $109 I would have been disappointed. Our room was oversized with a king bed. The room was clean but smelled as it had been closed up for awhile. The smell dissipated after we turned the air down. The hotel staff responded quickly at 2 am when the guests in the room next to ours returned and were being very loud and woke us. The complimentary breakfast was good with many choices. The hotel had a bar area, spa, pools, fitness room and meeting rooms available. Great stay for $57!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heathernta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We do hope that you will find your way back to Springfield and to the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center sometime soon.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked on Priceline and got the room for $50. The room was clean, bed was comfy. I still hate those mini square pillows. I do think it may need an upgrade in a few areas, but it shouldn't bother anyone from staying. Breakfast was good, very fresh, and good selection. Now the lobby, or main level is outstanding to view. If you have a meeting or an interview this spot is perfect.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank midwestguy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive rating from your recent stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center! It was our pleasure to host you and we are thrilled to hear that everything from the location to the amenities exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your return, perhaps for future vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked on Priceline & got a king-size room on a Fri for $50. You really can't beat that!
Our room was a corner on the 7th floor & despite the hotel seeming to be fully booked, we didn't hear any noise from the atrium or adjoining rooms. The king-size room was perfect for family stay - my hubby & I took the firm king-size bed & our 2 kids (age 9 & 7) slept on the pull-out sofa. The room was nicely decorated, clean & comfortable. We spent a couple of hours in the pool (our kids' favorite activity out of the whole weekend! LOL). Again, very clean & comfortable. Both the indoor & outdoor pools seemed to be similar temps - cool & the hot-tub was deliciously hot. The included free breakfast was tasty & fresh & even included make-your-own waffles!
There were, however, a few things that need attention:
- The hot-tub jets were not working &, according to another guest, they haven't been working since June. For a 3.5 * hotel, this problem should have been addressed by now.
- The bathroom in the room was poorly designed, in that you have to squeeze inbetween the toilet & the bathroom counter in order to open or close the bathroom door. Not where I want to be right after I step out of the shower, but it was where I found myself wedged so that I could open the door. I realize this would be expensive & hard to change but the next time the hotel rooms are remodeled, the bathroom needs a serious rethink.
- The complimentary toiletries included shampoo, conditioner & body lotion. Body wash would have been a lot more useful than lotion. A couple of toothbrushes (new, sealed in cellophane of course) would be a useful addition, too.
Despite these little nit-picky items, we were very happy & will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our 7th floor corner room (SW corner) was quiet & had a great view - highly recommended! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BritChrisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center while you were in Springfield. We are extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located near university and cardinals ball field, but it is due for an update. There is some very nice art on walls of atrium area, but the fake plants and foliage in the "planters" on the balconies over courtyard are faded, dusty and very obviously plastic and likely purchased at Walmart. Staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was average, about what you can get at Hampton or Drury. For the price I was expecting more like the made to order omelette like at embassy suites. Love the glass art on wall at the reception desk. On a side note....really fun to fly paper airplanes from the balcony over the atrium! Room was average for the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Family C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We appreciate your post regarding your experience with us on Trip Advisor and I apologize for the issues you encountered. We have just started a multi phase renovation of the hotel, you will start seeing noteable changes in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert Henley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a very good hotel in a great location. My room was clean and comfortable but in need of updates and repairs. I still felt comfortable and the bed was great but for where the hotel is and how nice the lobby and atrium area are they should take notice of rooms soon.

I read the reviews about the noisiness of the atrium area but that did not bother me at all. Great out door pool area. Onsite restaurant and small bar. Great thing was they offered a complimentary breakfast buffet, in restaurant. Fitness room had cardio machines and a weight machine, fit my needs well.

Downtown is just a few blocks away and many people were walking to restaurants and bars within the area. Close to MSU and many other Springfield stops.

Nice place that would get my business again, just think about an update on carpet and wall coverings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cweld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us feedback on Trip Advisor.

Our location in downtown Springfield is truly a great selling feature of our hotel and clean, comfortable and quiet rooms is always our goal. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a wonderful overnight stay.

We know you have many choices when staying in downtown Springfield and we hope you will continue to visit us each time you are in town!

Thank you again!


Sincerely,

Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
973 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing