We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, enjoyable breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, enjoyable breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very good location if you are downtown doing any bar hopping and plan ahead to stay overnight. We walked from Billiards on St. Louis Street to our room after a night out and just loved how close it was so we didn't have to spend $$ on a cab.

Also the breakfast was great, plenty of places to sit and a good selection of food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank DS_MO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We do hope that you will find your way back to Springfield and to the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center sometime soon. Thank you very much for your review which mentions our convenient proximity to the Downtown Entertainment District with its many dining and entertainment options. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
Tel: (417) 864.7333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    229
    123
    65
    49
See reviews for
243
133
38
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We traveled to Springfield for the Missouri State Cup soccer tournament. Our team had 22 rooms Friday through Monday at the University Plaza Hotel (to the tune of $9,000). Here’s how it went…

THE NO-HOSPITALITY, HOSPITALITY SUITE
We pre-reserved a hospitality space (for an additional $125) so our players and parents could eat together and enjoy watching a St. Louis Cardinals game one evening. Having never been to the University Plaza, we were told over the phone by hotel staff that the “suite” would include: tables & chairs, a separate table for catered food, a sofa, and big screen TV.

We were absolutely shocked upon entering the space. It was basically a regular hotel room that had the beds removed, so it could be crammed with NINE tables and no room to walk. There was no TV to watch the game and the entire room was FILTHY! (See pictures- standing water in the tub, a gross ring in the toilet, no soap, wiring hanging out of the cracked walls!)

The VERY, unhelpful manager(s)-on-duty insisted that we never requested any set up for the room and that it wasn’t equipped for a TV. (Really? When making the reservation, it was clear our entire purpose of reserving a space was to eat and watch the game. Why would they tell us it would have a big screen? And since when is a clean bathroom something that needs to be requested?)

Our caterer had already delivered the food, so we could not leave to eat somewhere else. Knowing this, management still would not let us move our group to the empty, open lobby/atrium (with plenty of tables and chairs- not a restaurant.)

After several fruitless conversations AND being put on hold and hung up on, WE tracked down a (very nice) maintenance man who finally removed some of the excess tables and wheeled in a small television on a cart. (Oddly, he was able to “equip” the room for TV on the fly.) In the meantime though, our players and parents were left roaming outside the “suite”, many eating while standing in the hallway. The gross bathroom was never addressed, so everyone had to trek back to their own room to use the restroom all evening.

When all was said and done, the handful of us that remained, were able to catch the 9th inning with a cold plate of pasta. Our nice pre-planned evening together was absolutely ruined by the incompetent and slow staff at University Plaza. Even “IF” there had been a miscommunication about the room set up (which there wasn’t) management did NOTHING to remedy their mistake, accommodate us or apologize. BOO!

INDIVIDUAL ROOMS & OTHER IRRITATIONS (Yeah, it doesn’t get better…)
Our actual hotel room needed to be re-cleaned upon Friday check-in. Our bathroom had several visible hairs on the toilet and the room smelled stale and used. (GROSS!) They did quickly send up two people- each with a spray bottle and hand towel. One spritzed the toilet- the other spritzed the carpet. <blank stare> I slept with my own pillow that night.

On Saturday, AFTER 3PM, I had to track down the maid for clean towels and sheets (so I could strip and re-make the beds and empty the trash myself. She didn’t even offer. I left the pile of dirty linens in the hallway.) Again, on Sunday AFTERNOON, I had to track down the maid’s cart for fresh towels and toilet paper. Our room had not been cleaned yet again. From Friday-Monday our room was never cleaned, checked, or touched by hotel staff.

The outlets were a bit wonky, just like in the hospitality suite. They didn’t seem secured to the wall, so when you plugged something in the entire receptacle pushed in or pulled out of the wall. The television (there actually was one actually in our room) had wires and plugs dangling from a dusty old power strip on the side of the bureau- unnecessary safety hazards. I’d be wary if I had little kids.

The tub never drained properly so we had to shower with six inches of water at our feet every day. (Another repeat of the hospitality suite debacle.)

The hotel is 9 floors and has only TWO elevators. One was out of service for a while. Sometimes it took 15 minutes just to get back to our room from the lobby.

Upon Friday check in, I told the clerk I’d be paying cash for our room even though I had secured it with my AMEX. She told me to come back before NOON on Sunday. I went down at 7am on Sunday, only to find out they had already charged my card- irritating, but not the end of the world. Later Sunday, I pulled up my account online to check the charges. There were none. I went back to the front desk. 30 minutes to straighten it out- fielding stupid questions like, “Are you sure no one else wanted to treat you this weekend?” Like… a Secret Soccer Santa? WTH? “Are you sure you didn’t give us a 2nd credit card?” Why would I do that if I told you I was paying cash?

THE UPSIDES?
Well, the complimentary breakfast was great. (Not sure how you can mess up scrambled eggs, though.) The beds were comfortable, the rooms spacious, and the water pressure was good. Beyond that, University Plaza is very close to Missouri State and the Lake Country Soccer fields…

BOTTOM LINE-
We travel A LOT and I’ve only had one other similarly hellish experience in a hotel. The only thing I can think to explain the nonsense we encountered last weekend is a SEVERE lack of experienced staff.
If you KNOW you’re going to be booked, schedule enough employees…
If you KNOW you’re dealing with several large groups, (especially if the word "convention" is in your name!) make sure the on-duty managers can AND WILL solve problems…
Hotel rooms are universally cleaned between 12 and 2pm. If can’t get the rooms cleaned in that time frame, YOU ARE UNDERSTAFFED!
The hotel business is about HOSPITALITY- a home away from home -CLEAN, MAINTAINED AND FRIENDLY. That is how you earn money! $130 US a night? We won’t be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marndog1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Please accept my apologies for your unsatisfactory experience at the University Plaza Hotel. We hold our standards for luxury service in high regard and I deeply regret that your experience fell below that standard.


kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
(417) 864-7333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beebe, Arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent facility. Fantastic complimentary breakfast with a great selection. Friendly staff. Excellent event hotel. Easy access to all areas. Nice, quite neighborhood. Great food. Easy parking. Easy access to main roads.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center. We are so humbled by your feedback and we truly value your loyalty!

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day to exceed our guests’ expectations always striving for Excellence. We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you and your family when your travels next bring you to Springfield

Sincerely,

Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
(417)864-7333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Negatives: outdated decor, peeling wall paper, angry bartender, musty smell in room, indoor pool freezing and bubbles in hot tub did not work.

Overall it was a nice place to stay and hotel staff (except for angry bartender) were all very nice and helpful. I got the first night for half price on priceline which I'm happy about cause I would not have been happy had I paid 109 for both nights. The negatives are minor things (except for the freezing pool, that was unpleasant...). If you are a light sleeper, bring a fan to drown out noises.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AddisMom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
At the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center we make it our top priority to provide exceptional service to our guests to create the best possible stay experience. It is regrettable that there were a few items that were less satisfying but hope that your overall experience was not greatly impacted by them. The next time you are in the area, we would love to welcome you back again.

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay, and the service that our staff provided.

Sincerely,

Kevin Klein
Manager
(417)864-7333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for about a week on a recent trip to Springfield.
Joey, the door guy, since I never actually asked his last name, was extremely helpful and always had good advice on where to go and what to do.
The food at the restaurant was pretty good. The Beer cheddar soup was amazing.
The location was perfect for where we needed to be. The beds were super comfy as were the pillows.
The buffet breakfast was also pretty good.
My husband made use of the spa and got a massage. He was pleased with their services as well.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lyn_Blue_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Exceptional guest service is the ultimate goal and top priority of all of us here at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Thank you so very much for acknowledging the efforts of our staff! We’re glad you had a great stay during your recent trip and hope that whether it’s for business or leisure; you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are in Springfield.

Sincerely,
Kevin Klein
Manager
(417)864-7333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A very comfortable and relaxing stay with great service all around. The food was excellent and there was easy access to places of interest. The staff was courteous and very welcoming. I plan to stay there again when I visit Missouri.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive rating from your recent stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center! It was our pleasure to host you and we are thrilled to hear that everything from the location to the amenities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return.

Sincerly,

Kevin Klein
Manager
(417)864-7333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
312 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is very close to campus and Hammonds Field. They have a free hot breakfast, which is much better than the carb fest at most hotel's free breakfasts. The food on the buffet isn't spectacular, but what you would expect. The rooms were nice, but ours sounded like it was next to the air conditioning unit or something, as there was a pretty loud and constant roaring sound. This is our second time staying here and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KDJERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We do hope that you will find your way back to Springfield and to the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center sometime soon. Thank you very much for your review which mentions our convenient proximity to the Downtown Entertainment District with its many dining and entertainment options. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kevin Klein
Manager
Tel: (417) 864.7333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#3 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#2 of 49 in Springfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing