We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disorganized mess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Arrived after 5 pm to be told that our room was not ready (had prepaid in advance). Came back 2 hours later and the room key didn't work; I was told I was given the wrong room and assigned another. After going up to the room, another party was opening the door, they were given the same room, and both our key cards worked. I was then given a third room, this time it was correct. The people at the desk were not welcoming at all; the man who gave me the last 2 rooms could care less that I was given the run-around. Fitness room was nice, although too warm (right next to the pool). Room was average, a little smelly like dust, although it appeared clean. It would be nice if the front desk personnel did more than hand you a key, like explain amenities, like the breakfast and fitness/pool area; I had to ask about them. And btw the mattresses are very hard...not firm, but hard like sleeping on the floor. They should invest at least in padded mattress pads.

Room Tip: Use tripadvisor to find the best rates, not the hotel website. Another customer was using Groupon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLongLongTrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

Thank you for sharing your story with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the University Plaza while attending a convention. The hotel is in a very good location near an interesting shopping and restaurant district, and our room was pleasant and clean. We did find the booklet describing Guest Services vague on a lot of things. It mentioned the Fitness Center and the dates the outdoor pool was closed, but did not mention the location of either (just off the lobby) nor that there was also an indoor pool. For Internet Access it said "follow the directions". What directions? There were none posted in the room. As soon as I fired up my browser, I was easily guided through sign-on for free Internet. Oh, THOSE directions!

Great Fitness Center- everything was brand new, or looked it, and variety was reasonable. I enjoyed the indoor pool. The outdoor pool was still open and looked inviting- till I got hit with a cold blast of air when I went outdoors!

Convention facilities and services were fine. The dining room was staffed with only one waitress when we broke for lunch (we had not ordered the box lunch that most of the attendees got), but a pleasant young man at the cashier's stand suggested that we place takeout orders, which would be ready in 15 minutes, They were, as promised, and he even brought glasses of water to accompany the food.

We skipped the meeting banquet on Friday night and had a wonderful walk walk down Walnut Street, which had a variety of shops and restaurants and found a good place for dinner (Rebecca's).

Good food, both hot and cold, at breakfast. Hot opffreings included creamed chipped beef on biscuits and French toast.

The hotel has 2 bikes parked outside for the use of guests- a nice touch although I never had time to use them!.

Note that your GPS may refer to John Q. Hammons Parkway by another name- Sherman Ave?- but the downtown district is easily visible from the I-44 Business Loop, and the hotel is visible if you kepp an eye out for it.

The University Plaza was definitely a good convention destination!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location that offers our guests a variety of entertainment options while they are here on business or leisure travel.

Also, cleanliness and service are always top of mind with our staff and we are committed to delivering these items at an exceptional level. Thank you for mentioning the guest directories we will look into the items you mentioned.

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to become your hotel of choice when you stay in downtown Springfield! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I was given a two night stay ,celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary,we drove fromTupelo,Ms.To our susprise th ecity was much bigger than we expected the staff at the hotel was very helpful and frendly, th erooms were very clean including the bath. The Continental Breakful was much more than we expected food was good ,We are looking forward to a return ,so we can see more of the city..

Room Tip: Our room was quiet,on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank willie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we feel honored to have you here as you celebrated 50 years together! We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location that offers our guests a variety of entertainment options while they are here on business or leisure travel.

Also, cleanliness and service are always top of mind with our staff and we are committed to delivering these items at an exceptional level.

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to become your hotel of choice when you stay in downtown Springfield!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed at University Plaza Hotel in October for the past 5 years. The hotel is in great shape. Very comfortable, clean and friendly. You will not find a better hotel! The breakfast is well planned. The TV(s) in the room are very clear and the climate is very comfortable.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in were very nice over the years!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jbailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center.

We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you and when your travels next bring you to Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 32nd Anniversary in Branson and then Springfield. We stayed at the beautiful University Plaza Hotel for two nights and were pleasantly surprised at the beauty of the lobby and expecially with our lovely room with a beautiful view of the area. The accommodations, service, food, and especially breakfast were excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel to any visitors to Springfield.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rose Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel and that we were able to be part of your anniversary. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon! Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for only one night and was drawn by the complimentary shuttle to/from the airport. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was exceptional and much better than I had expected. I'll definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scotty_Dolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Our Team highly appreciates your review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments.

We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Springfield and the University Plaza. Best wishes for continued safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

stayed using trip advisor for first time. had a suite. rooms large and very clean but a bit dated. the staff at desk more than made up for it with maps, dinner recommends (gilard's) excellent italian food and could walk. downtown so so. for a sat. some shops not open but then again a university town. all in alll would reccomend.

Room Tip: corner suites were large and very quiet even though h.s. sports team staying at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to provide us feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your return patronage!

Our location in downtown Springfield is truly a great selling feature of our hotel and clean, comfortable and quiet rooms is always our goal. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a wonderful overnight stay.

We know you have many choices when staying in downtown Springfield and we hope you will continue to visit us each time you are in town!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 51 in Springfield
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#10 of 51 in Springfield
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $105 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing