We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I was given a two night stay ,celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary,we drove fromTupelo,Ms.To our susprise th ecity was much bigger than we expected the staff at the hotel was very helpful and frendly, th erooms were very clean including the bath. The Continental Breakful was much more than we expected food was good ,We are looking forward to a return ,so we can see more of the city..

Room Tip: Our room was quiet,on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank willie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we feel honored to have you here as you celebrated 50 years together! We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location that offers our guests a variety of entertainment options while they are here on business or leisure travel.

Also, cleanliness and service are always top of mind with our staff and we are committed to delivering these items at an exceptional level.

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to become your hotel of choice when you stay in downtown Springfield!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed at University Plaza Hotel in October for the past 5 years. The hotel is in great shape. Very comfortable, clean and friendly. You will not find a better hotel! The breakfast is well planned. The TV(s) in the room are very clear and the climate is very comfortable.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in were very nice over the years!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jbailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center.

We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you and when your travels next bring you to Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 32nd Anniversary in Branson and then Springfield. We stayed at the beautiful University Plaza Hotel for two nights and were pleasantly surprised at the beauty of the lobby and expecially with our lovely room with a beautiful view of the area. The accommodations, service, food, and especially breakfast were excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel to any visitors to Springfield.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rose Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel and that we were able to be part of your anniversary. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon! Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for only one night and was drawn by the complimentary shuttle to/from the airport. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was exceptional and much better than I had expected. I'll definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scotty_Dolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Our Team highly appreciates your review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments.

We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Springfield and the University Plaza. Best wishes for continued safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

stayed using trip advisor for first time. had a suite. rooms large and very clean but a bit dated. the staff at desk more than made up for it with maps, dinner recommends (gilard's) excellent italian food and could walk. downtown so so. for a sat. some shops not open but then again a university town. all in alll would reccomend.

Room Tip: corner suites were large and very quiet even though h.s. sports team staying at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to provide us feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your return patronage!

Our location in downtown Springfield is truly a great selling feature of our hotel and clean, comfortable and quiet rooms is always our goal. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a wonderful overnight stay.

We know you have many choices when staying in downtown Springfield and we hope you will continue to visit us each time you are in town!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel we come from Aberdeen Scotland ,we stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and it was brillant then the staff are extremelly friendly the room was spotless the person that cleaned the room did an excellent job the food was cooked the way that you wanted it to be i spoke to one of theH.r. staff and she told me that they were about to tart an upgrade to the hotel well if its great just now we will be back to see it after the upgrade it will be out of this world

Room Tip: great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susie146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center in the heart of downtown Springfield, MO. We are in a perfect location whether your trip brings you to Springfield for business or pleasure. We will be sure to pass the kind words about our staff on to them. Again we are glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks for taking the time post your experience on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for a conference in October 2012. Frankly, I wasn't expecting much, just a clean place to sleep and perhaps a simple breakfast bar, along the lines of a Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn. What I got was definitely a step up from that, with many of the amenities of higher-priced hotels.
The free breakfast was outstanding - tons of fruit and hot breakfast items in a clean, modern dining area. (The hotel has an open floor plan so all the spaces flow together and feel comfortable.) The meeting rooms were totally serviceable for a smaller conventions like ours. I would say 300 people would be as high as the hotel could accomodate in terms of meeting spaces.
The fitness room was not great - one universal machine for weights and 6-7 cardio stations. A small set of free weights would do wonders. The pool was nice, however, and they have an outdoor pool as well that is open during the summer. This led me to think that the hotel doesn't really have a set identity, since it offers business spaces but lacks a good fitness room. The pools seem to cater more towards families.
The most pleasant surprise were the loaner bikes the hotel offers for its guests. They are simple, perfectly decent Wal-Mart cruisers, the Panama Jack Huffy's to be exact, but they are decently maintained and pretty much always available. Springfield is a car oriented and surprisingly traffic-filled town, but if you head towards campus or down to the river you can find some perfectly nice bike path areas.
Other nice attributes include a small 24 hour convenience store that sells basic items, and a staff that was friendly and engaged, including a concierge. :) We paid about $100 per night, and felt that considering the amenities listed above and the clean, well-appointed rooms, it would be worth staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel, especially with our new bike program. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#13 of 52 in Springfield
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#9 of 52 in Springfield
726 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#10 of 52 in Springfield
911 reviews
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#12 of 52 in Springfield
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $106 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing