We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Well Suited”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Well Suited”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed at the University Plaza Hotel this week for business and to lecture in one of their banquet halls. Was very warmly welcomed by Leslie the clerk at the front desk the evening I checked in who was engaging and made me feel right at home with her bright smile. The day of my lecture Sylvia the banquet manager was extremely accommodating and did everything she could to make both my course run smoothly and my participants feel comfortable. I give high remarks to my travel coordinator at work for booking me at the University Plaza Hotel and would certainly wish to return there when in Springfield again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms with king beds are very quiet and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jfmarx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    228
    122
    63
    49
See reviews for
242
132
38
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kansas city, mo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is very poorly over priced and the service is sub-standard. The food at the restaurant is very good, but everything else is not worth the money spent. The amount of noise from the bar/atrium area is unbelievable and made it very difficult to get a good nights rest from a long and tiring day. We complained several times and the staff seemed to not really care since the group was bringing in alot of business. Our room smelled very musky and like someone had smoked heavily in it. We complained and all the staff would do is spray some febreeze in there. I have stayed at other hotels in the springfield area and would rather stay at one of them instead of this old musky smelled loud place. Other hotels are alot cheaper and their service seem like they actually care about their guests. Save yourself some money and headache and pick another place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chasermcz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Please accept my apologies for your unsatisfactory experience at the University Plaza Hotel. We hold our standards for luxury service in high regard and I deeply regret that your experience fell below that standard. I assure you that I will personally address your service issues with our team.

I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our entire family and wedding party (25 rooms rented) stayed here for my son's wedding. We also had the rehersal dinner at the Tower Club which is part of the Hotel group. The entire hospitality, sales, catering and hotel staff were wonderful. They made all of us feel welcome and took care of our entire group. They were always available to help us with anything and answer all of our questions. The hotel is a wonderful facility and I would highly recommend you stay here as they will take care of all your needs and do it with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Your review describes a wonderful wedding celebration! Thank you for selecting the University Plaza Hotel Springfield and The Tower Club for your special day. I'm glad you found the hotel comfortable and relaxing. Our team makes every effort to provide a relaxing atmosphere.

Thank you! We hope you will return very soon!

All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gassville, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friend & I had a dead car battery after a late cardinals game. One of the staff members jumped our battery in pouring rain after picking us up in the shuttle. They were helpful above & beyond the standard. The hotel was beautiful, great outdoor pool, & best continental breakfast ever! Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review, I was very happy to hear we were able to help you with the battery. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Springfield and the University Plaza. Best wishes for continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Last week my wife and I spent two days at the University Plaza Hotel in Springfield, Mo. It was our first time to stay with them, we normally stay with a large chain hotel company. We were very happy with the everything and will stay with them again. We travel to the Springfield area twice a month, and need a quite, clean place to rest and relax after a full day of work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelinbob_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center. We are so humbled by your feedback and we truly value your loyalty!

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day to exceed our guests’ expectations always striving for Excellence. We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you and your family when your travels next bring you to Springfield.

Sincerely,
Robert Henley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have stayed there a couple of times, and has been consistenly well-maintained. Breakfast buffet is very good. Great location - easy walking distance to downtown Springfield and Hammons Field. Free parking. Large comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel again. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our first stay here. We bought the stay on Groupon. This is a very nice facility and the staff was super friendly. We would definitely stay here again! The breakfast buffet was very good and the other food we ordered from the Terrace Grill was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Springfield and the University Plaza.

Best wishes for continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#3 of 49 in Springfield
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#2 of 49 in Springfield
156 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing