We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but needs some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week for a conference. The atrium is very noisy for breakfast time, lots of plates clattering and it echos up to the rooms. The housekeeping was lousy as we had a washcloth that layed on shower bar for 3 days before it was picked up, a breakfast plate and coffee cup that stayed on TV stand for 2 days, and an opened bottle of water when we arrived (which of course we got charged $3 upon check out). Breakfast was decent though a little change up from day to day might be nice, when you are staying there for a week anyway. Lunch buffet was very good. The bar area was decent, but EXTREMELY slow service and not very attentive when you need another beverage. We had one really good waitress named Betty. It was her first day, and apparently she need to train some of the experienced staff.

Room Tip: The higher the better due to the noise in breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FiremanMike218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

999 - 1,005 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the University Plaza for 2 nights, after getting a great Groupon Deal. This hotel is super nice, the rooms are large, nicely updated, and ours included a microwave and fridge. Even the bathroom was extra large. The morning breakfast had a great variety, and we had a great steak in the restaurant in the evening. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We hope to return for another stay within the next several months. We highly recommend this hotel. We had such a wonderful time here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Many thanks for your warm words regarding your experience. We take pride in providing service unlike any other which we feel sets us apart from other hotels in Springfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Springfield and the University Plaza very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent!! The hotel was full with a convention and was able to provide great service!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Blakely6609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Many thanks for your warm words regarding your experience. We take pride in providing service unlike any other which we feel sets us apart from other hotels in Springfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Springfield and the University Plaza very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our stay was 7/14/12 and checked out 7/15/12. According to their site, check-in is at 4p.m. but we checked in at 11a.m. The staff at the counter was friendly. The hotel was nice and interesting. The check-in process was pretty easy and quick. I had read another review on another site and one of the complaints was that the elevators were pretty slow. Not sure how that was an inconvience but I found that the elevators were pretty fast. In fact, my 2-year-old son has a fear of elevators but finally broke his fear on THESE elevators to the point of trying to bypass everyone else just to ride in them. As we entered our room for the first time, our room was pretty clean and cool. Other hotels we've stayed in were hot upon entry and took a while to cool down. This room was a BIG plus on an already scorching day. The bathroom was clean for the most part but the toilet seat had some wear-and-tear on it. The bottom of the bathroom door was rotted like it had been wet at one time. Other than those two issues, I found the bathroom to be comfortable. We ordered a PPV movie for our son and had some difficulties ordering from the T.V. and had to call the front desk for assistance. They were polite and helpful and had our movie playing within seconds upon calling. We ordered out for dinner but ordered room service for dessert. 18% gratuity wasn't TOO bad for two items and an almost $4 delivery fee. Not a wine connoisseur by any means but their wine list was adequate in my opinion. As I researched the different wines they had on their list for a better understanding, I found that their $32/bottle was a bit pricey for what other people had listed on their site at $10. Like I said, not a wine connoisseur, so we did without the wine. The bed was as comfy as our toddler would let it be. Can't really judge a good night's sleep when you have elbows and knees in your ribs. The breakfast hours were from 6 - 9. We made it there at 8:45. Everything was still fresh, hot, and tasted good. They kept serving passed 9. Coffee was good too. After we got home, we noticed we left my son's blanket in our room. Finally after getting a hold of lost and found, they had our blanket and charged our card they had on file to mail it to us. Totally our fault for leaving it there but a BIG THANKS to the housekeeper for turning it in!!! That was the blanket that we brought our son home from the hospital in. All in all, pretty good stay. Wish we could have stayed longer but the $100+/night, that wasn't possible.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roberto Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband, 5 month old son, and myself stayed here July 9 & 10. We used to live in Springfield and had heard it was a good hotel, due to the John Q. Hammons reputation. My husband was interviewing for jobs in the area, so we picked this hotel. Check-in was easy and the staff member was very friendly and accommodating.

The standard rooms do not come with a refrigerator/microwave combo. I booked the hotel via priceline and could not determine from my reservation if the rooms had one or not. I called the hotel and was told I had to upgrade $30 to a suite if I wanted a refrigerator. I'm a nursing mother who was traveling with perishable milk, so I asked upon check-in if it was possible to get a refrigerator in our room. This staff member said that was and called maintenance to deliver a refrigerator to our room. In about two hours it arrived and it was a great relief to have that.

The room was average. It wasn't spectacular, but was very clean and spacious. We were able to set up our pack-n-play, as well as store all of our other luggage and misc things without the room feeling crammed. The king rooms have a sofa sleeper in them - just FYI. The room had a flat screen tv, sink/vanity separate from the bathroom, and offers free WiFi.

I would like to commend Cindy, our housekeeper. She was very accommodating. My little boy was asleep when she knocked to service our room. I met her at the door and asked if I could just exchange towels and give her the trash and she was very friendly and met my requests. She even gave me a few extra towels and said "I've been there before."

During our stay the hotel was doing renovations, but they were minor and didn't affect our stay. We did have an issue with the business center. My husband went to use it on Monday evening and couldn't use Microsoft Word due to it being expired. When he asked the front desk about the issue, they told him they didn't know what to do and to come back at 6am Tuesday morning when the manager arrived. My husband went back Tuesday morning and the manager didn't know what to do either. They offered to call maintenance, but admitted they didn't know if that would help. Since this hotel mainly caters to business travelers and convention attendees, we were surprised the business center was out-of-date and the staff had no idea how to fix the issue.

Our other issue was with the pool/spa area. We found the indoor pool temperature quite chilly. We weren't able to test the outdoor pool since it was under renovation. We went to use the hot tub on Tuesday night and found a sign saying the jets were out of order. It was disappointing.

Due to the renovations, breakfast was moved to a conference room. We had two totally different experiences each morning. The first morning (Tuesday), we arrived to breakfast around 8:30 and found the food cold and not restocked. The next morning, at the same time, it was the complete opposite. They offered a decent selection of hot items: home fries, eggs, french toast, bacon/sausage, and had the usual other breakfast fare. It wasn't as fantastic as we had anticipated from the previous reviews, but it was above average.

Overall, we probably wouldn't stay here again unless we got an amazing deal. The main clientele of this hotel is business travelers, convention attendees, and MSU families. I personally don't think the hotel is worth $100+/night. If you can get it for less than $70, then it would be a deal.

Room Tip: All rooms open to the atrium, which can be noisy if there is a crowd in the lobby area. There are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RedHeadedGidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers. The business center computer issue has been resolved, I am sorry your husband was unable to have this fixed while he was here.

Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I went for a convention. Staff was very friendly, helpful, knowledgable, and would go above and beyond to provide the guest with their requests. Room was very spacious and keep very clean. Housekeeper was very friendly and nice. The breakfast that is included with your room is excellent with numerous choices from fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, pastries, muffins, coffee, orange juice, and much more. It gave our group time to socialize and talk in the morning. Everyone of the hotel staff was very responsive to any question or need that I had. The shuttle service picked me up at the airport and took me around town. The hotel also provided me with a cab to the airport since I had to leave earlier than their shuttle service began. Overall, the best hotel, the best staff with a true desire to provide excellent customer service, and the friendliest people. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for all your kind remarks about our team and our hotel! Our team works hard to create a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and it's great to hear you enjoyed it.

Hopefully you'll be back to visit our beautiful city soon!

Thank you, again, for being our guest!

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have been going to convention since1992. We attend between 1-9 a year.this hotel rate the best we have been at .The staff was excellent in all phases from help to manners.They went out of their way to be helpful.The comfort of the rooms ,size, conveince was great.Other hotel could learn a lot from this one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location that offers our guests a variety of entertainment options while they are here on business or leisure travel.

Also, cleanliness and service are always top of mind with our staff and we are committed to delivering these items at an exceptional level.

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to become your hotel of choice when you stay in downtown Springfield! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 51 in Springfield
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#8 of 51 in Springfield
718 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#10 of 51 in Springfield
904 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $106 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing