We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Symphony Afterglow Reception” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Symphony Afterglow Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Springfield Symphony held a afterglow reception in the atrium of University Plaza Hotel on Saturday May 12, 2012. The staff did a wonderful job sitting up the event to accommodate over 100 guests arriving essentially at the same time. The food was exquisite with a great variety of choices. Thank you University Plaza for hosting such a great event and making it memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brooke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Brooke,

Exceptional guest service is the ultimate goal and top priority of all of us here at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Thank you so very much for acknowledging the efforts of our staff!

We’re glad you had a great event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    224
    119
    62
    48
See reviews for
236
132
36
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I had stayed out by the airport a few times and got tired of having nothing beyond the basic stuff to do. I really enjoyed this hotel, is has a good staff, good rooms and only 3 blocks from downtown. I'll be going back to it when i am in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TLD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
To our guest from Minneapolis!

What a pleasure it was having you stay with us at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center and I am glad you enjoyed your stay downtown. We are the only full service hotel in Downtown Springfield where all of the action is!

Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, we are just steps from popular destinations including MSU, night life and amazing restaurant as well as Hammons Field home of the Springfield Cardinals. We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are visiting Springfield.

Best,

Robert Henley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My stay at the University Plaza was for a business convention. The facilities were excellent- warm and inviting. Meals provided for the convention were very good with professional service. The gym area was clean and comfortable. Staff were personable and courteous. Complimentary breakfast buffet was good with many selections. Stayed in a suite-spacious, well appointed. Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Suites offer separate work and sleep areas, as well as microwave which was very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you Lisa for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location that offers our guests a variety of entertainment options while they are here on business or leisure travel.

Also, cleanliness and service are always top of mind with our staff and we are committed to delivering these items at an exceptional level.

Thank you very much for staying with us we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here 8 years ago and then again last weekend and the quality is just as wonderful as years ago. Our room was comfortable, spacious, clean. The rooms all look out over the lobby which was inviting. Breakfast buffet was included in rate and rivaled those hotels who charge 20.00 per person for their breakfast buffets. Did not use the pool or work out room, but they looked nice. Would definitely stay here again. Only problem was it was hard to get into the business center;key system on that door needs re-working.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Receiving feedback from our guest enables us to improve while being able to accommodate all of our guests a little better upon each visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of service and by the hotel's accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Guest satisfaction is one of our major goals, and I am happy that our staff was able to make your experience with us enjoyable. Thank you for your continued patronage with us. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again when you are attending an event here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I recently attended the Heart Ball at the UNIVERISTY PLAZA Convention Center. They had a great location for the reception in the lobby ....a superior size ballroom and then another side-room for their silent auction and gaming. The food and staff were both excellant.

If you have any sizable event, there is no other place in SWMissouri than the UNIVERSITY PLAZA Convention Center to have it at !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Your kind words about our service and event space are more than appreciated! Taking care of our guests is always at the top of our priority!. I will pass your comments along to the TEAM. Until we see you again, best wishes & safe travels, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Great hospitality; staff goes out of the way to be helpful; they are always cheerful and courteous! Complimentary shuttle provided to and from the airport. Breakfast provided at no charge to guests. Resturant has food good. Business Center plus wi-fi in rooms. Guest room was spacious with a sofa; two separate vanities in the bathroom. Great value and service with a smile!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LandaCRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
To our guest from Canada,

Guest satisfaction is one of our major goals, and I am happy that our staff was able to make your experience with us enjoyable. Thank you for your continued patronage with us. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again when you are visiting Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#3 of 49 in Springfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing