We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Mold in the shower, remote doesn't work, smells - reminds me of my grandmas house.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irunalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

We appreciate your post regarding your experience with us on Trip Advisor and I apologize for the issues you encountered. We will work to get these corrected immediately, I am new to this property and appreciate your feedback.

I thank you for choosing University Plaza and if you return to the Springfield area I would love to have the opportunity to thank you in person.

Sincerely,

Robert Henley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights for an event at the JQH Arena. The staff at check in was very pleasant and I looked forward to our room. We walked in and a musty smell greeted us. It was almost midnight at this point and we were too tired to deal with calling down to the desk to complain. We changed and climbed into bed. WOW!!! It was like sleeping on a board. We had two double beds and I tried both of them. They were both hard as bricks. I decided it would not do any good to complain as this must be the type mattress they prefer. We went down to the free breakfast the next morning, and I will leave it at I am glad it was free... The last night of our stay we were greeted to a horrible musty smell when we walked in the room, but, luckily we had noticed that we could open the window so we were able to air out the room.

The other main prolem we had was NOISE. We were on the fifth floor, but the hotel is modeled around an atrium. I would highly suggest to the management that they put sound proof doors on the rooms as it sounded like we had front row bar stools at the bar at night and were sleeping in the restaurant in the morning. I am not kidding. If you are a night owl (and remember we checked in around midnight) and like to get up before they start serving breakfast, you will be fine. Needless to say, I was very disappointed and we will choose another hotel if we come back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disfan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

We appreciate your post regarding your experience with us on Trip Advisor and I apologize for the issues you encountered. We will work to get these corrected immediately, I am new to this property and appreciate your feedback.

I thank you for choosing University Plaza and if you return to the Springfield area I would love to have the opportunity to thank you in person.

Sincerely,

Robert Henley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just here one night for a wedding but it was very comfortable and the fact that they accept small pets was very accommodating. Nice pool area and full complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: They accept pets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuttonFamKc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

What a pleasure it was having you stay with us at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, we are just steps from popular destinations including MSU and Hammons Field. We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are visiting Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Billed as a luxury hotel featuring excellent customer service, amenities, and comfort, the University Plaza Hotel was a shocking disappointment. I stayed in the hotel's recently opened Chairman's Suite (once the personal chambers of hotel magnate John Q. Hammons himself) with my family for two nights this July. The hotel's premier room was spacious, with a sitting area/dining room, two bedrooms, and two bathrooms. That is about the only positive feature. Room service hours very limited (11am -10pm) so don't expect breakfast in bed! Not even coffee, unless you count the nasty brew-it-yourself stuff they provide along with a teeny coffemaker. There was a long black hair on the king bed when I pulled back the sheet, and if you have any digital devices to plug in (who doesn't these days) good luck finding an outlet. There is one behind the sofa and one under the king bed and a couple of GFCIs in the huge bathroom. None in the so-called "kitchen" which was equipped with one small sink, my older brothers college dorm-room mini fridge and ten feet of marble countertop! NO utensils, no microwave, nothing stocked in the fridge and no cups, plates, or glasses of any kind. What a joke. The customer service definately didn't live up to what I have come to expect from a high-end hotel over the years. I could go on and on, believe me there are many more complaints, not the least of which is the automatic revolving door that would not stop when my two year old boy got caught in it! (He is okay!) But the staff at the front desk showed little concern beyond a bored curiousity as his high-pitched screams filled the lobby. Save yourself a bad time and waste of money and book your room at the Doubletree Hilton or the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

We appreciate your post regarding your experience with us on Trip Advisor and I apologize for the issues you encountered. We will work to get these corrected immediately, I am new to this property and appreciate your feedback.

I thank you for choosing University Plaza and if you return to the Springfield area I would love to have the opportunity to thank you in person.

Sincerely,

Robert Henley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Great location right downtown. They have free parking and my family of four walked to Hammons Field. They have an indoor and outdoor pool. Both were very nice. Breakfast was just ok but free. Got a great rate via Priceline. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Korn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

What a pleasure it was having you stay with us at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, we are just steps from popular destinations including MSU and Hammons Field. We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are visiting Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I have been there every July the last several years for a business convention. Every time there is something wrong. Most of the time it is the air conditioning. You have to turn it all the way down and at best it is 80ish in the room. Last year it didn't even work. Besides the air this time the hot water didn't work. I called the desk and all I got was that they will check into it.. My company will not schedule another convention there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dreamsofthebeach_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobPottberg, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

We are very sorry to hear of your troubles with both the air conditioning and hot water during your stay. Please accept our apology as we look into the cause and address the shortcoming. If you would be so kind to contact the hotel so we can get more detailed information on room location it would be greatly appreciated.
Bob Pottberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great atrium, rooms were nice, good facilities, conference center was great! Outdoor pool wasn't open yet but looks like a nice set up. Great breakfast!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wtresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Your kind words about our hotel are more than appreciated! Taking care of our guests is always at the top of our priority!. I will pass your comments along to the TEAM and I am sure many will be so happy to see that you recognized them. That will make their week! Until we see you again, best wishes & safe travels, Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Springfield
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 51 in Springfield
719 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#9 of 51 in Springfield
905 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $106 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing