We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Usual, Great Food and Fast In and out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hinode Japanese Steakhouse

Hinode Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #60 of 673 Restaurants in Springfield
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“As Usual, Great Food and Fast In and out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

always great food and they move people in and out quickly without feeling rushed. Try the calimari it is the one of the best in Springfield.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch or Dinner Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hinode specializes in Hibachi Cooking and Sushi, I highly reccomend the Chicken Hibachi, it comes with fried rice, spaghetti-ish noodles, veggies such as onions, mushrooms, zuchinni and carrots and two different dipping sauces: Yummy Sauce & Ginger Sauce. I ask for a side of Teriyaki instead of Ginger, it's the best. :)
It is cheaper to go at lunch between 11-2 then to dinner, by about $4, and the only difference is you pay extra for fried rice at dinner and you get a bowl of broth soup.
Most of the chef's that cook at your table are very friendly and include the patron's in the fun, some of them are confident enough to flip shrimp into customer's mouths, some are not... but Hinode is delicious and always a great experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You won't go away hungry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's been a while sine I had been back to Hinode, and I must say they have turned the place around. The staff was friendly and the waitress was on the spot with re-fills, bringing out appetizers, etc. We were there for a birthday and say with some people who were there for an anniversary. The chef was engaging, the food was cooked perfectly, and he even showed genuine concern for my friend's allergy, by asking if they needed to cook her food on a different grill.
The price was good, and we didn't feel rushed to get out even though we were there on a busy friday night. I definitely reccomend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crashphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marionville, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of the best Japanese places in Springfield and believe me I've tried them all. The food is really good, the service is excellent and the restaurant is beautiful. If you're in the area, it's a must try.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TracynTroy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
205 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Food Prepared with Flair!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Get there early or expect a 30 minute wait or more at dinner time. This is a traditional hibachi style restaurant cooked at your table. The chefs are very entertaining, the sushi is excellent, and is reasonably priced.

Meats to select from are steak, filet mignon, chicken, shrimp, crab, scallops, salmon, and calamari. There is also tofu for vegetarians. Meals are served with soup, salad, noodles, steamed or fried rice, vegetables and your choice of meat or meats. Try a bottle or Kirin which is a very good Japanese beer or something from their full bar.

お楽しみください。

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank labsnbeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinode Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hinode Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing