We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in lovely B&B on the prettiest street of Springfield”
Review of Walnut Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Walnut Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Springfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice stay in lovely B&B on the prettiest street of Springfield”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I came to visit our daughter, who studies at MSU, and instead of staying in a large hotel we stayed this time in a nice, cozy B&B. We loved it! Because we found the prices for the rooms quite steep, we've chosen the cheapest, but that was absolutely fine. The B&B is on the historic Walnut Street and was built over 100 years ago. The interior is still all very authentic, but therefore it also looks a bit run down, especially the bathroom. The atmosphere is very nice and heartwarming. There are folders every where to keep you well informed about Springfield, it surroundings and restaurants. Nice breakfast, with warm specials, although a bit on the small size: on the first morning we had only one small bite and that wasn't enough for us, but we were offered nothing else and therefore didn't ask for it. But that's the only complain I have. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    29
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
88
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Walnut Street Inn for a weekend getaway and it was wonderful! We stayed in the Robertson Room in the Carriage house which is absolutely adorable. Beautifully decorated with tasteful décor and a wonderful gas fireplace we had plenty of privacy in a spacious and comfortable room. The owners and staff were extremely helpful and their dinner recommendation for a local Italian restaurant was excellent (we went back twice during our stay). Very nice touch were the comfortable amenities (water, soda, sprite and coffee, and the home made cookies) which were a welcome treat after a day of walking around the city before dinner. Breakfast was delicious. We look forward to another visit and highly recommend this lovely Inn to travelers.

Room Tip: The Robertson Room in the Carriage House is perfect for a couple's getaway. Private and spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A BEAUTIFUL experience in Springfield. The room, breakfast, staff, and amenities were all excellent. We definitely utilized the gas fireplace in the room. The staff made us feel right at home, and we utilized their recommendation for dinner at the Springfield Brewing Company. The innkeeper's friend, John, even gave us a great driving route to see the gorgeous fall colors. Highly recommended, we definitely will stay here again!!

Room Tip: carriage house rooms are only a few steps away from the main house and breakfast room. our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roncoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My daughter recently stayed in the Rosen Room at Walnut Inn and we loved it. The room was large and everything was clean. Gary was a great host. We had cookies in our room and breakfast was plentiful & yummy. The neighborhood is charming as well. There were lots of places in walking distance. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcjmiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I'll return next month for my fourth stay at Walnut Street Inn. Our son is a student at nearby Drury University. Our first night at this inn was the day we dropped him off for his Freshman year of college. The Rosie O'Neill room's hot tub and fireplace helped warm our spirits on an unseasonably cold and rainy August afternoon. Wine on our private balcony helped ease our separation anxiety and remember what it was like once upon a time before kids. Two months later, we reserved the Benton room upstairs, which easily accommodated myself, husband and teenage daughter when we visited for a weekend. I loved the interesting angles and hide-aways created by the roof line. It was a great space to relish our family time. This past weekend my daughter and I returned, and stayed in the Rosen room, a cozy small room with a comfortable bed and seating, great lights for reading and lounging. The rooms and bath amenities have without exception been clean and inviting. Each visit, our breakfast was splendid, and the service and roomkeeping personnel were kind and helpful. One visit, in an effort to save about $20, we stayed at a hotel recommended to us by another parent. Never again. The charm of the Walnut Street Inn and the hospitality of its innkeepers are just too compelling. My kudos to Gary and Paula for investing their time and treasure into maintaining this beautiful old home so the rest of us can enjoy it. By the way, each of the rooms has information about the familes who'd lived there in the past, and/or the historicial figures that the rooms are named after. Make sure to allow time during your visit to look at those books, it makes you appreciate the house and the setting even more.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ideal_Maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We love the location. Close to busy town. but yet in a quiet neighborhood. beautiful trees and lovely house. Room was just great. Nice. spacious. Everything we needed.I recommend to anyone Staying in Springfield. Oh and breakfast was out of this world. thank you Gary.

Room Tip: Ours was up stairs and quiet. we loved. it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My first impression when we pulled up was simply beautiful . Things got better from there. We were greeted by two amazing people Gary and Star who welcomed us like long lost friends . They offered to do anything to make checking in and settling in more comfortable . We came there for our honeymoon and were taking photos and Gary offered up his time to take photos for us on our special day . The many things they did that followed made our stay wonderful . The food was great and room was beautiful as was the yard and garden . It was a great piece of history and we look forward to coming back for years to come .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
936 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
2.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#3 of 49 in Springfield
163 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Street Inn

Property: Walnut Street Inn
Address: 900 E Walnut St, Springfield, MO 65806-2603
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walnut Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring at the Walnut Street Inn. This is the Main House, front. There are two other 100+ year old buildings on the property with guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Walnut Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing