We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Historic place”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

When I was looking for a place to stay in this area felt I had to pick this place for it's history, it's basically a smart motel in a good location. There is a swimming pool and a small area for breakfast. The choice for breakfast was quite good but the actual breakfast area was very crowded especially when a large number needed to eat at the same time (a coach party.). Obviously the hotel is on the main road, but it was surprisingly quiet. The rooms are quite small but clean - no dust under the bed, we discovered when looking for something we had lost. Lots of places nearby to eat, we missed not having a fridge in our room, something that generally seems to be provided as standard in most rooms we have stayed in on this trip.

Room Tip: We had room 205, the front block of rooms are in the 100's and are on the main road those in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Mazneed:

Our breakfast area can be a bit small, especially when large groups come down to eat all at once. I apologize if you were not comfortable with the arrangements in our lobby. It sounds like the rest of your stay went quite well, and I am happy to hear it. Thank you for rating us four stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    379
    82
    27
    9
See reviews for
352
478
65
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The motor inn is set on historic Route 66, with updated rooms that are clean and comfortable, while still incorporating an old time feel with old fashioned decor (telephone booth, cars, gas pumps, etc). We stayed in the Marilyn Monroe suite... An extra $50 but so worth it! The jacuzzi tub was especially delightful! Thanks to the late night reservation specialist who recommended this suite to us! and to Gary who greeted us late night at the desk, who was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and hotel! If you're staying in Springfield, do yourself a favor and stay here. They don't make em like this anymore!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Gia E:

I'm glad you enjoyed the Marilyn suite. It is one of our more popular rooms. Thank you for telling us about your stay and for recommending the Rail Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff is very helpful. The rooms are clean. Directly on Historic Route 66, central to all Springfield locations. Elvis stayed there in 1956. The Pool is very nice and the kids love it. Very Close to Bass Pro Shop, the Pythian Castle, the National Cemetery and Wilson's Creek Battleground. Breakfast is very easy and appealing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Lula P:

Thank you for rating the Rail Haven five stars and for sharing your experience with the world. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My parents and I stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and the experience has been great each time. Our rooms have always be very clean, and the employees are always friendly. Not to mention, the prices are great. There isn't much of a variety for breakfast. There were doughnuts, muffins, and small boxes of cereal, and there wasn't much of those things. The breakfast is free, so you don't expect anything special. This hotel was very quiet, and I thought that the old gas pump and car were a nice touch to go along with it being on Route 66. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Stephanie H:

Thank you for the five-star rating. It sounds like the only thing you were not satisfied with was breakfast; and I think you may have that part confused with another hotel, as we have not served doughnuts, muffins, or small boxes of cereal in the seven years I have worked here. We do have several items to choose from, but none of those have been on the list. We DO have old gas pumps and 50s style cars out front, and we ARE located on Route 66, so I know you definitely stayed here. Regardless, thank you for reviewing your stay. Come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Sweet inn with history! Lovely friendly folks room was exceptional.stayed here on trip across the country on motorcycle. Route 66 just next hotel. Elvis stayed here 1956.sweet just visited Graceland.clean and decor nice surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaingirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
mountaingirl28:

Thank you for reviewing and rating your stay at the Rail Haven. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've always wanted to stay in a quaint motor inn on Route 66. Route 66 Rail Haven granted my wish. Literally steps away from a stretch of the original Rte. 66 pavement, what this motor inn lacks in size makes up for in character. Our room was small (compared to a modern room), but comfy. The inn is quite a drive off of I-44, but we were glad we ventured off of the main drag to stay. The free breakfast was pretty good and the staff were very helpful. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AliOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
AliOkie:

I am pleased to hear that we were able to grant your wish! Decades ago, the Rail Haven was a series of cottages with carports built along side each unit. When the property was renovated, those carports became additional rooms, so a few of our rooms just big enough to park a 50s style automobile under the roof! Sounds like you may have ended up in one of those. I am glad to hear that you were still comfortable. Thanks for the review and the five-star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Myself with wife and two teen-age kids stayed here in August 2013. Double room (two double beds) was less than $70 including tax. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the staff was friendly. The breakfast was exactly what you expect from a free hotel breakfast. Nothing fancy, but it sure beats paying $40-$50 (with tax and tip) at IHOP. It got us going and on our way in the morning.

A Harley club from Chicago was staying there as they made their way from Chicago to LA along route 66. It was really cool to see 50 Harleys chained up in the parking lot.

We did not use the pool so I can't give a rating on it.

We took the desk clerk's recommendation for Italian food and had a great dinner at a small little spot near campus. Unfortunately, we left our left-overs in the hotel fridge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Aaron G:

It sounds like you stayed when one of our Norwegian tour groups came through. They fly in from Norway to either LA or Chicago and rent Harleys to ride across Route 66. The Mother Road brings us thousands of foreign guests every year. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
717 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
760 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#12 of 49 in Springfield
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#20 of 49 in Springfield
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven

Property: Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Address: 203 South Glenstone Avenue, Springfield, MO 65802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#13 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing