We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well preserved Route 66 Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A well preserved Route 66 Motel”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A traditional style ground level Motel which has been tastefully restored in keeping with it's history as one of the iconic Motels of Route 66 in Missouri. Very comfortable spacious twin beds (in England the sell as double beds!), and very efficient air conditioning too. Breakfast was in the reception office area and was of the "continental" type both plentiful and of good quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aweighandappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aweighandappy:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Best Western Rail Haven. I hope the rest of your tour of the States (and particularly Route 66) was just as satisfying. We appreciate your feedback. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    377
    80
    27
    9
See reviews for
349
474
65
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon,UK
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Apparently he stayed here in 1956 - but it has changed a bit since then! Was great for our Route 66 trip - our first room smelled of smoke but we were immediately moved to one that didn't without any fuss by the helpful reception desk staff. Room small but with everything you needed. Breakfast next morning was a bonus and pretty good. Great for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvertonsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
silvertonsiren:

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Rail Haven. I'm sorry to hear that your first room was a little smokey. I'm glad to hear, however, that our front desk staff was able to quickly accommodate you with a better room. Thank you for chosing us, and please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Overall the facility has been kept up well and looks nice. The rooms are a bit older but are clean and smell good. We had a small fridge, flat screen TV with tons of channels to watch. The beds were clean and comfortable. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldwingpilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Goldwingpilots:

I am pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay at the Rail Haven. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Originally built in the late 1930s this place has been looking after Route 66 tavellers for ever. We were looked after too. Literally on the R66 intersection the place offers cottage style rooms, where you can drive right up to your motel room and park there. There is an outdoor pool, small but with character. The lobby/reception building is an old R66 gas station and has loads of memorabilia inside spend some time.
Breakfast is included, rooms are pretty big - we were upgraded to a family room so had 2 bedrooms. Bathroom is large too.
There was a Harley tour stopping over for the night, with around 15 bikes. Great place with a great atmosphere. You have to stay here if you are chasing the sun to California like we are.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMiddlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
SMiddlewood:

Thank you for the thorough review and excellent rating. We always love hearing from our overseas guests. I hope the rest of your Route 66 experience was equally exciting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A pleasant Room, very helpful staff, but a little noisy.
Near to amenities, but rooms go straight out onto blind side of street.
Was a little apprehensive about this, but all in all room was clean and pleasant.
Okay for a short stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Steve j:

I'm sorry to hear that your room was a little noisy. It must have been located close to the street. Glenstone can be a little busy at times. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay other than that. Thank you for telling us about your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Grove, Missouri, Usa
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived late to a very courteous front desk person. He helped us through the registration and told us if there was anything we needed to just let him know, he would be there all night. That was comforting to know! Breakfast the next morning was wonderful and all friendly guests

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jilene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Jilene S:

Thank you for taking the time to review and rate your stay at the Rail Haven. Stop by and see us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We made a reservation for a room with a view, other than a parking lot, with a frig and a king bed. When we checked in, we were assigned a king room without a frig and a view of a brick wall in the parking lot. We phoned the office and complained that this was not what the reservation specified and were told that there were no other rooms like the one we reserved. This was not probable because this was only 4PM in the afternoon. The clerk was not willing to change our room with a frig. We asked if we could receive a deduction and was told a firm: "no, sorry!" At that, we gave up and continued to be satisfied with looking out the window at the wall. This motel is high on Route 66 and old car nostalgia, and low on customer satisfaction. Our room had been renuvated, but not recently and smelled of old smoke. We were not happy with the room, the motel or the breakfast. The breakfast was served in the lobby, which clearly, was not designed in the 50s for future dining. The area was very cramped and breakfast offerings were meager and not well re-stocked. The final "shock" was when the floor lamp in our room was broken at the switch and gave my wife a shock when she tried to turn it on! Not good. We learned that we shouldn't fall for the "gimmick" and go for integrity in the reservation details. This motel was not a good value and needs to update their customer relations!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you hand over your credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Monte H:

I appreciate your taking the time to review your stay at the Rail Haven. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Not all of our King rooms have refrigerators, but we do have a few rooms with them, and they are available upon request. If your confirmation specified that you would have one, you should have been compensated in some way for not having one, and I will find out why your request to have your rate lowered was denied. I can say that the day you arrived we truly would have been sold out by 4PM. We had sold 100% of our rooms the previous night, and the majority of those guests stayed for three days. Unfortunately, there really wasn't anywhere else you could have been moved to, regardless of your check-in time on that day.

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the view from your room; however, all of our rooms with single King beds are located in two areas of the property, both of which have a view only of the parking lot. Since we are located in the middle of town on one of Springfield's main streets, we really don't have any rooms with a scenic view of any kind. I'm not sure how you booked your room, so I don't know who told you your room would have a view of anything other than the parking lot or the street. There just really isn't anything to see from the hotel other than traffic and local businesses.

As for the breakfast area, you are right that it is a bit small. To remedy this problem, we are currently building a pavillion on the front side of our parking lot. We hope this area will cut down on the breakfast traffic in the front lobby.

I will have our maintenance department investigate the broken light switch and fix it immediately. I very much appreciate your bringing this to our attention.

Again, I am sorry that you were not happy with your accommodations. I hope you give us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
716 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
760 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#12 of 49 in Springfield
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#21 of 49 in Springfield
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven

Property: Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Address: 203 South Glenstone Avenue, Springfield, MO 65802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#13 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing