We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay on Route 66” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Grapeview, Washington
Level Contributor
555 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay on Route 66”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we like to stay in well cared for, older style motels, especially while on Route 66. This is one of the best along the entire route! It was originally built in the 1930's, expanded in the 1950's, and completely renovated and updated several years ago. We stayed in a room from the 1950's era, which is a bit smaller than many modern hotels, but was adequate and very comfortable. This place is spotlessly clean and the furnishings are as nice as any Best Western Plus that I have stayed in (although not a BW PLUS). All of the fixtures are new, along with flat screen TV's. There is some road noise if you are in a room along the highway out front but we didn't find it hard to sleep. Also has a small breakfast area with a limited continental breakfast, not unusual for this type of motel. They are building a new building for a larger breakfast area which should help when the motel is full.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Jim B:

Thank you for the thorough review of your stay at the Rail Haven. Our staff works hard to be sure everything is spotless, so we always like to hear it when our guests take notice. I'm glad you enjoyed everything. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    359
    77
    25
    9
See reviews for
324
440
64
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Rail Haven by chance and were we glad we did. What a find. The owners try and suceed in making this a great place. Their attention to detail is the best. The morning breakfast was great. The staff is a dedicated group and the room was very clean and homey. Nice to be able to open the window. Especially love the fords parked on the drive on the way in and the chrome tables and counter stools were 50s. I just felt they cared about the motel and wanted it to be modern and yet nostalgic.They suceeded. Would come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Betsy N:

I'm thrilled to hear that you happend accross the Rail Haven by chance and decided to check us out. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Springfield, Mo. and we stayed at this motel because our Soccer team got a block of rooms. We paid $68 per night and I would say that was fair. The largest bed they have is "double", so when they say "two BIG beds" you need to be aware of that. It gets cozy with a family of 4. The rooms are quite small.

That said, the furnishings & appliances were very nice. It was obvious the management cares about the impression of the motel. Desk help was very friendly and attentive. The air quality was good.

I actually liked the "motel" style with our car right out front and also appreciate how "well lit" the porch/parking area was at night. It does get LOUD from road and parking lot noise at night, as the front doors/windows are not tight/noise resistant; although, I always take a 10inch Honeywell fan when I travel and that covers most noise and hums me right to sleep.

The location on Glenstone is excellent. Everything you can want is close by, or you can just head west a few blocks and get into even more stuff. Springfield is a nice town and this was a really nice motel.

I meant to figure out why this is called "route 66", but got busy and forgot. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MindEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
MindEddy:

I bring my Honeywell with me when I travel too! It blocks out the noise and blocks out the silence; either one keeps me up all night. Just so you are aware, we do have beds that are larger than doubles; we just don't have rooms with multiple beds any larger than that. We have single kings and single queens. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Thank you for the review and rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beecher, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were first time attenders of the annual national homeschool basketball tournament held in Springfield this year but made the decision late to attend. We were afraid that we wouldn't get much in the way of a hotel, and when we say this one was available at the price it was, we figured it wouldn’t be much. We didn’t care too much since we figured it would just a place to crash at night. But we were pleasantly surprised at the condition of the hotel and the rooms. It’s very well kept up – all four of our rooms were in nice shape. We ended up coming in and out and caused some difficulty for the cleaning staff, but they were extremely accommodating and friendly. In addition, the front desk was very helpful and friendly – even put our team name up on the marquee. The location was also perfect, right in the middle of the city and convenient to the locations at which we played. If we return to the tournament, Route 66 Rail Haven will be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Brian B:

I am pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. We love our NCHB guests, and hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a relatively large motel with plenty of rooms. The pool is one of the best features, although its quite noisy as the motel is on a busy stretch of Route 66. But that's part of the appeal. It was certainly a unique experience swimming in a pool just metres from the road. Our room was very clean. The staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful, e.g. giving directions to local restaurants, parking areas, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will23C1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Will23C1982:

It sounds like you must have visited us last summer because our pool isn't open for the season again yet (just a few more weeks). I'm glad you remembered to stop by Tripadvisor and review your stay. I hope the rest of your Route 66 experience was just as enjoyable. Thanks for the 4-star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
#13 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Springfield Airport Inn
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
1.2 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven

Property: BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
Address: 203 South Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#13 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing