We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We aren't hotel snobs, sometimes we find it interesting to book somewhere with history and as long it is well kept and clean, we really enjoy it! This place was wonderful. It has been around for 75 years and is on Route 66. The lobby is decorated like a 50s diner and the old gas pumps are outside as well as a couple of classic cars.We were impressed with the cleanliness and the knowledge and friendliness of the staff! (I just wish someone would invent a spray to take that "old hotel " smell out of places as it is a shame for places that take so much pride. But.... leaving our door open for a while in the 75 degree weather freshened up the room a lot, so don't let that stop you! The price is great and if it is on your route for a quick stop over, check out this one!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

PamelaDD:

Sounds like you made it to Springfield just in time for our ever-so-short period of nice Spring weather. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience and rating the Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed her in August 2011 and had a wonderful experience. The reception staff could not do enough to ensure that your stay was trouble free - from ordering taxis to recommending places to eat and things to see.
Brekfast in the Diner was a highlight for me - it was as if you were walking back in time to the 1950's.
The room was great - enough room for 4 people, large comfortable beds, fridge, air con, hairdryer, all the toiletries and towels you could ever need.
The housekeeping staff were excellent, discreet and extremely thorough.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelab1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Pamelab 1048:

Sounds like it has been a little while since you stayed here. I'm glad you remembered to stop by tripadvisor and review your stay. Thank you for the strong rating and the excellent review. Come stay with us again next time you are in the States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I spend alot of time traveling for work. The vast majority of the time, it is in 3 story hotels with interior hallways. Clean, comfortable, but hardle memorable. I miss the convenience of the outside entrance motels, but generally bypass them due to deteriorating conditions. Not the case at the Rail Haven in Springfield.

This motel has a long history along US 66. I was in town on business and nearly decided on another bland and safe night at a Courtyard or Comfort Suites. My retro heart took over and I decided to take a chance here. I am so glad I did.

The rooms are small, but modern and very clean. Nothing like pulling up to your door. It is in the middle of the city, yet it is still somewhat private. I would like to come back in the warmer months, when I could actually enjoy the pool and outdoor areas.

If you want to experience what motels and traveling was like in the 50's and 60's, yet, get the comforts and cleanliness of a modern hotel, this is your place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Johnham:

I'm so glad your retro heart took over! Thank you for the 5-star review and for recommending the Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven to others. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have three multiple night stays here so far, and will have more in the future. The people really try to make you comfortable and content. Front desk people were most helpful with questions we had concerning the motel and/or local dining and activities. The property is unique because part of it is old (1937) , there have been several additions over the years, but all of it is maintained to modern standards while retaining the tourist court architecture. The rooms we have used were all clean with no surprises. Plumbing works. TV 's are all flat screen. The breakfast stuff is decent. Access getting on and off of Glenstone Ave. is good. It's close to the colleges and downtown.

We have stayed in several other motels in the area. This one is our favorite. It is a good value.

Room Tip: Get a King Bed. Those rooms tend to be bigger.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

John B:

I'm honored to hear that we're your favorite Springfield hotel, and I'm thrilled that you plan to return. Thank you for telling the world about your pleasant experiences at the Rail Haven. I'm sure others will find your review informative. Excellent tip about the king bedrooms too; those rooms are a bit more spacious than the rest. Thanks again, and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is just like the roadside Motels of the 50’s & 60’S, and it is decorated accordingly. Brings back a lot of memories with the 50’s cars around the parking lot, and antique gas pumps out front,

Front Desk Staff is excellent. Friendly and efficient.

A single story Hotel, with outside entrances. Rooms are fairly small but exceptionally clean & comfortable.

Small wall mounted Flat Screen TV, with plenty of channels.

Standard size work desk, with outlets on the desk, and a very comfortable computer chair. Also a nice leather recliner for relaxing.

The bed was very supportive, heat was efficient, and I got a good nights sleep.

A small but nice free breakfast is included with microwave breakfast sandwiches, and other items.

If you want a nice clean place that brings back the old travel memories, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

JimDavisHouston:

Thank you for the thorough review or your visit to the Rail Haven. I really appreciate your taking the time to comment on the various amenities you enjoyed, and I'm sure a number of potential guests will find your review quite helpful. I hope you stay with us again next time you visit Springfield, MO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in Route 66 Rail Haven in November during our road trip across North America, key part being Route 66, where this motor court still exists. Very shortly: this is the best hotel for a Route 66 traveler you can find: extremely friendly and knowledgable (re: Route 66) staff, very clean and quiet rooms, fabulous looks with all neon signs and even a good warm breakfast included at one of the lower side prices you can find.
No wonder why Elvis also escaped here in 1956!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VesaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

VesaT:

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip back in time. Thank you for sharing your experiences and reviewing your accommodations at the Rail Haven. I hope the rest of your trip across North America was as enjoyable or more so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 50 in Springfield
749 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#11 of 50 in Springfield
856 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Springfield I-44
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn
1.2 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#19 of 50 in Springfield
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven

Address: 203 South Glenstone Avenue, Springfield, MO 65802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#13 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $74 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing