We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Route 66 feeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Route 66 feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love the old motor courts. This motel has he best feeling. Make sure to stay in one of the older original rooms. Staff is great and Route 66 abounds. I think they really understand the crowd that adores this nostaglia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
WILLIAM S:

Thank you for reviewing and rating your visit to the Rail Haven. I'll be sure and share your review with our staff, as I'm sure they will appreciate it. I'm glad you got to stay in one of our original rooms. They will be 75 years old this year! Thanks again, and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    357
    77
    24
    9
See reviews for
324
438
64
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here when we drove Route 66 and it was almost like a step back in time to the hey day of the Route. Its a great little motel. Basic breakfast included in the price but it did the job, Room was a great size, staff were friendly and we picked up info re detours on our forward travel on the route. Recommend for anyone driving Route 66

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerHB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
TravellerHB1979:

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Rail Haven. I hope the rest of your Route 66 travels and your American experience in general went well too. Thank you for the rating and for recommending the Rail Haven to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This motel was chosen for price and location. What a pleasant surprise to learn of it's Route 66 history with Elvis Presley. The room was recently updated and very clean. Breakfast was average, but nice that it was included in the price. We would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Don't pass up this great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missouritraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
missouritraveler2011:

I'm thrilled to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and history of our hotel. We take pride in our hard-working housekeeping staff. Thank you for recommending us to the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you need a place to stay in Springfield, MO I sincerely recommend the Route 66 Rail Haven Motor Court. First opened in 1937, it has been charmingly renovated while keeping the flavor if it's early history. The room was clean and comfortable and included a refridgerator and microwave that are blended into the room. The continental breakfast had a varied selection including Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sandwiches, Cereal, Make your own Waffels, Yogurt and Fruit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cca4music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
cca4music:

Thank you for recommending the Rail Haven and giving us a five-star rating. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our third stay at the Rail Haven, and it has become our home away from home when visiting Springfield. The rooms are compact, but well appointed, and thankfully, they've added some shelving to the bathroom for personal items. The continental breakfast is well stocked and plenty to start your day on. If you're looking for a clean and comfortable place to sleep while visiting Springfield, the Rail Haven is a great value. If you're looking for a spacious five star hotel suite with fabulous views, then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a King size bed. The Queen size beds look more like a double and the queen room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Jon N:

Thanks for reviewing your stay at the Rail Haven, and thanks for coming back. It is always nice to hear from our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our Route 66 trip and enjoyed the true motel experience! Clean room and bathroom at a very reasonable rate. Good location. Good breakfast included and friendly staff, v good rate for the night. Would recommend.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurap211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Laurap211:

Thank you for the five-star rating! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Since you're from the UK, I'm assuming you were traveling Route 66. I hope the rest of your trip was as nice. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very interesting hotel . Every thing is in style it was in times of Elvis. Rooms are clean and nice,maybe too small.There was no microwave .Near that hotel is a restaurant with a discount for hotel guests with very good food.Also a breakfast place as a part of reception is too small.But I reccomend that hotel !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Uros B:

Thanks for reviewing your stay at the Rail Haven. I'm guessing that you stayed in one of our queen rooms. They are a bit smaller than the rest because, about 75 years ago, they were actually car ports (as was standard in the motor court days). Years later, they were refurbished and made into more rooms to accommodate the growing number of travelers on Route 66. These rooms, because they are so small, do not have microwaves and refrigerators; but several other rooms on our property do. Next time, we'll see about getting you in a bigger one. The restaurant you mentioned is called George's, and I agree that the food is very good, especially for the price. They are located within walking distance just south of the hotel. We recommend them to most of our guests. Thanks again for telling us about your stay. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
#13 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Springfield Airport Inn
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#19 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven

Property: BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
Address: 203 South Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#13 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing