We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To many trains!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springfield/Route 66 KOA
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in a cabin due to a nasty storm. The camp ground is right next to the tracks..the noise was ridiculous! The grounds became a horrible soggy mess when it rained. We were nervous about parking our car next to the cabin. I sunk up to my ankles in mud. I will say the campground is clean, and the bathrooms where clean. My kids enjoyed the playground.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are staying a few days or even one week you may find yourself satisfied, but we paid for one month and was treated like the LESSER of guest! My husband does QC for Phillips 66 and travels about 8 months out of the year. Since summer was here we decided to take a summer trip with him and enjoy the Branson area while in Springfield . Our monthly charge went from 425. to 545. because we had our three children and an extra car. I could live with that, but we noticed about 4 occasions in that we where treated LESSER only because we were considered " LONG-TERM" guest. The straw that broke the camels back was when one of the staff was RUDE to our two youngest children. She told my kids to go away and let the other kids enjoy a bike ride that was a rental for the children of one of their other guest! What she didn't know was that the bike was rented for our kids also as the father of the other children made friends of them and invited them for a bike ride. To put everything into perspective,..... we have traveled from New Mexico to Florida and have NEVER been treated LESS than anyone regardless of the length of our stay!!! After complaining to the owner, Diane, she defended the actions of her employee and repeatedly told me how mistaken I was over the whole incident, and even said, and I'm quoting..." we don't like doing long term, but we have noticed that your children are well behaved"..... We don't plan on staying with them again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Super sweet staff! Very helpful and the best pizza made at the office/store and delivered to our campsite! Now THAT'S service!! We only stayed o e nit as we passed through but have logged that we need to stay here if we pass is was again!

Room Tip: At rain track runs nearby and can be heard on occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katwoodx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you like lots of freeway noise, a cabin with cobwebs, and people happy to gouge you for every penny, this is the place for you. When we made our reservation over the phone, the hosts failed to inform us of a dog fee of $25, even though we told them we had a dog ("Oh, we'll deal with that when you get here!"). When confronted with this omission, the owners had any number of excuses for why they were justified in imposing the fee, but became increasingly unpleasant. All in all, the worst experience I've had at a KOA--or any campground.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I rented a Cruise America RV thru this KOA location..It is beautiful and well kept as are the rvs as well..The owners go out of thier way to make ppl feel welcome..I walked the grounds a bit and the pool is mid sized and well maintained..I saw several campers and spoke with a few couples and all said the same thing, they love this KOA..My experience with them is in the rv rental..Everything worked well and our weekend traveling about was great and there was no odd odors like you get in some rentals..If you are going to, thru or near Springfield, this is the best campground in my opinion..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Panama736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This KOA was perfect. Thank you for having an organized late check in process. We were very tired and your organization allowed us to get our Boys to bed without any problems. The restrooms were spotless which I really appreciate. The trains didn't bother us because we were too tired to care.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mortons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We are campers and have stayed all sorts of places...mostly state park, COE and County, City Camp parks...only a couple of time in a KOA, not impressed, but had the occasion to stay at one with another couple and to buy a membership, which cut costs. So we went to the Springfield, Missouri KOA to take in the special events going on and didn't want to drive back and forth home 36 miles each way....the stay was wonderful. The park has old shade trees and a cool breeze. It is off I 44 about 1/4 mile, but the road noise doesn't take away from the birds chirping and hawk came down to visit us also. The bathrooms/shower/laundry were better than being at home. Lots of pull thru sites if you can't back up...lol....they have free wi-fi that works well, cable hook up, water, sewer and electric...they even have tent sites...The have free doggie treats and a fence dog playground with teeter board barrels and other sorts of play equipment for you and you dog. All over the park they have provided poop bags and drop in cans so you can easily clean up after your doggie. Stay here and you will not regret it at all.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank QueenieJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
8.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield Airport Plaza
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Inn Springfield East
Inn Springfield East
#33 of 51 in Springfield
423 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
#37 of 51 in Springfield
221 reviews
9.6 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 51 in Springfield
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield/Route 66 KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield/Route 66 KOA

Address: 5775 W Farm Road 140, Springfield, MO 65802-9361
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Springfield
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springfield/Route 66 KOA Campground in Springfield, MO offers a shady retreat in the heart of the scenic Ozarks . The lush, landscaped campground is close to lakes, and an award-winning golf course is right next door. Area attractions include the original Bass Pro Shops Outdoor World, Wilson's Creek Civil War Battlefield , a Civil War Museum highlighting the Civil War Battle at Wilson's Creek, Fantastic Caverns , the Dickerson Park Zoo, the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame , and antique shops. Take a drive along Route 66 and see the Historic Route 66 landmarks throughout the City of Springfield, Missouri. The campground is big-rig friendly with long pull-thru sites with patios, the best cabins in Missouri, lodges and camping cottages for a unique and fun camping experience! Are you hungry for pizza? Have it delivered right to your site. In season, refuel for fun with weekend ice cream socials. And for your four-legged friends, come and enjoy Kamp K-9, our off-leash park built especially for your best friend! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing