We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Prices and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of FD's Grillhouse

FD's Grillhouse
Ranked #3 of 677 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Prices and Service”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

FD's Grillhouse offers a variety of foods on the menu. Burgers, steaks, fish, etc. The food has been excellent every time. The service is top notch. The prices are very competitive. This is a must try. I've had both their steak and their fish and chips so far, and both have been excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    91
    26
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food - Good Prices”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Will I go back? Absolutely! We went on a Thursday night and had to wait about 10 minutes for a table for two. On the recommendation of a friend we tried the Firehouse Shrimp for an appetizer. This is shrimp covered in a sauce that is similar to a spicy southwest ranch sauce and was outstanding. We normally don't order appetizers but we will definitely get this again. We ordered the FD Burger and the Alaskan Fish and Chips and would order these dishes again. The burger has the Firehouse sauce on it that when combined with the cheese almost melts in your mouth. The Alaskan Fish was a battered white flaky fish that had a nice mild flavor that could be enhanced by the tartar sauce provided if desired. I enjoyed it both ways. The fries that were served came out hot and fresh and had a good flavor without being under or overcooked. The fish and chips was also served with cole slaw. Unfortunately, this was pre-made generic out of a tub cole slaw that can be found at several restaurants and grocery stores. The portions were great and the prices were very reasonable making this a great value.
The service was up and down. While our waitress was cordial my water glass sat empty for quite some time and she promised to fill it up multiple times without following through. This was the only damper on what was an otherwise enjoyable experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
212 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First Time Was Great - We'll Be Back”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We heard of this new restaurant from friends at a recent party so were excited to try it. We arrived about 6:45 on a Tuesday night and had to wait a few minutes but were quickly seated. Our waitress was very cordial and we also got tips from another waitress who was dining next to us. I ordered the tilapia and shrimp and my husband got the combo of 3 entrees - both came with 2 side dishes and we thought their selection was excellent. I liked that the prices were reasonable and the portions more than adequate. The owner stopped and chatted with us and I could tell he's committed to running a first-class operation.

The only downside was that the restaurant was very noisy from where we were sitting. If we were with a group I'd request a booth or table off to the side instead of in the middle.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Satisfied ”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Was next to hotel had a choice a name brand chain restaurant so tried FD's had the Rib dinner fall off the bones was true and good awesome mashed potatoes average coleslaw... Well worth the price and under my budget

Helpful?
Thank criticcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the fish tacos... great portions/price”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went for lunch with a co-worker, so standard lunch crowd.

I ordered the fish tacos, 2 tacos and fries, these things were huge compared to other restaurants. More of a wrap than a taco almost, but great taste and a lot of fries accompanied this. Had some leftover, which is nice as most places now don't give you enough.

Waitress was friendly, food came out hot/fast...

Price was very reasonable...

Will definitely go back and try dinner there with the family.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FD's Grillhouse also viewed

 

Been to FD's Grillhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing