We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aldrich, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and Tidy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My stay was wonderful. Room was very clean and tidy, temp was good given the air outside was over 100 degrees! the breakfast was good and plentiful. Overall this is a great location! We do reccomend it.

Room Tip: The King standard rooms do NOT have a fridge or microwave...we didn't need it anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for you kind words. We love to hear great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    64
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
74
54
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were looking for a hotel that was close to the Hammons Center, where we would enjoy a concert then walk to the hotel. It might have been a great plan if it hadn't been over 100 degrees outside! This hotel is maybe a mile from the Hammons center, so it's an easy drive pre & post events on the Missouri State campus.

The hotel itself was exactly what I expect of a Holiday Inn Express. They handled reservations flawlessly and with great personality. The hotel is in good condition, as was the room and other common areas. The breakfast was standard Holiday Inn fare, including the automated pancake maker.

It takes longer than one would think to traverse Springfield, so if you're planning on attending an event or meeting that is downtown, this is the place to stay. One caution - the Holiday Inn online map lists I-44 all over the place - two versions going east/west and one north/south. Check another map first, as this hotel is not terribly close to I-44.

Short version - I'd stay there again if I were attending functions in downtown Springfield!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for the suggestions for people traveling to and within Springfield. I agree with everything you have to say. If a person is looking for a hotel right on the Interstate we are probably not the place but if you are looking for a great place to stay in the downtown area or center of Springfield that is the need we are trying to meet. Again thanks for the response.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Really nice hotel. Whenever I am in Springfield- I stay here. The rooms are always clean and fresh. Service is great as well. Only downside is the rescue squad is near the hotel and the sirens wake you at all hours.

Room Tip: Clean Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We do have some street noise here. I prefer it to the dull roar of being an interstate hotel but at the same time it does present its own challenges. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel is newer, but the rooms are a bit tired and not as clean as I like. However the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanetCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank for the kind words about our staff. We try to hire real people who treat our guests as guests. Please let us know any time you have an issue with any room being clean or not as clean as you would like.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

You cant beat this location. Right across the street from the ballpark. Outstanding service. Great breakfast. Why stay on the highway when you can stay here?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We agree with that part about there being no reason to stay anywhere else! Please come see us again.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Attending convention at University Plaza Hotel. Stayed at Holiday Inn Express 3 blocks away and got a much nicer room at better price. Cab ride to hotel was $4 plus tip and shuttle back was free. Junior suite was very nice and bed was great. Nice breakfast area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GregStLouis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you so much. We really do appreciate the kind words and they will be posted to encourage our staff to make this hotel an even better place to stay.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed one night here. Room and bed were clean and comfortable. The only downside was being so close to med, facility as ambulances ran about 4 times that night. However, Courtney greeted us at the front desk and was so professional and pleasant. We got a first floor room as we asked for and were very happy with this accommodation. We had to catch an extremely early flight so we didn't get to partake of breakfast but it was a very nice place to stay.
We received a thank you note for our stay from this facility. I have never, ever gotten a thank you note from a hotel, motel, bed and breakfast or resort. It certainly was a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saguarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am glad you you were happy with your stay. I will pass on the compliment to Courtney as she is a fairly new employee she will be happy to hear this I am sure.

Please do come and see us again.

Dale Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
2.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#3 of 49 in Springfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Medical District
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield, MO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
Address: 1117 E Saint Louis St, Springfield, MO 65806-2527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Springfield
#9 Green Hotel in Springfield
#18 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, MO. Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, MO on Historic Route 66 with Jordan Valley Park and across from Hammons Baseball Field; home of the Springfield Cardinals. You will be amazed at our convenient locations which is within walking distance to Missouri State University, Shrine Mosque, Drury University, and the U.S. Federal Court House. Located on a few minutes from Bass Pro Outdoor World and Wonders of Wildlife Zooquarium, Kraft/Altria, 3M, Turblex/Siemens, Ozark Technical Community College, O'Reilly Auto Parts, General Council of the Assemblies of God World Headquarters, Mercy Hospital, Cox Hospital and Battlefield Mall. The oversize rooms and suites are tastefully decorated in Mission Style furnishings featuring flat screen TVs, well-lit ergonomic work area, complimentary wireless high speed internet and the SIMPLY SMART Bath experience. Feel at home in the Great Room where you can enjoy our complimentary breakfast or unwind with friends after a long day overlooking the courtyard and pool or checking emails on our complimentary WiFi. Relax and enjoy with our indoor and outdoor hot tub, outdoor pool, fitness center and guest laundry facilities. Most importantly, this hotel features the best staff in Springfield, just waiting to meet you and help create a memorable experience ..Perhaps, you would agree that when in Springfield, the Express is the only SMART place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Mo
Springfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing