We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk 3 Blocks For Better Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Attending convention at University Plaza Hotel. Stayed at Holiday Inn Express 3 blocks away and got a much nicer room at better price. Cab ride to hotel was $4 plus tip and shuttle back was free. Junior suite was very nice and bed was great. Nice breakfast area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GregStLouis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you so much. We really do appreciate the kind words and they will be posted to encourage our staff to make this hotel an even better place to stay.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 276 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed one night here. Room and bed were clean and comfortable. The only downside was being so close to med, facility as ambulances ran about 4 times that night. However, Courtney greeted us at the front desk and was so professional and pleasant. We got a first floor room as we asked for and were very happy with this accommodation. We had to catch an extremely early flight so we didn't get to partake of breakfast but it was a very nice place to stay.
We received a thank you note for our stay from this facility. I have never, ever gotten a thank you note from a hotel, motel, bed and breakfast or resort. It certainly was a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saguarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words. I am glad you you were happy with your stay. I will pass on the compliment to Courtney as she is a fairly new employee she will be happy to hear this I am sure.

Please do come and see us again.

Dale Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

If you travel within 500 miles of Springfield MO there is a good chance that you will stay in a John Q Hammonds Hotel. He builds hotels franchised with most of the major brands, but his hotels always end up near the top of the franchise that he is using. The HI Express in Springfield MO is no exception. Maybe it is more exceptional because it is next to the Hammonds business and philanthropic empire in Springfield. Just when you think that every HI Express is the same, this hotel is a surprise that goes above and beyond. Especially impressive are the design touches and the hallways wide enough for a Hummer to drive through, all brightly lit. The rooms were comfortable and large with good decorative touches as well, like the premium window treatments that are nicer than what I find at top hotels in New York, Chicago, or D.C.

There were a couple issues that kept me from rating this property with five points. The lobby had a vague unpleasent sewer smell, hopefully a one-time event. The business center had a single computer that was in constant use. There was room for more. And despite being on the fourth floor, I could hear an outside conversation at ground level as clear as if they were in my room, even though the windows were closed, almost like the whisper chamber at the science museums.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nrstycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you for your time to review our property. The sewer smell was certainly a one time thing and worse behind the front desk than in the lobby and hte lobby was bad enough. I could not pay people enough to work here if that smell was even occasional. It is gone now and we think it was caused by some work being done by the city.

As for the second computer we have a new General Manager starting soon and I will mention it to that person. I think it is a good idea to add another. We seldom have 3 people wanting to use it but occasionally have a couple.

The noise from outside I am not too sure about to be honest. If you ever have any noise issue we are staffed and trained to handle that now better than ever so give us a call and we will look into it.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have stayed at this HIE many times and have generally been very happy with it. My sons attend MSU and we have stayed here for all but one visit. The check in staff are always friendly and efficient. The lobby is always clean and smells fresh. Breakfast is pretty standard. They replenish the food quickly. The cinnamon rolls are yummy!

I stayed in a suite because that was the only non smoking room available. I didn't really need it but it was a nice big room with a couch, small fridge and microwave. Our biggest problem was there was a screaming baby in the room next to us our first night. The walls are paper thin so no way to sleep. We called in the am and they told us they were checking out in the am and only charged us for a standard room. The second night adults returned home to their room around 3:30 am and were up late talking. I think all the suites are grouped together so maybe noise is more of an issue in these bigger rooms.

We also found something yucky on the outside of our white cloth shower curtain. I should have called about it but I had already complained once.

This hotel is in a convenient location so I'll give it another chance.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank biffytreepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thanks for the second chance on the noise issue. Also any time there is a complaint with the room we would love for you to let us know so that we can fix it and also be aware of it. I am glad that we are normally able to meet your expectations and in the future I am sure we will be able to do so again.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while visiting a college in the area. Arrived late at night after a long drive and the woman at the front desk was friendly and nice. She upgraded us to a larger suite from a standard room when I mentioned that we are members of their loyalty program (I've never done this before at check-in but I now see that you can possibly be upgraded). Common areas were spacious and clean (lobby, hallway). When we walked into our room, we were impressed by the size - it was quite large compared to most hotel rooms we've seen. Room had a microwave and a refrig. Once we settled in, we noticed that the room felt like it was slanting downward and also noticed the ceiling was peeling in large areas due to the sheetrock separating at the seams. Probably just cosmetic but the room should have been kept unoccupied until the problem was fixed. Finally got into bed at around 1:00 am but then abruptly awakened at 2:00 am by a group of drunk sounding young men checking into the room next door (why do nearly empty hotels put you right next to another occupied room?!?). The walls in this hotel are paper thin and the doors close loudly so we heard EVERYTHING. Called the front desk and could barely hear the desk clerk because more members of this group were in the lobby being incredibly loud. She came right up and tried to ask the group next door to be quieter but we still heard them for several more hours and basically had a sleepless night. The hotel has a complimentary breakfast buffet and it was okay - staff difficult to find and seemed put out by requests to refill items. Definitely was ready to check out of this hotel and won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from other occupied rooms as possible
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

I am glad we were able to start your stay out on the wrong note and it is a good reminder that the whole stay must be satisfactory or guest may choose to stay elsewhere. I have instructed that overnight employee that if she ever feels overwhelmed by a situation to call the police as her reinforcements. We hate to lose your business but I understand how frustrating a sleepless night can be.

We will improve and if you ever need us in the future we will be better.

Dale Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was a good location for us, as everything we were doing that weekend were just a few miles away. Our room was quite large, with a large couch and microwave with refrigerator. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was large, but mold was forming around the inside of the tub, and the refrigerator was not clean and ice was building up so it did not cool very well. The food was just so so if you like powdered eggs as almost all hotels that include breakfast have. My suggestion to you is to go across the street to have a decent breakfast at the Steak and Shake. Would I stay there again....maybe

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thanks for your review. The mold issue has already been resolved and the fridge will be defrosted. The breakfast food is all per the Holiday Inn Express standard manual so I agree that I wish we had more options in that area. If you are in the area again I do hope you will stay again and let us show you the mold and fridge are the exception and not the rule.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Nice hotel.... loud slamming doors echo down the halls...
I don't understand why hotels have to put these door hinges that rock the entire
floor when the doors shut...
go figure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrome1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thanks for your responce. The doors to hotels seem to slam hard because by law they must close all the way and latch even if only opened an inch. We try to get the doors to do this in the quietest manner possible but at times they do seem loud. Sorry for this impact on your stay.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Springfield - I-44
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Springfield I-44
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Medical District
2.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#13 of 49 in Springfield
177 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown

Address: 1117 E Saint Louis St, Springfield, MO 65806-2527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Springfield
#9 Green Hotel in Springfield
#18 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $105 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, MO. Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, MO on Historic Route 66 with Jordan Valley Park and across from Hammons Baseball Field; home of the Springfield Cardinals. You will be amazed at our convenient locations which is within walking distance to Missouri State University, Shrine Mosque, Drury University, and the U.S. Federal Court House. Located on a few minutes from Bass Pro Outdoor World and Wonders of Wildlife Aquarium, Kraft/Altria, 3M, Turblex/Siemens, Ozark Technical Community College, O'Reilly Auto Parts, General Council of the Assemblies of God World Headquarters, Mercy Hospital, Cox Hospital and Battlefield Mall. The oversize rooms and suites are tastefully decorated in Mission Style furnishings featuring flat screen TVs, well-lit ergonomic work area, complimentary wireless high speed internet and the SIMPLY SMART Bath experience. Feel at home in the Great Room where you can enjoy our complimentary breakfast or unwind with friends after a long day overlooking the courtyard and pool or checking emails on our complimentary WiFi. Relax and enjoy with our outdoor pool, fitness center and guest laundry facilities. Most importantly, this hotel features the best staff in Springfield, just waiting to meet you and help create a memorable experience ..Perhaps, you would agree that when in Springfield, the Express is the only SMART place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Mo
Springfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing