We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!! Very Impressive!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monett, MO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow!! Very Impressive!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Spent one night at this beautiful HIE. The staff was wonderful, and the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The decor is very well done, it still looks brand new. Check in was a breeze, and the young lady was very friendly and accomodating. She even kept the pool open late for us (we didn't arrive until 9:30 and it was suppose to close at 10pm). We actually stayed in it until almost midnight. It was awesome being outside under the stars, and the outdoor jaccuzi is wonderful and very hot!! We didn't use the indoor jaccuzi, since it was so beautiful outside. The room is well equipped, and very comfortable. The beds and pillows were awesome (even though the rooms with 2 beds are doubles...they really need to upgrade to queens!!) The breakfast was really plentiful, and very good. They even have a pancake maker!!! There's not much around it though, unless your attending a Cardinals game at Hammon's Field, which is right across the street. We would definately recommend this one!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trvltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for letting people know about us and I am happy you recieved the service you did. Next time you are in town be sure to check out the downtown district in Springfield. Lots of great food and some great shops as well, all within about a mile of us.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    64
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
74
54
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Great location, good fitness equipment, beautiful property. Check out Heros Coffee around the corner

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancas547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed Heros. That is a new place that we will have to recommend more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Our family has stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Springfield, Missouri a number of times - November 2009, June 2010, August 2010, November 2010, and May 2011 - since we now have a Missouri State University student. In fact, that's one of the highlights of this hotel - it's right next to the campus. It's fairly new, always clean, and has a lot of nice features. The outdoor pool and fitness center are great, and the breakfast area is, too. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and the microwave and refrigerator are convenient for late night snacks. The decor is classy - very upscale for a relatively modest hotel chain. There is a Steak n Shake within walking distance and a Walgreens right next door for anything you might need. There are a lot of restaurants and a shopping mall a short drive away on Glenstone Ave. In addition to being close to the MSU campus, the hotel is right next to Hammons Field, home of the Springfield Cardinals, the St. Louis Cardinals AA team. My husband and son went to a game during the last stay, and it was fun and great to be staying so close when a thunderstorm hit during the game! The service is always courteous and helpful, too. Whenever we know we are going to be in Springfield for a MSU event, we always reserve our rooms right away at our home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zahmuffinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for posting! Your review was full of great information for future guests and shows some of what Springfield Missouri has to offer as well as our hotel in particular. Please come back and visit us again and don't forget that on friday nights the ballpark next door does fireworks after a home game.

Dale Logan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

This is a clean, newer, spacious Holiday Inn Express property. The hotel smelled good when you walked in. The lobby is very nice, as is the breakfast area. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms fairly big. The gym had an adequate selection of equipment. I was completely comfortable here and would not hesitate to choose it the next time I'm in Springfield.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laketravishill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleLogan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
349 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

I don't know who sleeps in double beds anymore; Holiday Inn needs to update their soggy mattresses with queen firms. The room was certainly big enough to accommodate. Also the pillows were worse than my 4 for $10 WalMart squishies. Other than that, excellent breakfast, reasonable price with advance booking. Liked the big shower head. Yes, there were trains, but once I drifted off to sleep I did not hear them again. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLongLongTrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

This was a great spacious room at a great price. A couple of random things happened to stain our stay, but I don't feel is a true reflection of the hotel or staff. I would recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tdavisbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

We reserved a 1 bedroom suite here after looking at many hotels in Springfield specifically for the room separation it provides. We went up to our room to discover that there was no wall providing an actual bedroom, just a 1.5 ft wide wall on either side of the bed. Not at all what we were looking for based on the room description found online. There wasn't even a tv in the "living room," only one directly in front of the bed. Fortunately, when I went down to retrieve the rest of the luggage the person at the front desk asked how our room was and once I explained the situation she moved us to something like an office suite. It was the same basic room with a little office that included an armchair, a desk and a tv in a seperate room. This worked ok for us but was not nearly as handy as a 1 bedroom would have been when it came to working things out in the morning. The lady at the front desk was helpful, the hotel was clean and the breakfast was a standard HIE breakfast but the experience as a whole was not nearly as good as Residence Inn, which offered more space for a lower price, and was in a much better location to the hospital we were there to visit. HIE is probably a better location for "downtown Springfield" though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayte4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
2.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#3 of 49 in Springfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Medical District
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield, MO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
Address: 1117 E Saint Louis St, Springfield, MO 65806-2527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Springfield
#9 Green Hotel in Springfield
#18 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, MO. Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, MO on Historic Route 66 with Jordan Valley Park and across from Hammons Baseball Field; home of the Springfield Cardinals. You will be amazed at our convenient locations which is within walking distance to Missouri State University, Shrine Mosque, Drury University, and the U.S. Federal Court House. Located on a few minutes from Bass Pro Outdoor World and Wonders of Wildlife Zooquarium, Kraft/Altria, 3M, Turblex/Siemens, Ozark Technical Community College, O'Reilly Auto Parts, General Council of the Assemblies of God World Headquarters, Mercy Hospital, Cox Hospital and Battlefield Mall. The oversize rooms and suites are tastefully decorated in Mission Style furnishings featuring flat screen TVs, well-lit ergonomic work area, complimentary wireless high speed internet and the SIMPLY SMART Bath experience. Feel at home in the Great Room where you can enjoy our complimentary breakfast or unwind with friends after a long day overlooking the courtyard and pool or checking emails on our complimentary WiFi. Relax and enjoy with our indoor and outdoor hot tub, outdoor pool, fitness center and guest laundry facilities. Most importantly, this hotel features the best staff in Springfield, just waiting to meet you and help create a memorable experience ..Perhaps, you would agree that when in Springfield, the Express is the only SMART place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Mo
Springfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing