We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We recently stayed here one night on a long trip across the country. I wasn't sure which hotel to choose and I like to look at trip advisor for honest user reviews. This hotel was getting lots of great reviews and it was within the general area and price range we wanted so I booked a room sight unseen except for internet pictures. While the staff was nice and the breakfast was adequate, the room was worn out. There were several large holes in the curtain, whoever painted the room ran over the lines a lot, the pocket door to the bathroom didn't close completely and it looked like someone tried to chew their way out of there, all of the furniture looked very worn and had chunks of wood off the edges. On a good note the room was clean and the staff was very attentive to keeping the breakfast bar well stocked. I saw a bad review about that and maybe the manager did too because they were all over it. Over all the room would have been fine if the price was below 70.00 but it was not worth the 100.00 or so we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1molly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0840gm, Owner at La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I would also like to thank you for your honesty about the condition of the room, clean but worn. I am also happy that the breakfast and our staff met your expectations.

I would like you to know that our property is undergoing a refresh. We are replacing the drapery, all floor covering, furniture, televisions and much more. I sure hope that the next time you are in Springfield, you would consider to give us another try. As you can tell from the reviews, the La Quinta Inn South has a good property and great customer service.

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 474 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

*Friendly, courteous Greeting that stayed constant throughout our 8 day stay.
*Room was clean, well kept, with good maid service on our schedule.
*Furnishings, pool, workout eq. and wireless internet well done.
*Good location with easy access to shopping, Bass Pro and Branson.
*Cost was competitive, but not the lowest, making the value a good one based on our prior comments.
*We will return to this hotel anytime we are in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0840gm, Owner at La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Thanks so much for taking time to let others know about your stay. Like you said, we are not the cheapest but with all we offer it is a great value. Sometimes you get what you pay for. We strive to provide friendly customer service since this is the buisness that we are in.

I hope this review will encourage you to call us at the La Quinta Inn - South the next time you travel to Springfield, MO.

Greg E. Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hotel was very clean and bed was very comfortable.Breakfast was good and there are many restaurants close by. This place is a bit off the freeways but it is well worth it. Very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was a nice place. It will be getting an update of carpet etc soon, which will make it really nice. The pool was warm, breakfast was good and staff was very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0840gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

I would like to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to let others know where they should stay while traveling in Springfield. The La Quinta Inn - South strives to provide the best customer service in our market.

Greg Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

After I made my reservation I had to call back, because I requested the wrong dates. The correction wasn't put onto the computer properly, but the staff in person immediately fixed it for me. They were very helpful and polite. The smoke alarm went off because the battery was low at midnight, but they provided a new battery quickly. Overall, two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavethePlumber1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Had a wonderful stay and the room was extra clean and made up and cleaned the way you would expext it to be. A super great place for the value. Very good place to eat next door.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldrs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0840gm, Owner at La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

I would like to personally thank you for taking the extra time to tell others about your great stay while in Springfield. We strive to provide the best customer experience for our guest. It starts at check in and does not stop until check out.

Greg Walker
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This is our third time staying here. We have kids attending Missouri State U and this place is not far from campus. The rooms are clean, staff all nice, good choices at breakfast..the coffee could be stronger. Just one tip...there is a charge for the use of the safe, but you can ask them to not charge when you check in if you don't plan on using it. You can keep the safe door closed ( it's between the beds) by placing folded paper under the door or using tape.We will stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marymary02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0840gm, Owner at La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

I am pleased that you have chosen the La Quinta Inn South as your place to stay while visiting MSU. It is customers like you, that keep coming back, that show us that we are doing everything right.

I do need to do something about those safe doors opening.

Greg Walker
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Springfield I-44
4.7 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 49 in Springfield
744 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#19 of 49 in Springfield
772 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South

Address: 2535 S Campbell Ave, Springfield, MO 65807-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Springfield
#9 Business Hotel in Springfield
#18 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $99 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Springfield South Hotel Springfield
La Quinta Springfield
Springfield La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing