We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cashew Chicken”
Review of Bao Bao

Bao Bao
Order Online
Ranked #136 of 784 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Great food, reasonably priced! The owner is very personable. She recognized us our second visit and we have an ongoing conversation with her every time we go in...like family. Do not understand less than 5 ratings. Deserves so much more than 5!!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank barbarajJ6164DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 48 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

We made special plans to eat at this location. I checked hours on their website. They listed open Monday's. Drove 30 miles to that location. Closed!!! Sign on door said closed Monday's. I did suggest an edit to the hours to Trip Advisor and the hours are now correct.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank rickayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2019 via mobile

Met up for a lunch, was hungry for dumplings, was hoping for dim sum, but the owner told me I needed to go to KC or STL for that. Too bad. But everything here was superb, dumplings, salt and pepper squid, pork and spicy eggplant.
Quick service and phenomenal flavors! Depart from the Springfield norm and have some authentic Sichuan!!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank rusty_fwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

So few places make steamed or boiled pork dumplings these days, it this place makes excellent dumplings! The main courses are delicious also and have the option of traditional or more American style (with vegetables).

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank pmoeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

As a traveling foodie I have NEVER had an issue with meals that a manager did not try to rectify-ever! The manager here, when notified of bad food, blamed GrubHub? What? Grubhub was on time, (3:30) and did not cook your food Bao Bao, and should stop delivering for you if you can not take responsibility. Unfortunately all 3 of our ordered entrees had issues, smell was off, the SS shrimp clumped into 3 pieces, doughy and rubbery, both the Mongolian combo and Happy Family nearly identical, over salted to the maximum and perhaps too much MSG as inedible (both dishes sadly lacking in meats, seafood etc -they should have had abundantly as staple dishes but instead-mainly root veggies). Since the manager could only blame instead of fixing the issue , which in this case would be preparing the dishes correctly, and perhaps using fresher food and less salt/MSG, we went to Leongs instead and had a fabulous meal. Will not give a second try as the rudeness of manager, and the lack of accountability., unless contacted and rectified. The crab Rangoon, egg rolls and rice decent albeit standard.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DianaPleasantHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bao Bao also viewed

 
Springfield, MO
Springfield, MO
 

Been to Bao Bao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing