We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The original Steak 'n' Shake”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #262 of 680 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Grill, American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The original Steak 'n' Shake”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Never having eaten in a Steak 'n' Shake we decided that we had to try the very first one.
It was a very good experience with one of the best burger and milkshakes we've had. The place was busy with both locals and tourists but the service was excellent.
It is open 24 hours too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlesoapyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never disappoints me”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love steak and shake. I like to go there late at night with friends for some fries and a shake. The steak burgers are excellent. Everything is excellent. Fantastic atmosphere, and great prices.

Favorite menu item: classic steak burger with fries and a mint chocolate chip shake.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank classylady1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love them fries...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Their burgers are legendary. Their fries are delicious. And their malts? Don't even get me started. Pull of the road, take a few minutes to relax and eat a delicious burger and fries. Worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank patday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Happy, Happy, Happy!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the time we walked in til we left the staff were super! We went in late on Thrusday 3/21 after sliding into Springfield during a pretty good snow. I know they were all concerned about their travel to home yet they were concerned about us. The husband had one of the burger/fry combinations and I had the veggie melt with fries. Both were excellent with crisp veggies on the burger and the melt most tasty especially with the extra kick from the cheese and dressing. As always the fries were hot and crispy. We both had chocolate covered strawberry shakes. I all can say about them, if you have never had one do not wait another day to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 
Springfield, MO
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing