We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”

Springfield National Cemetery
Ranked #13 of 80 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

When I first came here my mind conjured all sorts of burial plots such as; in this plot lies the warriors who fought bravely defending the last piece of land of the Missouri, corn field. But no such thing. Yes, its a national cemetery and God bless all the families who loss someone giving their lives that we may live free and peacefully. Although the day was beautiful to walk outside and enjoy the day, I could not help but to notice all the peace and serenity the national cemetery brought to mind. It was neat to see, that some of the wives, were buried in the same plot as the husbands. Come visit this place if for any thing, just to give you a clear understanding of the price many men and women who laid down their lives that we can enjoy this liberty. They may not be able to feel you, but I am pretty dern sure they can hear you say, thank you!! Please come out and pay your respects.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    11
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lively place”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Always super lively here. Always makes me happy when I pass it. When I ask the children at my work where they love to go for birthday parties, holidays, and weekends, they say, "The National Cemetery!".

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank classylady1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
160 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pleasant”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I always try to stop at national cemeteries to honor those who have helped protect our wonderful country. What was so wonderful about this cemetery was how peaceful, pleasant, and quiet it was right off the main road. The stone walls were a wonderful touch to separate the outside world and allow you to experience and pay respect to the fallen. It is set up very nice, and they are in process of renovating the grounds, but nothing was off limits. If you are in the area stop by and enjoy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Okieamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
698 reviews
508 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
“Good adjunct to Wilson Creek National Battlefield Park.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

PROS: surreal military cemetery that has around 500 confederate gravestones; memorial for the first union general to be slain in a major civil war battle- Gen Lyons; great adjunct to your visit to Wilson Creek National Battlefield Park; the soldiers slain in Bloody Hill are in this cemetery.

CONS: none

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small but nice cemetery”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Interesting to drive thru and was near our hotel. Wanted to see the dividing wall between north and south soldiers from civil war.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfield National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Springfield National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing